Skip to main content

Full text of "Hyman's handbook of Indianapolis : an outline history"

See other formats




d?';' 



in 1 



P .. 



Gc 

977.20: 

In3hva 



&eKi 



3 1833 02492 2087 

Gc 977.202 Ih3hva 



Hyman's handbook of 
Indianafol.15 



HYMAN'S 



HANDBOOK OF 



INDIANAPOLIS 



AN OUTLINE HISTORY 



AND DESCRIPTION OF THE CAPITAL OF INDIANA WITH 

OVER THREE HUNDRED ILLUSTRATIONS FROM PHO 

TOGRAPHS MADE EXPRESSLY FOR THE WORK 



MAX R. HYMAN, Editor 



INDIANAPOLIS 

M. R. HYMAN COMPANY 



PREFACE, 



It has been the editor's aim in preparing this work to make it 
the most complete illustrated history of the material development 
of Indianapolis ever published. The text gives a comprehensive 
but condensed history and description of the city; also of every 
notable public institution and feature of especial interest. The 
illustrations cover a longer period and are far more numerous 
than have ever before been published on this siibject, and they 
furnish many interesting reminders of the earlier history of the 
city as well as of the present. l'it8j.?S9V 

In the preparation of this volume, all known available sources 
of relevant information have been consulted, and particular ac- 
knowledgment of obligations is due to the local histories, pub- 
lished years ago, by Col. W. R. Holloway and Ignatius Brown, 
and to the files of the newspapers of this city for their rich 
stores of material. 

This edition is now submitted to the public with the hope that it 
will be found to be useful as well as interesting, and that its sup- 
port will necessitate many editions. 

Max R. Hyman. 




Indiana was organized as a tei-ritory July 4, 1800, and admitted as 
a state December 11, 1816. In 1810 the territory of Indiana had a popu- 
lation of 24,520, and in 1820, four years after its admission to statehood, 
the population had expanded to 147,178. The settlers had not strayed 
very far away from the Ohio river, but there were a few settlements 
along Whitewater, and a few along the Wabash; but most of them 
were along the southern border of the state. The state stretched from 
the Ohio to the lake, but the central and northern sections were an un- 
known wilderness given over to the Indians. Dense forests covered 
the central section, while to the north stretched away the ti'ackless 
prairies. It was not an inviting field for the hardy pioneer. 

It was a struggle for existence. The soil was rich enough, but it 
was the work of years to clear a farm and get it ready to produce, and 
when its productions were ready for the harvest there was no market, 
and the malaria arising from the decaying vegetation made the outlook 
anything but favorable. It was under such circumstances Indiana be- 
came a member of the great Federal Union. Indian wars had about 
ceased east of the Mississippi river, but Indian massacres had not come 
to an end. It was not safe to stray very far away from tlie confines of 
the few settlements, and if human life was spared stock was stolen 
and driven away, thus depriving the settler of all means of cultivating 
his homestead. Corydon, the capital, was a little village on the south- 
ern border, some miles back from the river, and hidden among the 
hills; hard to get at in the best of seasons, in the winter it was almost 
inaccessible. Around it there was nothing that gave promise of future 
rrowth; there was no future for it even if the capital remained there 
There was absoKitely no foundation on which to build a city. 
(5) 



6 HYlIAy'S HAyOBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The Beginning of Indianapolis— When the state was admitted 
into the Union congi-ess donated to the infant commonwealth four sec- 
tions of laud on which to build a capital city, the land to be selected by 
the state from any that remained unsold. So, in 1S20, the legislature 
determined to go out into the wilderness and hunt for a site for its 
future capital city. Commissioners were appointed and sent out to 
seeli for the site of its future city, and mal^e selection of the land do- 
nated by congi-ess. It might have been a prescience of what was to 
come that led the commissioners to seeli a spot as near the geographical 
center of the state as possible. It may be they naturally concluded that 
in time the geographical center of the state would be also the center 
of population, but it is more probable they thought only of finding a 
spot to reach which would talie about the same number of miles travel 
from the four corners. Whatever may have been their motive, they did 
determine on the geographical center. Water furnished then the only, 
or rather the best and surest means of communication \vJth the outside 
world, and as they did not want to get too far away from some stream 
supposed to be navigable, they clung to the banks of White river. Three 
sites were offered, one a few miles south of the present city, and one a 
few miles northeast. They came here tln-ough tlie wilderness, and after 
much debating and considerable disputing, decided on accepting four 
sections of land around the mouth of Fall creek. It was a most un- 
promising site. White river itself was not very inviting, while deep 
bayous and ravines cut up the land in a way to make it look anything 
but attractive to one seeking for town lots. But here were the foiu* 
sections with only half a dozen or so settlers. It was in the wilderness, 
it was near the geographical center. 

With the exception of a lonely cabin here and there, it was sixty 
miles away from the nearest settlements. All around were dense 
forests; to the south were the hills reaching to the Ohio river, and to 
the north the woods and prairies stretching out to the lake. Only a few 
miles away was the boundary which divided the "Xew Purchase" from 
the lands still claimed by the Indians. There was no town, no people, 
not a road leading anywhere. A town had to be built, people induced 
to come, roads to be opened. No farms had been opened up, and sup- 
plies of every kind would have to be wagoned many miles over roads 
often almost impassable, and at that time pack-horses were the only 
means of conveyance. But here, in this unpromising locality, the com- 
missioners staked ofE a city that in less than three-quarters of a cen- 
tury was to become the largest inland city on the continent They be- 
lieved that White river would prove to be navigable for the only boats 
then known on the western waters, and by it the people of the new city 
could 'be fed and clothed. 



8 HYMA^•ii HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Naming the Capital— The legislature approved the report of the 
commissioners aud proceeded to hunt for a name for the new city. It 
was a difficult thing to find. Every member of the legislature had a 
name to propose. Some were of Indian origin, and some compounded 
from Latin words, and others from Greek. Finally "Indianapolis" was 
determined upon, and the city in embryo had a name. 

The First Settler— There has been much dispute as to who was 
actually the first settler of this section of the state, and the honor has 
been contested between the friends of George Pogue and those of two 
brothers named McCormiclj. The dispute never will be satisfactorily 
settled, and it is not a very important historical event. Xeither Pogue 
nor the JlcCormicks dreamed of building a city. The one sought ony 
to live by hunting and trapping, and the others by cultivating the soil. 
It was only after the location of the capital city they dreamed of achie.-- 
ing fame by being called the first to discern the future possibilities. 
Both Pogue and the McCormicks were here when the commissioners 
of the legislature came. 

First Survey— In April. 1821. the work of "laying off" the city 
actively began. Christopher Harrison, representing the state, appointed 




OLD GOVERNOR WRIGHT MANSION. 



... V;#;# 


^^^^^^^^^^^^H 








^^^^^^^^1 


' .^i 




4 • ■■ 





10 HY3IAXS nAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 

as surveyors, Elias P. Fordham and Alexander Ralston. Some years 
lief ore. Ralston had Ijeeu employed in some of tlie work of mapping out 
Washington, the national capital, and at his suggestion the city was 
to Ije one mile sciuarc, with streets crossing each other at right an-des. 
and with four wide avenues pointing toward a circle that was to lie 
the center of the new city. The ground was uniformly level, liut a 
slight knoll was found, and it was determined the city should start 
from that point, or ra1:her that the knoll should l)e in the center, and 
that it should be crowned by a residence for the chief magistrate of 
the commonwealth. 

Streets were marked off, lots laid out and the new city was ready 
for business, that i.s, the sale of lots. The streets ran through the woods 
and the lots were all heavily timbered, liut tould be determined by the 
slakes set by the surveyors. Certain plots of ground were reserved for 
public purposes. One was to be the site of the expected state-hou.se. 
One was for the court-house, and one was reserved on which to build 
a great state educational institution, which already had been desig- 
nated as a university. The university never materialized. It having 
gone abroad through the settlements that the new capital city had been 
located, and information given as to where it could be found, immi- 
grants began to arrive, and among them was the first lawyer. A store 
had been opened up and a saw-mill started. 

Most of the settlers had located along the bank of the river, taking 
it for gi'anted that the choice corner lots would be in that section. The 
laud outside of the mile square was to be laid off into out-lots and 
farms. Mr. Ralston and the commissioners evidently thought that 
the mile square would contain all the inhabitants the city was ever 
likely to have, and had provided no division of the city lots from the 
out-lots but the imaginary line, but some one suggested that it would 
be the proper thing to bound the city by streets, and name them East, 
West, North and South streets, and it was done accordingly. 

First Sale of Lots-In October, 1S21, the sale of lots began. The 
money arising from the sale was to be used in erecting the necessary 
buildings for the use of the state, and it was expected that there would 
be a great demand. After continuing the sale for several days, and 
llsposing of three hundred and fourteen lots, the real estate business 
was stopped for awhile. Something more than $7,fl00 was realized in 
cash, the rest of the purchase price of the lots being evidenced by 
pi'omissory notes running over a period of four years. But few of the 
lots were eventually paid for, the purchasers forfeiting the advance 
payments and abandoning their purchases. Ten years afterward the 
slate still owned three-fourths of the lots in the city limits, and nearly 
all of the out-lots. They were not finally disposed of uutil 1842, and for 

3 1833 02492 2087 



U HYMAyS UASDBOOK OF INDIAyAPOLIS. 

wheels would sink so deep in the mud that the axle-tree of the ' 
would strike on the stump, and thus the wagon would be stranded 
sometimes for hours. The wants of the new settlement began to be 
numerous, and all supplies had to be hauled over these roads, that in 
the winter were sometimes impassable for weeks. They were just as 
bad in the rainy seasons of the spring and fall. 

Organizing Marion County— The legislatiu-e of 1821-2 also organ- 
ized JIarion county, making Indiauapolis the county-seat, appropriating 
a square of ground and ^8,000 to build a court-house. Attached to the 
new county, for judicial purposes, was the territory now comprising the 
counties of Johnson, Hamilton, Hancock, Madison and Boone. A new 
county demanded a new judge and a new sheriff. Hon. William W. 
■Wick was made judge, and Hervey Bates sheriff. The new city might 
now be said to be fairly launched on the road to greatness. It had a 
judge of its own, a lawyer, Calvin Fletcher, to look after the legal 
wants of all the people, a store, a tavern, a saw-mill or two, a post- 
office, and was soon to have its first paper. 

The First Newspapei^-Among the enterprising citizens of Indian- 
apolis were George Smith and Nathaniel Bolton, and they became the 
editors and proprietors of the Gazette, Indianapolis' first newspaper. 
It made its appearance January 28, 1822. 

First County Election— The legislature could name a judge for 
the new county, but could not choose the other officei-s, so in February, 
1822, Sheriff Bates issued forth his proclamation calling on the people 
of the new county to meet together at certain named polling places and 
choose for themselves two associate justices, a clerk, a recorder aud 
three county commissioners. Two of the voting places were in Indian- 
apolis, one near Noblesville, one at Strawtown, one at Anderson and the 
other near Pendleton. Only 336 votes were cast in the entire county. 
The vote of Indianapolis was about 100. James M. Ray was elected 
clerk, James C. Reed, recorder; John T. Osborne. John MeCormack and 
William McCartney, commissioners; Eliakim Harding and James Mc- 
Ilvain, associate judges. In the August following, the election for 
governor took place, when 317 votes were cast, 315 of them being for 
William Hendricks. 

First Session County Court— On September 20, 1822, the court 
began its first session. There being no court-house, its sessions were 
held in the cabin of Jonathan Carr, it being the most pretentious struc- 
ture in the town. The grand jury returned twenty-two indictments for 
.simdry and various offenses against the peace and dignity of the com- 
monwealth. A candidate for naturalization appeared, in the person of 
Richard Goode, late of Ireland, and a subject of George IV. No jail 
had been provided, and as the laws then made imprisonment for debt 
permissible, certain streets were named as the boundaries within which 
imprisoned debtors should confine themselves. 



HYMAX'S HAXDBOOK OF INDIAXAPOLIS. 




Building First Court- 
house and Jail— The 

I'onnty commissioners, 
as soon as they had 
lieeu inducted into of- 
fice, set industriously 
about the worli; of 
erecting a court-house 
and jail. The state had 
appropriated $8,000 to 
assist in this work, and 
in September the plan 
for the proposed struc- 
ture submitted by John 
E. Balier and James 
Paxton was accepted 
and the contract for the 
building awarded them. 
They did not begin the 
w o r li of construction 
until the next sum- 
mer, and it was not un- 
til 1824 the building 
was completed. The 
square of ground se- 
lected for a court-house 
and jail was covered 
with heavy timber. A 
jail made of hewed logs 
was erected and re- 
mained as the bastile 
of Marion county until 
183.3, when it was de- 
stroyed by fire. A brick 
jail was then con- 
structed, and in 1815 it 
was enlarged by an ad- 
dition made of logs a 
foot thick. In the midst 
of the turmoil of start- 
ing a new city on its 
upward way patriotism 
was not forgotten, and 
the fourth of July, 1822, 



16 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

■n-as duly celebrated by an oration, the reading of tlie Declaration of In- 
dependence, and a barbecue. The first camp-meeting was also held that 
fall, under the auspices of Rev. James Scott, the first Methoaist 
preacher of the town. This year was also signalized by the organiza- 
tion of a militia regiment, the fortieth, with James Paxton as colonel; 
Samuel Morrow, lieutenant-colonel, and Alexander W. Russell, major. 
Those days all the able-bodied citizens had to attend regular musters 
of the militia. 

The year was not one of prosperity to the new settlement, but was 
marked by several important events, among them Ijeing the establish- 
ment of a ferry across AVhite river; the opening of a brielv-yard; the 
erection of the first bricli and the first two-story frame house. The 
first bricli house was erected by John Johnson, on Market* street, oppo- 
site the present post-otfice. The frame house was on Washington 
street, a little east of the present site of the Park theater. It was long 
used for the storage of documents belonging to the state, and after- 
ward became a tavern. 

At that time the capital of the state had no member of the legis- 
lature to represent its interest, and so the actual capital remained at 
Corydon. Again the rumors began to circulate that after all Indian- 
apolis would never be the capital, and holders of real estate began to 
get a little shaky over their purchases. There was a leaven of faith, 
however, and the citizens began to petition the legislature for repre- 
sentation, and at its session in 1823 the people of the new county were 
authorized to elect a representative in the following August, In the 
early days of the spring a new newspaper was started with a rather 
startling name— Western Censor and Emigi-ant's Guide— by Harvey 
Gregg and Douglass Maguire. This was now the third year of the town, 
and the second since it had been given its name, but the election in Au- 
gust disclosed the fact that its gi-owth during the last year had been 
very limited. In August, 1S22, at the election for governor, the county 
had polled 317 votes, and at the election in 1823 only 270. It was an 
"off" year, and that may account for the falling off of the vote. 

First Theatrical Performance— Having a representative in the 
legislature, the town began to prepare for the advent of the capital, 
and a new tavern was built by Thomas Carter. It was now a rival 
of Hawkins' tavern that had first opened out its doors for the "enter- 
tainment of man and beast." It became celebrated as being a placeof 
the exhibition of the first show ever given in Indianapolis. It was given 
on the last night of the year 1823, the bill being "The Doctor's Court- 
ship, or the Indulgent Father," and the farce of the "Jealous Lovers." 

First School and Church— The first school was started in 1821, 
Ijut its teacher was shortly afterward elected county recorder and it 
was temporarily suspended. Religious teachings began with the advent 



EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 



17 




of French missionaries 
preaching among the 
Indians. When the 
country was wrested 
from the French the or- 
der was changed some- 
what, but it was never 
very long after the 
hardy pioneer had 
erected his cabin, until 
the "itinerant circuit 
rider" was Isnocking at 
his door with his bible 
and hymn-book in hand. 
It has never been def- 
initely settled who 
preached the first ser- 
mon in Indianapolis, th 3 
honor lying between 
John M c C 1 u n g , a 
preacher of the New 
Light school, and Rezin 
Hammond a Methodist. 
They both preached 
here in the fall of 1S21. 
They were soon fol- 
lowed by Rev. Ludlow 
G. Haines, a Presbyte- 
rian. The Presbyterians 
organized the first 
church, and in 1823 be- 
gan the erection of a 
house of worship on 
Pennsylvania street op- 
posite where the D^n- 
son hotel now stands. 
It was completed the 
following year at t: e 
cost of $1,200. The In- 
dianapolis circuit of the 
Methodist denomination 
was organized in 1822, 
under the charge of 
Rev, William Cravens, 



18 ilYMA^i'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. , 

but Rev. James Scott had preached here before that and held one or 
two camp-meetings. The Methodists did not begin the erection of :i 
church building right away, but in 182.3 purchased a hewed log house 
on Maryland street near Meridian, to be used for religious meetings. 
The Baptists organized a society in 1822, and held meetings at different 
places until 1829, when they erected a church. 

Not long after the school of Joseph C. Reed suspended on his being 
elected to the office of recorder of the county, a meeting of the citizens 
was called to make arrangements for a permanent school. Mr. Reed's j 
school-house had been at the Intersection of Kentucky avenue and Illi- ] 
uois street. Arrangements were made with a Jlr. and Jlrs. Lawrence 
to open out a school and keep it going. There were no free schools 
then maintained by public tax, but thus, soon after its first settlement, 
Indianapolis laid the foundation of its educational system. 

Removal of the Capital— At the meeting of the legislature in Jan- 
uary, 1S2-1, the final -order was made for the removal of the capital 
to Indianapolis," and this gave an impetus to the town and more emi- 
gi-ants began to flock in. The removal was to be made by January 10, 
1825. and the next legislature was to assemble in the court-house of 
Marion county. When Marion county's representatives to the legis- 
lature returned home from the session of 1824, they were given a grand 
reception «t Washington Hall, which was then the great tavern of 
the city. In November of that year. State Treasurer Samuel Merrill ' 
set out on his .iourney to the new capital with the archives of the 
state, in a large two-horse wagon. It was a slow journey over the 
hills and through the woods, a dozen miles a day being all that could 
be accomplished, and that by the hardest effort. By the end of Noveiji- 
ber the state was settled in its new quarters, and the meeting of 
the first legislature was impatiently waited for. 

When the members of the legislature came to the new capital in 
1825 they found it a straggling village with only one street "cleared," 
and that was still full of stumps. It was a town in the mud, hard to 
get to, and almost impossible to move around in after once reached. But 
it was the capital, the state officers were here, and the "donation" of 
the general government had been accepted, and they had to make the 
liest of it. It was a dreary winter, though, here in the deep woods, 
with the houses scattered around over a mile square, with only cow 
tracks through the woods from one to the other. The three taverns 
were the center of interest in the evenings, and around huge fires in 
their "bar rooms" the legislators and citizens gathered to discuss mat- 
ters of state. During the session one of the taverns. Carter's, was de- 
stroyed by fire. Some efforts were made by the legislature to improve 
the town, and fifty dollars were appropriated to ('lean out Pogue's run, 
so as to cut off some of its malaria-breeding potvers. The outlying 



20 BYMaTS UAKDBOOK op INDIAXAPOLIS. 

portions of the donation were also ordered sold or leased in four-acre 
tracts to encourage farming. 

First Organizations— The coming of the legislature did not add 
gi-eatly to the permanent growth of the town, for in February, 1826, 
the population consisted of seven hundred and sixty-two persons. But 
the town did begin to show signs of permanency and several societies 
were organized, among them being the Indianapolis Bible Societ.v, 
which is still in existence. An agricultural society was also organized, 
but it did not last long. The United States land office was removed to 
Indianapolis from Brooliville, and thus the city was recognized by the 
federal government. Indian depredations had ceased, but the military 
spirit was strong, and an artillery company was formed with .lames 
Blake as cajstain. The government furnished the company with one 
cannon of small caliber. The burning of Carter's tavern demonstrated 
the necessity of a fire company, and as the town was too poor to buy 
an engine a bucket and ladder company was organized, which did 
service for ten years until the first fire engine was purchased. 

Establishment of First Factory— The early part of 1827 witnessed 
the first effort to establish a manufacturing enterprise in the town. 
Through the efforts of James M. Ray, James Blake and Nicholas JIc- 
Carty the legislature ordered the sale of seven acres of land fronting on 
the river, for milling purpo.ses, and a company was organized to carry 
on the enterprise. It took two years, however, to get the stock sub- 
scriptions, and in 1831 the work of building was begun. It was to 
comprise a steam saw, gi'ist and woolen mill, and a very pretentious 
structure was erected. The boilers and machinery were hauled over- 
laud from Cincinnati, taking some weeks in their transportation. This 
was the introduction of steam as a power into the city, but the specula- 
tion did not pay, as there was little demand for lumber, and it cost 
too much to transport the flour to market. In 1835 the speculation was 
abandoned and the machinery offered for sale, but it found no buyers, 
and was left to rust itself away. In 1847 the Geisendorfi's undertook 
to use the machinery aud building for carding and spinning wool, but 
after trying it for five years, they in turn abandoned it. and the next 
year it was destroyed by fire. • It had long been a rendezvous for 
thieves and other vicious characters. 

Building of Governor's Mansion— The same year the legislature 
attempted to build a residence for the governor. In the original laying 
off of the town the circle in the center of the plat was intended for such 
a structure, and so designated, but up to this time no provision had 
been made for its building. One of the first acts of the legislature in 
1827 was to appropriate $4,000 to build a governor's house on the circle, 
and work began by enclosing the circle with a rail fence. Under this 
appropriation a building was begun. It was rather elaborate in de- 



22 



HYlIAy,^ nAXDBOOK OF lyDIAyAPOLIS. 




sign, square In form, two stories high 
aud a large attic. It had a semi base- 
ment. The building was completed far 
enough to be used for public offices, and 
was turned over for that purpose. In 
1859 it was sold at auction and torn 
clown. 

The governors were still left to hunt 
homes for themselves, until 1839, when 
tlie legislature ordered the state officers 
to purchase a suitable building for such 
a residence. At that time the hand- 
somest and largest dwelling in the city- 
was on the northwest corner of Illinois 
and Market streets. It was owned by Dr. .John H. Sanders, aud the state 
officers decided upon it, and It was bought. Governor Wallace moved 
into it, and it was occupied in tiffn bjf^gpvernors Bigger, Whltcomb, 
Wright, Willard and Hortonr FrcsfePsofire (^ause it had always been an 
unhealthy building. The wife of Governor Wlutcomb was the first ;o 
die there. Governor Wright, during his occupancy, lost .t^o wives iu 
the same building. The family of Governor Willard was sick during 
the whole time he occupied it, and Governor Morton suffered so much 
that he finally abandoned it. It was sold iu 1865. and since then the 
State has owned no executive mansion. 

By this time the education;\l demands of the people of the gi'owlng 
town induced the legislature to set apart a square of ground to be 
known as "t^iiversity" square, upon which it was Intended some time 
in the future to erect buildings for a university. Xo effort was made to 
utilize it for educational purposes until 1832, when a part of it was 
leased for a county seminary. It was afterward used by the city for 
a high-school for a number of years. 

Early Navigation— The growth of the town was very slow for 
some years. The building of the National road gave it a slight impe'.us 
and brought here the first and only steamboat that ever succeeded i:i 
navigating White river to this point. It rejoiced in the name of "Robe, t 
Hanna," and was owned by General Hanna, one of the eontractor.-i 
building the new road for the government. It was brought here to 
tow barges loaded with stone and timber for use in constructing the 
road and its bridges. It arrived here on the eleventh of April. 1831. 
The ne.xt day a free excursion was given to the citizens, but the over- 
hanging boughs of the trees lining the banks knocked down her chim- 
neys and pilot-house and smashed a wheel-house. The next day she 
ran agi-ound and remained fast for several weeks. When the high 



24 BYMAX'S IIAyUBOOK OF IXDIAXAP0LI8. 

water came iu the fall she took her way down .the river and was never 
seen again. Many years afterward a little steamer named after Gov- 
ernor Morton was built here to ply up and down for the amusement 
and entertainment of the people, but it had bad luck, and was soon 
destroyed. Even keel-boats and flat-boats early aljandoued all efforts 
to navigate the stream which Mr. Ralston had declared to be navigable 
for at least four mouths in the year. 

Governor Noble, however, would not give up his hopes that the 
river would prove navigable, and offered a reward of $200 for the first 
boat that would laud at the town. Two efforts were made, and one 
steamer reached Spencei' and another came a few miles further. A 
plan for slack water navigation was submitted to the legislature and 
pressed for several years, and in 1851 the White River Navigation Com- 
pany was chartered, but it accomplished nothing. 

First Historical Society — About this time the town thought It 
was old enough to have a historical society, so one was formed, with 
Ben;amin Parke for president, and B. F. Morris for secretary. It did 
not have many active members, but elected about all the distinguished 
men of the nation as honorary members. The organization of the so- 
ciety was preceded by the arrival of the first menagerie that ever ex- 
hibited its wild animals to the people of the Hoosier capital. 

First Internal Improvements, Etc.— The craze for internal improve- 
ments, that had been sweeping over other parts of the country, 
struck Indianapolis early in 1831, and the legislature spent most of its 
session in granting charters to railroads. Six such roads were pro- 
jected, to center in Indianapolis, The roads were all to run to the 
south, as there was no population to the north. Some of the pro.jected 
roads were partly surveyed and then the work was dropped, A few 
years later, however, the state entered upou a wholesale system of 
internal improvement, including railroads, canals and turnpikes. None 
of the projected works were ever fully completed by the state, but the 
state debt was increased enormously, and the state had to practical'y 
go into bankruptcy. The state sold out its interest in all the works, 
together with 2,000,000 acres of land. In discharge of half of the debt 
that had been contracted. 

Erection of First State=house— The state had been occupying 
the court-house for the use of the legislature, and in making its appro- 
priation to erect that building had reserved the right to so occupy it for 
fifty years, but it was deemed the time had come to erect a building 
for the use of the state. It still owned a consideral)le portion of the 
original donation by congress, and it was estimated that the lots would 
sell for $58,(MX>, and this was estimated sufficient to erect a suitable 
building, Ithiel Town was the architect and contracted to build the 







1 


IH 




1 






^ 


« 


B^' 








JiL:'- 


-.xui^^H 


BHMBililf ■■! \iu 


■■ 


HE' 


J 


mti 


aH^^^I 


^^H^HB^I 


^1 


^H^A''f 


ll 


i 




|^a^*^»>iki^J 


1 



SOLDIERS' GRAVES, NATIONAL CEMETERY, CROWN Hll 




BURIAL OF GENERAL HARRISON AT CROWN HILL, MARCH 17, 19Q1, 



HiilAyS UAXDDOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 




house for $58,- 
000, and actual- 
ly did complete 
plete it for $(50.- 
Ch;»0. It was be- 
gun in 1832 and 
finished in tims 
for the meet:ng 
of the legisla- 
ture in 1836, anl 
it served the 
state for foriy 
years. 

Incorporation 

of the City— rp 

to 1832 the citj s 

usiness haJ 

been administered under the laws of the state, and on September 3, 
1832, the citizens made the tirst formal effort toward incorporation. 
Five trustees vrere elected, and Samuel Hender.son, who had been tlie 
first regularly appointed postmaster of the town, was appointed presi- 
dent of the board, with .1. P. Griffith clerk, and Samuel Jennisou mar- 
shal .and collector. This municipal government lasted until 1836, when 
the legislature granted a special charter. About the only notable thing 
the old municipality did was to purchase the first fire engine for the 
town, the state giving one-half of the price. The organization had 
lasted four years, and the entire income of the fourth year was only 
$1,510. 

State Bank of Indiana— In 1834 the legislature chartered the 
State Bank of Indiana, with a capital of ?1,600,OUO. Vp to that time 
Indianapolis had contained nothing but a small private bank. The 
charter of the state bank was to run twenty-five years. The state was 
to take one-half of the capital stock, and raised the money by the sale 
of bonds. Her share of the dividends, after paying the bonds, was to 
go to the establishment of a general school fund. This was the starting 
point of Indiana's splendid endowment of her public schools. The 
state's share of the proceeds was loaned out from time to time on real 
estate security. The final yield of this investment by the state was 
$3,700,000, after paying off the bank bonds. The mam bank and one 
of its branches were located in Indianapolis. The bank began business 
on the 26th day of November, 1834. in the building on the Governor's 
f'irele which had been intended as a residence for the governor. It 
was afterwards removed to Washington street. Samuel Merrill was 



■HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 27 

the first president, and Calvin Fletcher, Seaton W. Norris, Robert Jlor- 
rison and Thomas R. Scott were the directors. In 1840 the bank :e- 
nioved to its new building at the corner of Kentucky avenue and lUir.ois 
street. The Indianapolis branch was organized by the nppointment of 
Hervey Bates, president, and B. F. Morris, cashier. At the expirati u 
of the charter the Bank of the State of Indiana was started, with Hx g i 
McCulloiigh as president. In this bank the state had no interest. II 
remained in business, with its seventeen branches, until wiped out 1 y 
the institution of the national banks. 

Panic of 1837— The sreat financial panic of 1837 proved very disas- 
trous to Indianapolis. It stopped all work on the great enterprises un- 
dertaken by the state, leaving contractors and lal)orers without th:ir 
pay. The banks were compelled to suspend specie payments and pri- 
vate business was overwhelmed with the credit of the state. Lar;;e 
stocks of goods had been purchased by the merchants and remained 
unsold on their shelves, or had been disposed of on credit, and collec- 
tions were impossible. Nobody had any money. Eastern creditors were 
disposed to be very liberal and extend time of payments, tru.sting to a 
revival of business to relieve their debtors from their i>ml>arrassment. 
The legislature came to the help of the debtor tjy providing that prop- 
erty sold on execution should not be sold for less than two-thirds of its 
appraised value. It also exempted a certain amount of household prop- 
erty from execution. These two measures proved of great benefit, but 
did not relieve the distress altogether. There was a lack of currency, 
and the legislature issued bills secured by the credit of the state, and 
bearing six per cent, interest. This "scrip" was made receivable f r 
taxes, but from thewant of credit by the state abroad the scrip passed 



4, .^~~" ;. -.-^vf^ 




28 HYAIAys HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOfAS. 

only at a heavy discount. After awhile, when confidence was restored 
again, the "scrip" commanded a large premium, and before it was all 
finally redeemed it was worth about two dollars for one. It was not 
until 1843. when the Madison railroad was approaching completion, 
that an upward tendency in business occurred. 

The city has suffered from several panics since, the worst in the 
earlier years being in 1840, '41 and '42. The State Bank resumed specie 
payment in June, 1842, but it was a year or more before business gen- 
erally revived. These were the famous "hard times'' following the elec- 
tion of William Henry Harri.son. So grievous were the times that an 
effort was made, in 1842, to abolish the town government on account of 
its expense, although the entire cost of operating the municipal govern- 
ment was a little less than .|3,000. It might be well to note at this point 
the salaries paid to the municipal officers in those early days. Members 
of the council received $12 each a year, the secretary $20(), the treasurer 
and marshal each .flUO, and the assessors $75. The other salaries wwe 
in a like proportion. 

First Militia Organized— For some years after the organization 
of the state, a militia was maintained by requiring all the able-bodied 
men between certain ages to lie enrolled and report at stated periods 
for muster. When the danger from Indian wars ceased these musters 
ended. The military spirit of the people, however, did not die out, and 
in February, 1837, the first company of militia was organized, with 
Colonel Russell as captain. It was called the "Marion Guards." Their 
uniform was of gray cloth with patent leather shakoes. They were 
armed with the old-fashioned flint-lock muskets, and drilled according 
to the Prussian tactics. Thomas A. Morris, a graduate of West Point, 
succeeded Captain Russell. In 1838 Captain Thomas McBaker organ- 
ized the "Marion Rifles."' The uniform of the Rifles was a blue fringed 
hunting shirt, blue pantaloons and caps. In 1842 the two companies 
organized into a liattalion under the command of Lieutenant-Colonel 
Harvey Brown and Major George Drum. 

First Female Academy— In 1837 was opened the first female 
school of the city. It was called the "Indianapolis Female Institute." 
and was chartered liy the legislature. It was opened by two sisters, 
Mary J. and Harriet Axtell. It flourished for several years, and its 
reputation was so high that quite a number of pupils from other towns 
and states attended it. The same year a neat frame school-house was 
erected on Circle street, adjoining what was so long known as Henry 
Ward Beecher's church. The school was opened by Mr. Gilman Mars- 
ton, afterwards a member of congress from New Hampshire, and a dis- 
tinguished general during the late war. It was called the "Franklin 
Institute." 



30 HYiJAXS BAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Building State Institutions — In 1839 the subject of erecting a 
hospital for the insane of the state had been broached, but nothing defi- 
nite was done, owing to the financial embarrassment of the state and 
people, but as soon as business began to exhibit signs of recovery the 
matter was again taken up. Dr. John Evans, of Chicago, who had 
made a study of mental diseases, delivered a lecture before the mem- 
bers of tlie legislature of 18-42-3, and the governor was directed to ob- 
tain plans for the erection of suitable buildings. At the next session of 
the legislature plans were approved and a tax of one cent on each one 
hundred dollars' worth of property was levied to provide the means for 
erecting the buildings. All this was but carrying out a direction in the 
constitution adopted at the organization of the state, one of the cares 
of the framers of that document being to provide for the unfortunate. 
Dr. John Evans, Dr. L. Dunlap and James Blake were appointed a com- 
mission to obtain a site for the proposed buildings. They selected 
Mount Jackson, where the hospital now stands. In 18-tG the legi.slature 
ordered the sale of "hospital" square, a plat of ground that had been 
reserved for hospital purposes, the proceeds to be applied to the work, 
and an additional sum of .$15,000 was appropriated. 

The work of construction was begun at once, and the main building 
was completed the next year, at a cost of ?75,O0O. Since then several 
additions have been made to the building, and others erected, until now 
Indianapolis can boast of one of the most substantial, convenient and 
imposing structures of tlie kind in the United States. The grounds are 
handsomely laid out, and every convenience and comfort for this class 
of unfortunates have been provided. The legislature of 1843 also began 
the work of caring for the deaf mutes, by levying a tax of one-fifth of 
a cent on each one hundred dollars of property. The first work of this 
kind in the .state, however, was done by William Willard, a mute who 
had been a teacher of mutes in Ohio. He came to Indianapolis in the 
spring of 1843 and opened a school on his own account. In 1844 
the state adopted his school and appointed a board of ti-ustees. con- 
sisting of the governor, ti-easm-er of state. Henry Ward Beecher, Phin- 
eas D. Gurley, L. H. Jameson, Dr. Dunlap, James Morrison and 
Matthew Simpson, afterwards a distinguished bishop of the Methodist 
church. They rented a building at the corner of Maryland and IlLnois 
streets, and opened the first asylum in October, 1844. In January, 1&46, 
a site for a permanent building was selected just east of the town. The 
permanent building was completed in 18.')0, at a cost of $30,000. 

During the winter of 1844-5, througlrthe efforts of James M. Ray, 
William H. Churchman, of the Kentucky Blind Asylum, was brought 
here with some of his pupils and gave an exhibition or two in Mr. 
Beecher's church. This had a decidedly good effect on the legislature, 
which was then in session, and a tax of one-fifth of a cent was levied 



BYAIAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



SI 



to provide support for the blind. James M. Ray, George W. Mears and 
the secretary, auditor and treasurer of state were appointed a commis- 
sion to carry out the worli, either by the estaltlishment of an asylum or 
t.y providing for the care and education of the blind at the institutio i 
in Ohio or that in Kentucky. In 1847 James M. Ray, George W. Jlears 
and Seaton W. Norris were appointed to erect a suital)le building, and 
$5,000 appropriated to purchase a site. They purchased the ground now 
occupied, and while waiting for the erection of a building openi?d a 
tcliool in the building that had been used for the first deaf and dumb 




VIEW WASHINGTON AND PENNSYLVANIA STREETS, 1891. 



asylum. The present building was completed in 1851 at the cost of 
$50.0U0. 

War with Mexico— The year 1846 brought some excitement, and 
for a while made things a little more lively. The war with Mexico 
was on, and troops called for. Indianapolis raised one company for 
the first regiment. It was officered by James P. Drake as captain and 
Jolin A. McDougal and Lewis Wallace as lieutenants. Captain Drake 
was afterward made colonel of the regiment. The next year Indian- 
apolis furnished two additional companies, one each for the fourth and 
fifth regiments. Those two companies were with General Scott on his 
m.irch to the capital of Mexico, and participated in some of the battles 



32 BYMA^"S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAI'OLIS. 

of that campaign. They were commanded liy James McDougal and 
Edward Lander. 

The First Railroad— While the Mexican war was going on the 
railroad that was building to connect Indianapolis and the Ohio river 
at Madison was slowly creeping along. It was finally completed to the 
city in 1847 amid great rejoicing. With the opening of the Madison 
railroad a change came, and the town put on a bustling air of activity. 
This furnished an opening to the Ohio river, and by that stream to 
Cincinnati and the south. Business at once revived and new stores 
were opened, and new factories started, while others were projected. 
Up to that time the stores kept a little of everything, but a railroad de- 
manded a division of trade, and stores for dry goods and stores for 
groceries were opened. The price of property advanced, and a new 
city government organized. At the first settlement of the town, lots 
along or near the river front were the favorites in the market. The 
sickly season soon drove business and the settlements further east, and 
the opening of the railroad attracted everything toward the south, so as 
to be near the depot. 

First Mayor— In Fel>ruary, 18-17, the legislature granted a city 
charter to Indianapolis, and on the 27th of March an election was he2d- 
to determine ^^■hether the people would accept or not. It was approved 
by a vote of 44!) to 10. An election for municip.il officers was held on 
the 24th of April, and Samuel Henderson was elected the first mayor 
of the city. The population of the city was estimated at that time at 
(i.OOO. Practically there were no streets, except Washing, on, and it was 
still full of stumps. Sorbe of the other streets had been partly cleared, 
but no attempt had been made to improve any of them. Here and 
there on Washington street were patches of sidewalks, some of brick 
and* some of plank. When it rained mud predominated on the only 
streets that had been opened and used, while in the summer the dust 
was thick enoiigh to be almost stifling. 

First Street Improvements- The new city council at once deter- 
mined to enter upon a systematic and general system of street im- 
provements. Stumps were pulled out. the streets in the central portion 
of the city graded and graveled and sidewalks were made. This first 
effort at improvement caused a good deal of friction and litigation, the 
property owners objecting to the expense entailed upon them. Bowl- 
dering for streets was not introduced until 1850, when Washington 
was so paved from Illinois to Meridian. Free schools also made their 
appearance soon after the formation of the city government. The 
state had provided a small fund, but it was only large enough to keep 
the schools going for three or four mouths of the year. It was decided 
to levy a small tax on the citizens to provide funds for the erection of 
houses and to pay teachers, and by 1853 this tax furnished enough to 
make a more permanent organization of the schools necessary. 



34 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF lyOIAXAl'OLIS. 

First Public Hall— The year 1847 brought al.=o the first hall| 
erected for the use of the public. The Grand Lodge of Free Masons 
determined to erect a building that would contain rooms for lodge pur- 
poses and a large hall that could be used for entertainments, public 
meetings, etc. The location decided upon was the southeast corner 
of Washington and Tennessee streets, now known as Capitol avenue. 
The corner-stone was laid on the 25tli of October, but the building 
was not finally completed until 1850. The convention to revise the con- 
stitution of the state held its sessions In the public hall in 1850. 

First Wholesale House— Among other improvements in business 
was the opening of the first wholesale dry goods store in Indianapolis, 
by Joseph Little & Co. The three or four years following were un- 
eventful, in the main, the city showing slow but steady growth, and 
another railroad or two began to malie pretentions to pul)lic utility, 
and the Union Railway Company was organized, with the idea of bring- 
ing all the railroads into one central station. 

First Telegraph Line— In 1848 the first telegraph lin3 to the city 
was constructel, rcacliing to Dayton, Ohio. 

First Gas Lighting Company— In 1851 a company was chartered 
to furnish gas light to the citizens, but it was not until 1854 the city 
took any gas for the streets,, and then only for a few lamps. In 1852 
the legislature granted a charter for the Northwestern Christian Uni- 
versity, and plans were adopted to raise funds for the construction of 
the necessary buildings. The same year the Grand Lodge of Odd Fel- 
lows began the erection of a building on the northeast corner of Wash- 
ington and Pennsylvania streets, and in the same year the city again 
changed its form of government, surrendering the special charter and 
accepting the general law. This change was mainly occasioned be- 
cause the special charter limited the power of taxation to fifteen cents 
on the one hundred dollars, and it had been found totally inade- 
quate to the needs of the city. 

Building Permit Ordinance— Up to the close of the war there had 
been no steps taken by the city to mark the growth of the city in any 
way, but in 1804 the council passed an ordinance requiring those pro- 
posing to build to take out permits, and since then there has been a 
record by which the changes could be noted. 

First Street Railway— In 1863 the first attempt was made to con- 
struct a street railroad. Two companies applied for a charter, and after 
a long delay and a bitter fight a charter was granted to the Citizens' 
Company, and by 1866 about seven miles of track was completed. The 
first line was that on Illinois street, and this was opened in June, 1804, 
the mayor of the city driving a car over it. 



148' 89? 




A COMPRBHeNSIVE OUTLINE DESCRIPTION OF THE WHOLE CITY— AREA, 
POPULATION, WEALTH, STATISTICS, ETC. 

Indianapolis is today the largest inland city on the American conti- 
nent, and one of the most important railroad centers in this conutry. 
[t is. too, one of the handsomest cities, and one of the most prosperous 
md progressive. Its growth has been practically that of only two dec- 
ides. Within that time it has emerged from a rambling village-lllie 
town into a city of magnificent business blocks, public buildings and 
dandsome residences. It is the commercial, industrial, social, religious, 
sducational, political and governmental center of Indiana— rich in nat- 
ural resources and one of the most progressive states in the union. It 
is more t.rpically a capital of a state than any other city in the coun- 
try and is recognized as such in all parts of the United States. 

The Area actually within the city is over thirty square miles. The 
Driginal plat was one mile square, and for many years after the first 
laying off of the town it kept within those bounds. 

The Population has grown in a wonderful' manner during the last 
twenty years. In 1870 the population was 48,244 ; in 1880 it had grown 
to 75,056. In 1890 it showed another great advance, the returns show- 
ing 105,436, and, according to the United States census for 1900, the 
actual population was 170,963, including Irvington, a suburb, which 
lias since been added to the city. Nearly every nationality on the globe 
is represented in this population. Of the foreign born the Germans 
predominate, closely followed by the Irish. The population is indus- 
trious and thrifty, there being fewer idle men in Indianapolis than in 
any other city of its size. Hundreds of workingmen own their own 
homes, and while there is not in the city any great aggregation of 
wealth, as is found in the other large cities of the country, there is 
not that depth of povertj' to be found. The estimated population of 
Indianapolis for 1907 is 230,000. 

The Municipal Administration is conducted by a mayor and the 
leads of the various departments. The mayor is elected by a popular 
cote for the term of four years, and he appoints the members of the 
rarious boards. Municipal legislation is in the hands of a council com- 
posed of twenty-one members, fifteen of whom are elected by wards 
ind the other six by the city at large. 



5G IIVJIAWS niXDISOOK OF IXDIAyAI'OLIS. \ 

J'he City Charter — The city of Indianapolis became an incorpo 
rated town Septembei- 3, 1832. Prior to that time the business of the 
town Iiaa been administered under the laws of the state. The legisla- 
ture granted the city its first charter in 1800; this was superseded by 
another charter in 1S47, and under its provisions the first mayor of 
Indianapolis was elected. In 1801 the legislature granted the city a 
fpecial charter which was approved March 0, 1891. With minor amend- 
ments and additions the city is now operating under this charter. 

Mayors of Indianapolis were as follows : Samuel Henderson, 1847- 
1849; Horatio C. Newcomb. 1840-1851; Caleb Scudder, 1851-1854; James 
I.IcCready, 1S.54-1S5G ; Henry F. West, 1856; Charles Conlon, 1856; Wil- 
liam J. Wallace, 185G-l.s,-,S: Samuel D. Maxwell, 1858-1803; John Caven, 
1S03-1S0T; Daniel ilacauley. lSOT-1873 ; James L. .Mitchell, 1873-1875; 
John Caven, 1875-1881 ; Daniel W. Grubbs, 1881-1884 ; J. L. McMasters, 
1884-1886; Caleb S. Denny, 188G-1S90; Thomas L. Sullivan, 1890-1893; 
Caleb S. Denny, 1893-1S96 ; Thomas Taggart, 189G-1901 ; Chas. A. Book- 
waiter, 1901-1903 ; John W. Holtzman, 1903-1905 ; C. A. Bookwalter, 1905. 
The City Finances — According to the last report of the comptroller 
the gross cash balance January 1, 1907, was $587,000.59; from taxes, 
? 1,244 ,450.38; total current receipts, ?2.059,007.09 ; total current expendi- 
tures, ? 1,726,847.97. The bonded indebtedness January 1, 1907, was 
$2,929,800.00. The expenditures for 1906 were: Finance department, 
?209, 791.93; law department, $12,293.38; public works, $742,471.31; 
public parks, $1,59,794.71; public safety, $514,542.78; public health and 
charity, $87,053.80. 

The Judiciary is partly under city authority and partly under that 
of the state. It is all elected. The Police Judge is elected for a term 
of four years and has a salary of .?2,500.00. The Judge of the Criminal 
Court is elected for a term of four years and has a salary of $4,000.00 
per year. The Judge of the Juvenile Court is elected for a term of 
four years with a salary of $2,500.00. The Superior Court has five 
judges, each elected for four years at a salary of $5,000.00 per annum. 
The Judge of the Circuit Court is elected for a term of six years 
with a salary of $5,000.00 per annum. The Judge of the Probate Court 
is elected for a term of four years with a salary of $5,000.00. Therj 
are also a number of Justices of the Peace, having limited jurisdiction. " 
The Police Department is under the control of the Board of Public 
Safety. It is composed of one superintendent, one lieutenant, fifteen 
sergeants and 138 patrolmen. In addition there is a detective force 
consisting of one captain and nineteen detectives. Connected with the 
r^l-'ce fvroe are two matrons of the female department, three telegrap'i 
operator.?, one custodian, one electrician, two engineers, three clerk-, 
•n:e pplice sergeant, two board of health officers, two humane officers. 
(>..e board of childrcivs guardians' officer, the Bertillon system ami an 
i-35ciej)t bicyclo cpkos. 



38 HYMATS HANDBOOK OP INDIANAPOLIS. 

The Fire Department is under the control of the Board of Public! 
Safety and consists of one chief, five assistant chiefs, one superintend- 
ent of telegraph, one foreman of fire alarm telegraph, one veterinary, 
three telegraph operators, three tower watchmen, three line men, 35 
captains, 37 lieutenants, 11 engineers and 131 firemen, a total of 231 
men. The department is equipped with the latest improved fire de- 
partment apparatus. 

The Executive and administrative authority of the city is vested 
in the Mayor, City Clerk and certain boards. The Mayor receives a 
salary of $i,000.00 per year and is elected for a term of four years. 

The Department of Finance is under the charge of the comptroller, 
who is appointed by the mayor, with a salary of $3,000. All warrants 
on the treasury must be drawn by him. 

The Department of Law is under the charge of the corporation coun- 
sel, the city attorney and one assistant city attorney, appointed by the 
mayor. 

The Department of Public Works consists of three commissioners 
appointed by the mayor. The Iward has control of the streets and all 
public buildings of the city. Each commissioner has a salary of $2,000 
a year. 

The Board of Public Safety consists of three commissioners ap- 
pointed by the mayor, at a salary of $1,200 each. This board has con- 
trol of the police and fire departments. 

The Department ol Health and Charities consists of a board of 
three commissioners ap])ointed by the mayor. The board has direct 
control of all regulations for public health. The members of the board 
must be physicians. 

The Department of Parks is composed of five commissioners ap- 
pointed by the mayor, for five years, and who serve without compen- 
sation. They have charge of all the public parks. 

The Number of Buildings, including dwelling and business houses, 
makes a total of about 60,000. In 1906 there were 3,825 building per- 
mits issued for a value of $5..030,731.80. 

Streets and Sewers — The total length of streets of the city is 
about 471 miles, of which nearly 120 miles are permanently improved and 
the rest graveled. There are over 167 miles of sewers. The streets are 
lighted by gas and electricity, there being about 1,700 electric lights 
and 400 gas and vaix)r lights. 

The Water Supply is furnished by the Indianapolis Water Com- 
pany through their slow, sand-filtered system, and from deep wells 
located some few miles from the city, which is brought here through 
large iron mains and supplied by direct pressure from pumping sta- 
tions. The water is pure and the supply is abundant for all purposes. 

The Military Establishment of Indianapolis consists of the First 



HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




ARMORY OF BATTERY A, NATIONAL GUARD. 



Battalion of the Second Regiment of the Xational Guard, composed of 
Companies A, C, D and II. and Battery A. . I o ea or 

The U. S. Army Post, "Fort Benjamin Harrison," is located about 
ele^en miles northeast of the city, .-here the Government has arranged 
foi the care o a regiment of regulars. The buildings for the officers 
and barracks for the troops were completed in 1907, and this post Is 
regarded as one of the best equipped in the United States. It is reached 
about''ii!r'c'i;^' ^'''''' ''°"'' """ '' °"' °' "'^ ^°'°*' ""' ^''^'''' ^-^terest 
The City Building:, one of the most attractive public buildings in 
h"4r;nT^ T'f t" r'- " '^ ^ '^^''•'^^''"^^ ^'^•fi'^ "-- ^^orL in 
cftfc e ffl '""" °°'"'' ""^'^^*°°^- ^"-^ -•- 'oe.tea the 

cit> cle.ks office, sui.enntendent of police, city police court. Bertillon 
department, detective department, bicycle corps, bailiff of police court 
uvonue court, police patrol, council chamber, station house, morgue 
and city dispensar.y. 

Tomlinson Hall-Among the generous citizens of Indianapolis some 
years ago was Jtr Daniel Tomlinson. After his death, on opening his 
>..1I. It was found that he had devised a large amount of real estate 



42 



HYMANS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



and other propertj' to the city for the erection of a public building, 
providing in his will that the building should be erected on the west 
end of what is known as East Market Square. The devise was ac- 
cepted by the citj' and the bequest taken possession of. Nothing was 
done, however, toward carrying out the wishes of the testator for sev- 
eral years. Some attempts were then made to use the money as in- 
tended by Mr. Tonilinson, but at every efCort hostility was aroused, 
until at last the matter was made an issue at a city election. The 
council then took steps and the ptesent Tomliuson Hall was built in 
1885. 

Marion County Court House is one of the largest and most im- 
posing buildings in the city. It was completed in 1877, at a cost of 
$1,750,000. It is occupied by the county offices and the circuit, superior 
and criminal courts. Indiana Bar Association library, Marion county 
library, county clerk, recorder, treasurer, assessor, sheriff, coroner, com- 
missioners, surveyor, etc. 

The County Jail was built in 1892 and is architecturally one of the 
best built buildings in the city. It is constructed of Indiana oolitic 
limestone and cost $175,000. The sheriff's residence is located in the 
building. 



^ 


_^ 






■ll 


KlHimi 


-"n 


mm.. 


. .<«- 


.Jim 



CITY BUILDING. 



HYMAiVS HAXnBOOK OF n^DIANAPOLIS. 




MARION COUNTY JAM 



The Workhouse is located iu the northwestern part of the city, on 
West Tweuty-nrst street. It is a large brick structure and is provided 
with IGO cells. Connected with the institution is twelve acres of ground, 
which is kept under cultivation. Prisoners from the city and county 
courts are seut here. 

Indiana Woman's Prison and Indiana Industrial School for Girls 
are located on East Michigan and Randolph streets. They are main- 
tained by the state, under the charge of a superintendent appointed by 
a l)oard of managers composed entirely of women and approved by the 
Governor. 

The State House is the largest and most imposing structure in the 
city. It is built of Indiana oolitic limestone, the interior being finished 
in marble. It was begun iu 1878 and completed iu 1888, at a cost of 
nearly .$2,000,000, and is the only great public building in the couutiy 
built withiu' the original estimate of cost. It is located in the heart 
of the business section of the city, in the center of a plot of ground 
containing over eight acres. Here are the ofliees of the governor of' 
Indiana, secretary of state, treasurer, auditor, , attorney-general, re- 
porter of supreme court, bureau of statistics, department of geology, 




PYTHIAN BUILDING. 



4G HYilANS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




RESIDENCE GENERAL HARRISON ON NORTH DELAWARE STREET. 



adjutant-general, quartermaster-general, custodian and engineer, de- 
partment of inspection, state labor commission, superintendent of public 
instruction, state library, state law librai-y, state museum, state board 
of health and charities, state board of agriculture, board of medical ex- 
amination, and the supreme and appellate courts of the state. 

U. S. Court House and Postoffice is the only architectural repre- 
sentative of the federal government in the citj-. The old buildings were 
sold for .$100,100 iu 1000. The new federal building erected in Indi- 
anapolis was authorized by an act of congress, approved March 1, 1899, 
which appropriated ?1, 500,000 for the structure. During 1000 the gov- 
ernment acquired possession of the whole square lying between Penn- 
sylvania and Jleridiau and Oliio and New York streets by paying the 
various owners of tlie proportj' a total of $026,000. The plans of the 
building were opened to competition and Eauliin & Kellogg, of Phila- 
delphia, were the successful architects. The building is of generous pro- 
jjortioiis and magniiicent conception. The length of the building over 
all is 355 feet 5 inches. This is exclusive of step.-> and approaches. The 
depth over all, exclusive of steps and approaches, is 172 feet 6 inches. 
The height over all, from sidewalk, is 91 feet. The work on the excava- 
tions for the new building began in May, 1902; the building was com- 




LEMCKE BUILOINO. 



'[YMAN'S nANDBOOK OF 7V/>7 1 V.l/'OA 7.< 




UNIVERSITY CLUB. 



pleted in 1904. With tlie exception of the U. S. weather bureau, the. U. 
S. army recruiting office and the bureau of animal Industries, all the 
offices of the government are located in this building. 

Business of the Postoffice — The growth of the business of the post- 
oflice during the past twenty years is a striking index of the wonderful 
and substantial development of Indianapolis. In 1881 there were 39 
carriers and 38 clerks ; on July 1, 1907, 137 carriers and 47 substitutes 
and 22 special delivery boys. Then the annual income was less than 
$350,000. June 30, 1007, the income was .$081,077.44. Indianapolis is 
now in the highest class affecting the salary of the postmaster. In 1881 
it must be taken into consideration the rate was three cents a half-ounce : 
now it is two cents an ounce, or one-third as much. From July 1, 1906. 
to June 30, 1907, there were dispatched from the office 75,701,826 letters, 
postal cards and sealed packages ; 50,115,350 all other classes of mail 
matter; 80.112 special delivery letters— a total of 125,957,288 pieces of 
mail. Number of mail pouches received, 63,522 ; number of sacks of paper 
received, 343,983; number of letter pouches dispatched, 65,060; number 
sacks of paper mail dispatched, 572,072. In addition to the main office 
there are thirty-ses'en substations where money orders, stamps and 
postal cards can be purchased, employing thirty-seven substation super- 




LAW BUILDING. 



50 HYMA:^"S HASnBOOK OF I'SDIANAPOLIS. 

intendents. Ihe salary of the postmaster is $6,000 a year. The Indi- 
anapolis postolfice has been established eighty years, aud the following 
is a list of the postmasters : Samuel Henderson, 1822 ; John Cain. 
1831 ; Joseph Moore, 1811 (removed by President Tyler one month after 
appointment and John Cain appointed) ; Livingston Dunlap, 1845 ; Alex- 
ander W. Russell, 1849 (died before his term expired and his son ap- 
pointed in his place); James Russell, 1851; William W. Wick, 1853; 
John JI. Talbott, 1S57; A. H. Conner, ISGl ; D. G. Rose, 1SG6 ; W. R. 
Holloway, 1SG9 ; J. A. Wildman, 1881 ; Aquilla Jones, Sr., 1885 ; William 
Wallace, 18S9 (died April 9, 1891) ; Edward P. Thomson, 1891; Albert 
Sahm, 1S94; James W. Hess, 1S9S (died June, 1900) ; George F. McGiu- 
nis, 1900 ; Henry W. Bennett. 1905. 

Other Federal Officers and Officials are United States marshal, 
surveyor of customs, revenue collector, pension agent, special examiner 
of pensions. United States weather bureau and the bureau of animal 
industry. 

The Belt Railroad — One of the most important features of the rail- 
road system of Indianapolis is the Belt line, which connects all the 
railroads which enter the city. It runs about three-fourths of the way 
around the entire city, and along its line are many of the most im- 
portant manufacturing establishments, and the stock yards. Over it all 
freight passing from one road to another is transported. 

The Union Railway Lines — Early in the railroad history of Indian- 
apolis some- of her enterprising citizens and railroad managers cont 
ceived the idea of bringing all the lines into one central passenger sta- 
tion. To this end the Union Railway Company was chartered, and 
tracks through the city were laid. This company now owns and man- 
ages the great Union Station, from which 170 passenger trains enter 
and depart every twenty-four hours over eighteen railway lines.' 

The Street Railway System— Electricity is used as the motive 
ix)wer. 'I'he system reaches to every part of the city, operating over 13C 
miles of track. The electric roads extend to all the suburbs, giving 
ready access to the city for those who live in the outlying districts. 
Strangers arriving in the city can reach all the hotels or any point of 
interest from either the Union Railway or Traction Terminal stations 
by street cars. 

Interurban Railways — There are at present fonrteen distinct inter- 
urban lines entering the city, operating directly or by connection with 
more than twenty-five lines in Indiana and adjoining states. These 
lines operate trains with hourly service that come into the great ter- 
minal station in the very heart of the city. All interurban electric rail- 
way companies enter the city over the lines of the Indianapolis Ter- 
minal Traction Company. 



BTlIAy\^ ILiyDliOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




SCENE ON FALL CREEK. 

The Custom House is a very important adjunct to tlie trade of 
the city. Tlie value of the goods imported into the district of Indian- 
apolis for the fiscal year ending July 31, 1907, was $433,817; total en- 
tries, 839; duties collected, $186,810.03. 

Masonic Temple, to be erected at the corner of Illinois and North 
streets, will be one of the most beautiful structures of the kind in the 
country. The building is designed along classic lines in the Greek-Ionic 
style, will be very massive and of monumental character. It vi^ill be 
100 feet high, with 150 feet on North street and 130 feet on Illinois 
street. The entire exterior will be of Bedford oolitic stone and the 
structure will be strictly fireproof. There will be two handsome en- 
trances. The buildiug is erected under the direction of the Indian- 
apolis Masonic Temple Association, and the architects are Rubush & 
Hunter of Indianapolis. 

Odd Fellows Building and Grand Lodge Hall, now being erected 
at the corner of Washington and Pennsylvania streets, will be one of 
the most notable additions to the many fine structures that have been 
erected in Indianapolis in recent years. Though it will have thirteen 
stories it will be equivalent in height to a fifteen-story building by rea- 
son of the high auditorium which will occupy the top floor. The twelfth 



52 HYMATS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

floor will be used for Grand Lodge offices and the top floor will contain 
an auditorium to seat 1,500 persons. The exterior is to be entirely of 
oolitic limestone which will be enriched by carvings, executed in a bold 
and artistic manner, and so distributed throughout the design as to 
give the building a sense of good taste and refinement The main en- 
trance is at the north end of the building on Pennsylvania street and 
will be expressed by a massive stone entrance enriched by beautifully 
wrought cartings and the doors will be entirely of bronze metal. Rubush 
& Hunter of Indianapolis are the architects. 

Indiana Pythian Building, which was dedicated August 14, 1907, is 
located at the intersection of Pennsylvania street and Massachusetts 
avenue. It is one of the monuments that marks the new building era 
of the city and accentuates the marked difference in the appearance of 
the "down-town district" that has occurred in recent years. 

Lemcke Building is one of the city's most popular and attractive 
office buildings. It is located on the northeast comer of Pennsylvania 
and Market streets, the very center of the financial district of Indian- 
apolis. It was erected in 1896 by Hon. Julius A. Lemcke, formerly 
treasurer of the state of Indiana. Owing to the great demand for 
rooms in the building it was remodeled and three stories were added 
to it in 1906, together with the most complete and modern elevator 
service and office conveniences. The management of this building is 
particularly noted for tbe excellent service and attention given to its 
tenants. The building consists of ten stories, of steel construction, 
faced with red pressed brick, and is very attractive in appearance. 




STREETS, AVENUES, PARKS, DRIVES, MONUMENTS, STATUES 
FOUNTAINS, ETC. 

In Indianapolis the center of attraction is Monument Place. Orig- 
inally it was known as the Circle, and was designed by those who made 
tl:o Drst plat of the city as the spot upon which to erect the mansion 

of the executive 
of the state of In- 
diana. Now it is 
the location of the 
greatest m o n u - 
ment in the world 
erected to com- 
memorate the ser- 
vices of its citizen 
soldiery of the 
state, and it is the 
city's chief adorn- 
ment. 
The Indiana 

State Soldiers* 
and Sailors' 
Monument- 
Indianapolis has 
the proud distinc- 
tion of containing 
the first m o n u - 
ment ever erected 
directly in honor 
of the private sol- 
dier. It is also 
one of the few 
real worlds of art 
in this line to be 
found in America. 
It is not a plain 




BYMAN'H HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 




PEACE GROUPS, INDIANA SOLDIERS' AND SAILORS' MONUMENT. 



and unsightly shaft like that on Bunker Hill or in Washington City, 
but is a beautiful obelisk of artistic design. It was designed by Bruno 
Schmidt, the great German architect. Its construction was authorized 
by an act of the general assembly of the state of Indiana, and passed 
at the session of 1887. This act appropriated the sum of $20a,000 to 
defray the cost of erection, and empowered certain of the state officers 



lYMAN'ii HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




w^ 



» iiiijiLM'ffl tfrjt'y 




WAR GROUPS, INDIANA SOLDIERS' AND SAILORS' MONUMENT. 

to appoint five comiiiissioueis who should have charge of the work. In 
addition to the amount appropriated by the legislature, the sum raised 
by the monument committee of the G. A. R. was paid over to the com- 
missioners to be expended Ijy them. In 1891 the state legislature made 
a further appropriation of $100,000 to aid in the construction. It was 
completed at a cost in excess of $500,000 and was dedicated with fitting' 



HiiiAXi:; UAyniJuuK of ixdiaxapolis. 

ceremonies, attended by 
thousands of citizens 
from all parts of the 
state. May 15. 1902. It 
is consti'ucted of Indi- 
ana oolitic limestone. 
The park in which it 
stands has an area of 
3.12 acres, and lies at 
the intersection of Me- 
ridian and Market 
streets. It is surrounded 
by a circular street, 
paved with asphalt. 
There are four a p- 
proaches to the monu- 
ment from the surround- 
i n g street, the ap- 
proaches on the north 
and south sides leading 
directly to the stairway 
liy which the terrace 
.■surrounding the base of 
the pedestal shaft is 
reached. The monument, 
including the crowning 
figure, is 284y3 feet in 
height. The top of the 
' ' _ _- monument is reached by 

GEORGE ROGERS CLARK. siu clevator aud stair- 

way from the base of 
the interior of the shaft, xi. magnificent view of the city of Indianapolis 
and the surrounding country is obtained from the top of the monument. 
Monuments to Notable Men— Four epochs in the history of Indiana 
are commemorated by bronze statues of representative men of the 
times occupying ijositions around the monument between the converg- 
ing points of the intersecting streets. These are the period of the 
Revolution, represented by a statue of George Rogers Clark; the war 
with Mexico, by a statue of Governor Whitcomb; the war of 1812 and 
tlie Battle of Tippecanoe, by the statue of William Henry Harrison; 
and the war for the Union by Indiana's great war governor, Oliver P. 
::orton. 

George Rogers Clark Statue stands on the northwest of the monu- 
ment and represents that dauntless commander leading his Ijttle band 





':i^^^^^ 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOUS. 



of meu to the capture of Port Sackville from the hands of the British. 
To Clark, more than to any other man, is the United States indebted 
for the acquisition of the territory northwest of the Ohio river. The 
statue was designed by John H. '.lahoney, of Indianapolis. 

William Henry Harrison Statue occupies a position northeast of 
the soldiers' monument and is a fitting memorial of the period of the 
Revolutionary war. General Harrison was appointed first governor of 
Indiana territory in 1800, and during the twelve years he served as 
executive of the embryo state he extinguished the Indian titles to 
more than twenty-nine million acres of land now inchided in the state 
of Indiana. His campaign against the Indians culminated in the liat- 
tle of Tippecanoe. November 7. ISll. This statue was designed by 
.John H, Mahoney. of Indianapolis. 
James Whitcomb 

Statue 
Comm, 



lor a tes 
the third period in 
the military his- 
t o r y of Indiana, 
and stands to the 
southwest of the 
monument. Dur- 
ing his adminis- 
tration the war 
with Mexico oc- 
curred, lasting 
through the years 
1S4G-47-48. D u r- 
iug the six years 
lie served as gov- 
ernor of Indiana 
he did much to re- 
store the state's 
credit, which had 
l)een impaired by 
the failure of the 
internal improve- 
ment system, and 
it was largely 
through his ef- 
forts that a senti- 
ment was created 
among the people 
in favor of the es- 




SQVERNOn JAMES I 




HENDRIC:;S MONUMENT ON STATE-HOUSE GROUNP?, 



60 BYMAyjS HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAl'OLIS. 

tablishment of Ijenevoleut .111(1 reformatory institutions. This statue 
^vas designed by John H. JIahoney, of Indianapolis. 

Oliver P. Morton Statue stands to the southeast of the soldiers' 
Monument. After the death of Governor Morton, in 1877, his friends 
oonccived the plan of erecting a .statue in Indianapolis, in conimemora- 




.lAM HENRY HARRISON. 



tion of his inestimable service during the war for the Union; and to 
carry this plan into effect the "Morton Memorial Association" was or- 
ganized. A bronze statue of Governor Morton was cast, for which 
tlie association paid .$14,000. By the authority of the legislature the 
statue was placed in the center of Circle Park, where it stood until the 
erection of the soldiers' uiouument, when it was removed to the south- 



G2 



HXMAN'H UA^iUUOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



east to represent the fourth period in the military history of the state. 
He will be known to future generations, as he is to the present, as 
Indiana's great war governor. This statue was designed by Franlilin 
Simnions. of Rome, Italy, and was cast there. 

Schuyler Colfax Statue— The first citizen of Indiana to reach the 
vice-presidential chair was Schuyler Colfax, who had served three 
terms as speaker of the national house of representatives. He was a 
leading- member of the Odd Fellows, and to his memory that organiza- 



ity Park. It was erected in 



tion has erected a bronze statue in Univeri 
ISS". The designer was Laredo Taft, of 
Chicago. 

Thomas A. Hendricks Statue — Gov- 
ernor, senator and vice-president of the 
United States, Thomas A. Hendricks was 
one of the distinguished sons of Indiana, 
and to him the people of the state have 
erected a bronze statue in the southeast 
corner of the state-house grounds. It 
was erected by popular subscription, and 
unveiled in .July, 1890. The statue itself 
is fourteen feet six inches high, and the 
monument as a whole has a height of 
thirty-eight feet six inches. The statue 
is of bronze; the pedestal is of Bavano 
granite from the quarries at Lake Mag- 
giore, Italy. Two allegorical statues rep- 
resenting "History" and "Peace"' .stand 
upon the base of the monument to its 
right and left. The monument was de- 
signed by R. H. Parks, of Florence, 
Italy. 

Statue of Gen. Henry W. Lawton, 
who fell at San Mateo, Philippine Islands, 
December 1!>, 1899, stands on the south- 
west corner of the county court house grounds. It was unveiled May 
30, 1907, with mast inpressive services, attended by President Roose- 
velt, and was built as a tribute to the memory of General Lawton by 
the people of Indiana. It was designed by the noted sculptor ISiehaus. 

Monument to Governor Morton, which stands at the east entrance 
to the state house, was unveiled July 2."?, 1907. It is the second statue 
erected in the city, and is a tribute of the state to the memory of the 
groat "War Governor." Through the efforts of the 6. A. R. a bill was 
passed by the legislature of 1905 apiirojiriatiug $35,000 for the purpose. 
The figure was designed by Rudolph Schwartz. 





GENERAL HENRY W. LAWTON. 



64 



BYMANS HANDBOOK OF lyDIAXAPOLIS. 



The Park System — Indianapolis began the work of building parks 
on a systematic plan in 1895, when J. Clyde Power was appointed pari; 
engineer. 

Riverside Park is the largest and most pretentious park in the city. 
The lauds embraced by it were purchased in 1S98 and contain 950 
acres. White river runs through the park, the water of which is util- 
ized for boating pui-poses by the erection of a substantial dam, which 
is one of the handsomest masonry structures of its kind in the coun- 
try. A splendid boulevard stretches along the river bluffs within the 
park, golf links have been established, and the club house of the Canoe 
club is located here. One of the most entertaining features of this park 
is the collection of birds and animals. 




UNIVERSITY SQUARE. 



Garfield Park is located in the southeastern section of the city and 
contains about 108 acres. It is one of the most pleasing bits of land- 1 
scape in the city. ' 

Military Park lies between New York street and the Indiana Cen- j 
tral canal on the north and south, and West and Blackford streets on 
the east and west, and includes fourteen acres. In the early days of the j 
city's history it was known as the "Military Reservation." and was the j 
place where the militia musters were held. All the military companies : 
of the city during the pioneer days camped an^ di'illed there, and at 




' 2 ^ U ^' ' 

[d o iS 1^1 itt 




ODD FELLOWS BUILOINQ. 



68 HYMAS'ti HASUBOOK OF ISUIAyAl'OLIH. 

the time of the Blackliawk outbreak 300 Indiana militia camped there 
beiore marching to Chicago. It was also the first camping ground of 
Indiana's quota of six regiments under President Lincoln's first call 
for troops, and throughout the war it was used as a camp ground. The 
park was then known as Camp Sullivan. Many of the old forest trees 
still stand, with some hundreds of younger growth. A large fountain 
is situated in the center of the park at the meeting place of the con- 
verging pathways. 




RIVERSIDE PARK. 



University Square comprises four acres, lying between Pennsyl- 
vania and Jloridian streets on the east and west, and Vermont and 
New York streets on the north and south. It was the site of a univer- 
sity that flourished from 1S34 to 1846, and thus acquired its name. A 
statue of Schuyler Colfax stands in the southwe.stern side. 

St. Clair Square adjoins the grounds of the Institution for the 
Blind on the north, from Meridian to Pennsylvania streets, extending 
to St. Clair street. It is four aci-es in extent, and in its center there is 
a fountain. Ueaohed by North Pennsylvania street cars. 

Brookside Park is one of the new additions to the park areas, and 
is located in the eastern part of the city. It contains about 80 acres 
of beautifully wooded land. 




VIEW ON CYCLE PATH AND CANAL. 



68 HYMAytl HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. ' 

Highland Square, formerly the old Noble homestead, corner of Mar- 
lowe and Highland avenues, is one of the prettiest small parks in tlio 
city. 

Indianola Place Is located on the west side of the river on Washing- 
ton street and contains two acres. 

Spades Place, containing about 10 acres, 8 acres of which were 
donated to the city for parli purposes by M. H. Spades, a well-known 
liusincss man. is located in the eastern part of the city. 




MORTON MONUMENT ON STATE HOUSE GROUNDS. 



ether Parks and Park Places are Elmwood Place, Fletcher Place, 
Greenlawn, ilcCarty Place, Morris Park, Morton Place, Wayne Place 
and Hendricks Place. 

Fairview Park is the most popular outing place near Indianapolis. 
It is the property of the street ear company, is located seven miles 
northwest of the city and is a beautiful e.xpanse of aliout 20O acres of 
wooded hills and ravines overlooking White river and the Indiana Cen- 
tral canal. Ample street car service is maintained rogrlarly btween 
the park and the city, sufficient to handle the large crowds that attend 
it. The park is well supplied with amusement features, and a well- 
stocked restaurant conducted at popular prices. 




VIEW ON CYCLE PATH AND CANAL. 



70 HYM.WS HASDBOOK OF IS DIASAPOLIS. 

""horough fares — This city can lay claim to having some of- the 
..aidsomesl streets iind avenues of any city in the countrj'- In the 
original platting tlie streets were made broad, but some have been nar- 
rovi-ed in recent years. 

Washington Street is the main street of the city running east and 
west. It is 120 feet from curb to curb, with sidewalks of proportionate 
width. Along this street from Capitol avenue, on the west, to Alabama, 
on the east, is conducted the leading retail trade of the city. It is 
crossed at right angles by numerous streets, and from it running to 
the southeast and to the southwest are two broad avenues. Many of 
the business blocks are of modern style and structure and some of 
them are very iniposinj; in appearance. The extreme width of the street 




BOULEVARD IN RIVERSIDE PARK. 



and the sidewalks makes it a gi'and avenue for parades. Notwithstand- 
ing the retail business transacted on the street is very large it never 
has the appearance of being crowded. This, with nearly all the prin- 
cipal streets of the city, is paved with asphaltum. but some of the 
residence streets are paved with cedar blocks, and a few wiih brick. 

Meridian Street is divide<l into two parts, north and south, the 
dividing line lieing Washington .street. It is the center street of the 
original plat of the city, and extends from the extreme southern part 
to the extreme northern, a distance of nearly seven miles, .^outh Me- 




lEW IN FLETCHER AVENUE. 



72 



BiilAX-H HAyDUOUK OF IXDIAXAl'OLIS. 



ridlan street from Washington to the Union railway traclis is devoted 
almost exclusively to the wholesale trade. Nearly all the buildings are 
of modern style and conveniences. North Meridian sti'eet, from Ohio 
to the extreme northern limit of the city, is devoted to residences and 
churches. It is beautifully shaded thi-oughout its entire length, and 
in the summer time jjresents a beautiful woodland scene. The resi- 
dences are all set back some distance from the street, having well- 
shaded and well-cared-for lawns in front of them, giving to each one of 
tlieni a villa-lilve appearance. 



I^jp-f'-iar-v:---: . -s - t ^r-MTSH---^ />' i?-3BC». 


,i«rf(|i 


; ., jiiiS:-a-: ■! 


^'m». ' " -- ■'^ 



LOCKERBIE STREET. 



Delaware Street, that section lying to the north of Massachusetts 
avenue, is notable not only for the reason that it is one of the most 
beautiful residence sti-eets in the country, but also for the fact that the 
house of ex-President Harrison is situated there. This particular spot 
is the Mecca of all visitors to the city. 

North Capitol Avenue is the only boulevarded street in the city, and 
its firmly laid macadam roadway, extending for three miles through 
one of the most beautiful sections of the city, is inviting to those who 
delight to drive. The homestead of the late Vice-President Hendricks 
is located on the southern end of this street, opposite the State-house. 

Lockerbie Street— A little street that has become famous because 
of its association with the Hoosier poet, whose home is situated in it, 











~ :• •:-•«"' ^mSi'^^A. ' '■^£&(^.m^^^^^^^M 


^te- 



VIEW IN MORTON PLACE. 




VIEW IN NORTH SENATE AVENUE. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXD1ANAP0LI8. 




SCENE ON CYCLE PATH, ROAD TO MILLERSVILLE 



S.."^ RHe^^Vf '*• ""1 ''°"" ^"' '''''' ""''' ^-' *-«°^^ y-- or more. 
.MI. Ixileys diseoverr of Lockerbie sfrppt imTi,.„c,„i u- 

oW-fashioned houses. The march of improvement has not marred Tts 
or.gmal quaintness and beauty and it is yet as ^hen he wro^e 
'■O, my Loekerbiestreet! You are fair to be seen- 
Be It noon of the day or the rare and serene 
Afternoon of the nigbt-you are one to my heart 
And I love you above all the phrases of art 
For no Inn^age could frame and no lips could repeat 
My rliyme-haunted raptures of Lockerbie street!" 

^treTlX^"v'''T •'^'••'/r'^^^'^-"--^- Alabama and New Jersev 
stre<ts and r.iiU. I.roadway. College and Central avenues. 



CATHEDRALG. CrIUJJCilES, SYNAGOGUES AND OTHER PLACES OF RELIGIOUS 

WORSHIP AND WORK— INSTITUTIONS AND ASSOCIATIONS FOR THE 

POOR AND UNFORTUNATE— LAST RESTING PLACES. 

Inclinna l;as from the earliest years of its pioneer history given due 
r.ttiution to tlie vital matters of morals and religion. In the early 
French occuijation the missionary jsriest was always the pioneer, who 
was on the ground long before the immigrants appeared. In the Amer- 
ican settleiiitnt of the west the settler came first, l)Ut as .soon as a small 
community liad been formed the earnest pioneer preacher, full of fervor 
and ;ieal, -nould come to call the people to a realizati(m of their spiritual 
needs. In the autumn of 1S21— the city having lieen laid out in April— 
the people of the newly incubated metropolis had the gospel preached 
to them by ministers of three denominations. Either Rezin Hammond, 
a Methodist circuit rider, of John McCinng, of the New Light school, 
can be claimed as having been the first to preach in Indianapolis. They 
came about the same time in 1821, and accounts vary as to which was 
the earliest, but both came before the Rev. Ludlow G. Haines, of the 
Presbyterian church. 

The First Presbyterian Church is one of tlie religious landmarks of 
the city, and with it is associated the early history of Presbyterianism 
in this state. The first Presbyterian sermon was preached in this city 
in a grove south of the present state-house square by Rev. Ludlow O. 
Haines, and in 1S22 Rev. David C. Proctor was engaged as missionary 
for one year. The first church was organized and tlie first house of 
worship built in 1823. The second one was built in 1842 and was dedi- 
cated May 6, 18-13; it was located on the northeast corner of Market 
street and the Circle. In 18(i-i the foundation was laid for the third 
edifice that stood on the corner of New York and Pennsylvania streets, 
until 1901, when it was sold and torn down to make room for the new 
federal building, and in October, 1903. dedicated the new church on 
Sixteenth and Delaware streets. The plans embrace the best architec- 
tural features in the way of arrangement, lighting, heating and ven- 
tilating. It is one of the finest contributions to church architecture in 
the city. 



7C HYMAX'8 HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 




CHRIST CHURCH. 



SECOND PRESBYTEniAN CHURCH, 



The Second Presbyterian Church is located on the northwest cor- 
Ber of A ermont and Pennsylvania streets. The society was formed in 
808 and occupied the Marion county seminary that stood on the south- 
west corner of University square until 1860. The Rev. Henry Ward 
Beecher was the first to officiate. After occupying the seminarv"for one 
year the congregation moved to its own church on the northwest corner 
of Market street and the Circle. On September 19, lSi7, Mr. Beecher 
c osed his pastorate and removed to Brooklyn, N. T. The beautiful 
stone edifice now occupied was opened for worship December ->-> 1867 
It was begun in 18W and the completed edifice was dedicated January 
9 18<0. In April, 1872, the National Sunday School convention met in 
this church and adopted the uniform Sunday school lesson system that 
is now used by 25.000.000 people throughout the world. There are fif- 
teen other Presbyterian churches in the city. 

Christ Church, Protestant Episcopal, is located on the northeast 
corner of Monument Place and Meridian street. This is one of the oldest 
and most strikingly handsome shrines of worship in the citv. It is an 
example of the early English or plain-pointed styles of architecture. A 
notable feature of the building is the fine tower and spire that contain 
the chimes which ring out in the successive seasons of festival and fast. 




THE 6ABLIEST CHURCHES IN 1854. 



78 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDlANAFOLlti. 

The parish and cougregation of Christ church have been in existence 
since 1837. Its first shrine was built in 1838, which gave way for the 
present structure in 1857. 

St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Cathedral is located on the south- 
east corner of New York and Illinois streets. The style of the archi- 
tecture is the rural English Gothic of the twelfth century. The exterior 




PAUL'S EPISCOPAL CATHEDRAL. 



views of the building are striking. This parish was organized in 1866. 
The erection of the cathedral began iu the spring of 1S67 and opened for 
worship June, 18GS. Ot this denomination there are five other places 
of worship. 

First Baptist Church— The first assemblage of Baptists held in this 
city for the purpose of establishing a church was iu August, 1822. The 
first meeting house was built in 1820. which was replaced by another 
more pretentious one that was destro.ved by fire in ISGl. It was then 
that the site for the brick church was purcliased, which was located on 
the present site of the Star office. This building was destroyed by fire 
January 3, 1904, and the present imposing structure, northeast corner 
of Meridian and Vermont, was dedicated in November, 1906. There are 
fourteen shriues of worship of this church in this city. 



HYMAys HAl^'DBOOK OF lyDIAXAI'OLIH. 79 

Mayflower Congregational Church, on the corner of Delaware aiul 
Sixteenth streets, is one of the notable places of worship; It was or- 
ganized May 23, 1869. This denomination is represented by eiglit or- 
ganizations in this city having houses of worship. 

Meridian=Street M. E. Church is located on the northeast comer 
of Meridian and St Clair streets. This edifice replaces the one formerly 
located at the corner of New Yorlc and Meridian streets, wliich was de- 
stroyed by fire November 17, 1904. The church society, long linown as 
the Wesley Chapel M. E. ch\irch, was the pioneer organization of the 
Methodist denomination in this city, of which the present Meridian 
street church is the continuation. 

Roberts Park M. E. Church is located on the northeast corner of 
Vermont and Delaware streets. The society was organized October, 
lSi2. by a division of the then called Wesley chapel, now the Meridian- 
Street M. E. church. Tlie society was energetic from the first and 
erected soon after its organization a church on the northeast corner of 




ROBERT.S PARK M. E. CHURCH. 



Pennsylvania and Market streets. It was christened Roberts chapel, in 
honor of the famous Bishop Roberts. This building was for a long 
time a religious landmark, but finally gave way to the march of com- 
merce in 1868. The present imposing structure was completed in 1870. 




SS. PETER AND PAUL CATHEDRAL. 



CentraUAvenue M. E. Church Is one of the youngest churches in 
the city. It was organized in 1877 by a union of Trinity and Massa- 
chusetts avenue churches. The church has had a phenomenal growth, 
and is now the largest of all the Methodist churches. It is favorably 
situated in the best residence part of the city amid the beautiful homes 
of thriving business and professional men, of which class it has gained 
its membership. The auditorium of the building it occupies was com- 
l)leted in 1S95, and is a model of beauty and utility. The Sunday-school 
buiJdiiig was erected in 1S9S, and is probably not equaled for the pur- 
pose for which it was designed in the state. There are thirty-four 
churches devoted to this denomination in the city. 

Catholic Churches — The history of the Catholic church in Indiana 
begins with the foundation of the territory known as the state of In- 
diana. Indiana originally pertained tc the jurisdiction of the diocese of 
Bardstown, now Louisville, Kentucliy. The Catholic diocese in Indiana 
was established in 1834 and was known as the "Diocese of Vincennes," 
where the bishop resided. It embraced not only the entire state of In- 
diana. Init also a part of Michigan and Illinois. In 1857 the state was 
divided into two dioceses — ^the northern, called the diocese of Ft. Wayne, 



HYMAN'S HAXDBOOK OF IXDIAyAPOLIS. 




FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 



and the southern retaiuing the name of Viiioennes, which was changed 
to ludiaiuipolis iu ISiJo. 

1 he rirsi, record of any Catholic service in Indianapolis was the cele- 
bration of mass in "Power's Tavern," on West Washington street, by 
Rev. Claude Francois, a missionary among the Indians at Logansport. 
This was in 1835, and there were present but eight or ten persons. In 
1837 Rev. Viucent Bacquelin rented a small room on West Washington 
street and had services once a month on Sunday. In 1840 he bought 
a lot and erected a small frame church, which was called the Church of 
the Holy Cross. It was situated, as nearly as can now be ascertained, 
near the corner of California and llarket streets, south of the present 
Military park. Father Bacquelin continued to attend Indianapolis, as 
a uiissionarj' station, from St. Vincent's until his death in 184(3. Ro- 
turniiig from a sick call in Itush county, he vyas thrown from his horse 
and was instantly killed. P.ishop de la Haillandiere, who succeeded 
Bishop Brute, foresaw the importance of Indianapolis as a Catholij 
center, and in 1847 made large purchases of real estate for church pur- 
poses. He bought the quarter square at the corner of Georgia street and 
capitol avenue, and also lots upon Maryland street, where St. Mary's 
church now stands. He also acquired a large plot of ground on North 

[«] 



82 HYMANS HAliDBOOK OF IXDIANAFOLIS. 

Peunsylvania street for a Catholic college, and gave it over to the Fa- 
thers of the Holy Cross, under Father Sorin. The Fathers of the Holy 
Cross made a small beginuiug, but afterwards moved to St. Joseph 
comity, where they established Notre Dame University, now the largest 
Catholic institution of learning in America. The only reminder of this 
first educational venture iu Indianapolis are the names of two Streets 
crossmg reunsylvauia — St. Mary's and St. Joseph streets. 

St. John's Cathedral— The first resident Catholic pastor in Indian- 
apolis \\as Kev. John Guegueu, who came here in March, 1848. The 
property iu Georgia street had been purchased by Bishop Haillandiere 
in 1846 ; upon this property, in 1850, Father Gueguen built a small brick 
church, facing on Georgia street, upon the spot where St. John's clergy 
house now stands. The new church was named St. John's, In 1853 Rev. 
Daniel Maloney succeeded as pastor and continued until the arrival of 
Rev. Aug. Bessonies, in November, 1S5T. The followmg year Father 
Bessonies erected a handsome bricli building, at the corner of Georgia 
street and Capitol avenue, as an academy for young l«dies. In 1872 the 
present St. John's academy, the oldest Catholic institution in the city, 
was erected by the Sisters of Trovideuce. In ISGT the old St. John's 
church, which had twice been enlarged, was found too small for the rapid 
growth of the congregation. The present imposing edifice was begun 
1867, and was ready for occupancy in 1871. It is one of the largest 
churches in the state. The spires and the interior, however, were not 
completed until 189?>. Father Bessonies had in the meantime become a 
monsignore. In 1890, after having completed fifty years of hard work 
in the priesthood, he resigned his pastoral chai-ge, but continued to re- 
side with Bishop Chatard until his death, February 22, 1901. He was 
a man beloved by all classes of people for his amiable disposition and 
kindness of heart. He v.as buried in St. John's church, in a crypt 
erected for the purpose. A handsome nmral tablet over the crypt marks 
his resting place, with the splendid church which he erected as his 
monument Father Bessonies saw the Catholic church in Indianapolis 
grow from one struggling congregation to eleven strong churches, with 
schools and charitable institutions which are the pride of that denomi- 
nation. Father Bessonies was succeeded in 1890 by the present rector. 
Rev. Francis Henry Gavisk, who had been his assistant for five years 
before becoming rector. 

SS. Peter and Paul Cathedral— In 1890 Bishop Chatard erected an 
episcopal residence at the corner of Meridian and Fourteenth streets, 
with a view to build a cathedral at some remote time. At the same 
time he built a small chapel, known as SS. Peter and Paul chapel, as 
one of the chapels of the future cathedral. The congregation attached 
to this chapel grew so rapidly that it is now one of the largest and by 
far the wealthiest of the Catholic congregations in the city. The 



HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF lyDIANAPOLIS. 83 

cathedral was finished imd dedicated December. lt)0(>. There are twelve 
Catholic churohes in the city. 

Indianapolis Hebrew Congregation occupy one of the most im- 
posing shrines of worsliip in the city. It is one of the late additions 
to the long list of splendid examples of church architecture. It was 
completed in 1899. This congregation was organized in 1855, when it 
purchased three and one-half acres of ground south of the city dedi- 
cated to the use of a cemetery. The new temple was dedicatd Xovem- 




JEWISH TEMPLE. 



ber 3, 1899. A notable evnt in the history of this congregation is the 
closing of the service of Rablii M. Messing, who has served continuously 
since 1SG8, and in point of service is the oldest rabbi in the United 
States. He retired to become the rabbi emeritus of the congregation. 
There are four otlier Hebrew congregations in the city. 

Other Churches — Beside those enumerated, almost every denomi- 
national form has a rejiresentative congregation and a place of wor- 
ship. There are 175 congregations in this city, with a membership o-f 
more than 70,000. 

Young Men's Christian Association of Indianapolis was organized 
December 12. 1S54. In tlie long years of its existence its influence for 
good has been demonstrated in thousands of instances. The public ap- 



84 HYMA\;S lIAyUBOOK OF INDIAXAPOLIS. 

preciation of the beueficeut work of this organization was shown in aj 
practical way by subscribing over $250,000 in 1907 to a fund to further 
its worli and extend its influence. 

The Young Women's Christian Association was organized in 1870, , 
It maintains amply supplied reading rooms and library, a fine gym-j 
nasium, etc. There are also classes in German, literature, sewing, etc 
The association will erect a new building with the fund that was sub- 
scribed for that purpose in 1007 by the people of Indianapolis- 
Charities — Several charities are carried on by private contributions, 
some of which are connected with special churches, while others are 
noa-sectarian. These include homes for orphans, home for friendless 
women, homes for aged poor, a summer sanatorium for the benefit of 
Kick children, and other organizations of a benevolent character for the 
relief of the poor and suffering. In religious endeavor and humani- 
tarian effort, no less than material progress, Indianapolis is representa- 
tive of the best ideals and most useful activities. 

Charity Organization Society — This important organization has 
been in existence since 1879. It was organized in the law oflSce of 
General Benjamin Harrison, and until the time of his death no one 
gave greater strength and character to the work than he. Due to this 
society it is that the distribution of charity in Indianapolis is done upon 
a scientific and businesslike basis. Through its operations the worthy 
indigent is enabled to receive relief promptly, and professional mendi- 
cancy has been almost obliterated in this community. It is the execu- 
tive headquarters for the distribution and direction of the charitable 
work of the most notable benevolent organizations in the city. 

Indianapolis Benevolent Society was organized Thanksgiving 
evening. November, ISo.j. The funds of the society are used for food, 
fuel and clothing, supplementing the relief of the township trustee. 
Flower Jlission, German Ladies' Aid Society, etc. 

The Flower Mission cares for the sick only. It usually falls to 
this society to step in where there is no other source of relief, and it is 
the one society in the circle of charities which must always be kept in 
funds. 

German Ladies' Aid Society assists the poor among their own 
people. 

Catholic Charitable Institutions — In addition to the church estab- 
lishment with their schools and halls, the Catholic Church has in In- 
dianapolis a hospital — St. Vincent's — one of the best equipped and con- 
ducted institutions in the country, a home for the aged conducted by the 
Little Sisters of the Poor, an industrial school for orphan girls and a 
House of Good Shepherd for fallen women and girls. 

The Hebrew Charities are administered through the Federation of 
Jr.vish Charities. Among the notable charities maintained in this city 



HYMAys HAXDBOOK OF lynfANAFOLIS. 




FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH. 



by the Jewish people are a foster home for the care of children, a shel- 
ter house, the Hebrew Ladies' Benevolent Society and a uotaljle organi- 
zation of a sociable and educational character known as the Nathan 
Morris House. 

Orphan Asylums — Several orphan asylums are maintained in tho 
city. The Indianapolis Orphan Asylum was incorporated in 1851 ; tin- 
German General Protestant Orphans' Home, which is under the suiier- 
vision of tho German Protestants of the city; the German Lutheran 
Orphans' Home, which is supervised by the German Lutherans of the 
city, and Home for Friendless Colored Children. 

Board of Children's Guardians is a board authorized by the laws 
of the state to rescue children from vicious and immoral parents and 
place them in homes. 

Alpha Home is for aged colored women who are homeless and 
friendless. 

The County Poor Asylum is located northwest of the city, and the 
Poor Farm covers 220 acres. 

Home for Friendless Women was organized in 1870. It is the old- 
est oraunization of its kind in the city. It is a temporary home for 
homeless women out of work and a permanent home for aged women. 



HTMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 





EAST ENTRANCE CROWN 



Rescue Mission and Home looks after the welfare of unfortunates 
and carries on evangelistic work in its building at 47 and 49 East South 
street. 

The Friendly Inn is an institution on West Market street where 
transients or tramps are taken care of. It feeds and lodges without 
question, but demands that some work must be dcttie for the help given. 

Summer Mission for Sick Children — This is one of the gi'eatest 
charities in Indianapolis, and is conducted for tlie benefit of sick and 
weakly children and mothers who need an outing. The hospital and 
grounds are situated in Fairview Park, where ground privileges and 
free transportation are furnished by the street railway company. 

Other Notable Charity Organizations are Maternity Committee of 
Plymouth Church, which furnishes clothing for infants, the Woman's 
Relief Corps, Day Nursery for Working Mothers, the Bureau of Justice. 
Indiana Humane Society, the Flanuer Guild and the township trustee, 
who affords official relief to all who may after Investigation be found 
worthy of assistance. 

Children's Aid Society — This organization endeavors to find em- 
ployment for children ; also conducts tlie free bath house located on the 
canal. The society secured the old Schissel bath house through the 



88 HYMANS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. j 

generous donation of $1,500 made by Hon. William L. Taylor, of In- 
dianapolis. 

"Christamore" — The college settlement located on Columbia ave-i 
nue was established in 1905 in the neighborhood of the Atlas engine 
works. It conducts clubs and classes for children and women, library 
work, socials, Sunday meetings, relief, neighborhood calls, kindergarten 
classes and other forms of settlement work. 

Crown Hiil Cemetery — This is one of the most beautiful and inter- 
esting resting places of the dead in the country. The organization hav- 
ing control of it was founded in ISCo and the cemetery was dedicated 
in 1864. It is located about three miles northwest from the center of 
the city and embraces over 5-10 acres. It contains the national ceme- 




WEST ENTRANCE CROWN HILL. 

tery, in which are buried the Union soldiers who died in Indianapolis 
and those whose bodies were brought here for interment There among 
the soldiers for whose welfare he worked so tirelessly lies the body 
of Governor Oliver P. Morton ; also that of Thomas A. Hendricks, vice- 
president of the United States, and President Benjamin Harrison. 

Other Cemeteries are the Roman Catholic, Lutheran, Jewish and 
Greenlawn. The latter is no longer used as a place of burial, but is 
maintained as a park. 




BOARD OF HEALTH AND HEALTH STATISTICS, HOSPITALS, CURATIVE 

INSTITUTIONS, INSANE AND OTHER ASYLUMS. 

The general sanitary condition of Indianapolis is very good and the 
annual death rate of 13.61 in 1,000 is very much lower than that of 
many other American cities. During the year 1907 there were 2,975 
deaths from all causes. Of these there were 239 deaths from violent 
cau.'-es, such as suicides, homicides and accidents, with which the sani- 
tary and general health conditions of the city have nothing to do. Fig- 
ui-ing the deatu rate upon the basis of the last United States census, no 
city in the conntry of an equal size and population can produce better 
evidence of good sanitary conditions. 

The Department of Public Health and Charities consists of a board 
of three comuussiouers. who are practicing physicians, appointed by 
the mayor at a salary of $100. They have charge of all matters relating 
TO the public health and the enforcement of all laws in relation thereto, 
including the charge of the city hospital, city dispensary and all other 
city charities. The commissioners appoint the superintendents of the 
city -hospital and the city dispensary, also the secretary of the board 
of health, who is health officer, with a salary of .1!2,000 a year. The 
commissioners nominate, for appointment by the boards of public safety 
as special sanitary olficers, skilled and competent persons for live stock 
and meat inspectors and food inspectors, garbage inspectors, water in- 
spectors, etc., whose duty it is to carefully inspect all food supplies 
offered for sale in the city and to examine into the sanitary condition 
of all places where food products are prepared or offered for sale. 
There are thirteen sanitary officers under the control of the board of 
health. 

The Quarantine Service is under the control of the department oy 
public health and charities. The city council appropriates a special 
fund for the prevention of the spread of contagious diseases. 

Hospitals — There are many hospitals in Indianapolis, including the 
institutions for the insane, the blind and deaf and dumb, that are sup- 
ported by the state. They are as finely equipped and as ably conducted 
.as any iu the counti-j', and there is no kind of bodily suffering that 
may not find sUillfu; treatment and kindly nursing in one or the other 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




INDIANA INSTITUTE FOR THE BLIND. 



of these healing institutions, where the most eminent physicians and 
surgeons give freely of their time ami sldll. The wealthy patient may 
command all the luxuries a fine private home could give, and the poor 
man may enjoy comforts and conveniences not possible in his condition. 

The City Hospital is under the control of a superintendent ap- 
pointed by the department of public health and charities, assisted by 
internes who are graduates from the regular medical colleges and are 
selected by a competent board of examiners appointed by the board of 
health. The city hospital was built in J 856. and its beneiiciaries .-.re 
the sick poor of the city. The Indianapolis Training School for Nurse:: 
is conducted in this institution under the charge of the hospital au- 
thorities. 

Eleanor Hospital belongs to and is controlled by the Flower Mis- 
sion, and is maintained by public subscription. It is a private hospital 
for sick children of the poor and is located at 1S06 North Capitol avenue. 

Protestant Deaconess Home and Hospital is conducted under the 
auspices of the German Protestants. It is located on North Capitol 
avenue in one of the finest hospital buildings iu the city. Patients are 
received from any place. 



HYMAX\^ IIASDUOOK OF IVDIAI^APOLIS. 




PROTESTANT DEACONESS HOSPITAL. 



St. Vincent's Hospital, located on the southeast corner of Dela- 
ware and South streets, is one of the greatest of the institutions erected 
and conducted under the auspices of the Catholic Church in this city. 
It is one of the best equipped and ably conductec^, institutions for heal- 
ing in the country. 

Tlie Methodist Deaconess Hospital, which is located on Sixteenth 
street between Capitol and Senate avenues, is conducted under the 
auspices of the Methodists of Indiana. 

Indiana Institute for the Education of the Deaf and Dumb was 
authorized by act of the legislature of 1844. It is located in the east- 
ern part of the city on Washington street. The grounds contain about 
105 acres, and is one of the most beautiful spots about the city. The 
buildings are large and substantial and -weW fitted for the puiTJOse for 
which they were built. There are over 300 pupils in the institute, with 
twenty-five teachers in the literary department, four industrial and four 
In the training department. 

Central Indiana Hospital for the Insane is one of the most suc- 
cessfullj- administered institutions of the kind in the country. It was 
established by the state in 184", and is located in the western part of 
the city on Washington street. The grounds embrace 160 acres, and 



92 nYMAX'!? HA^'DBOOK OF / Y/»/ l.V.l/'OZ./.< 




CENTRAL INDIANA HOSPITAL FOR INSANE-WOMEN'S BUILDING. 



present a beautiful parklike appearance, adorned with magnificent na- 
tive forest trees, shrubbery and Uowers. The immense buildings occupy 
a blight eminence near the center of the grounds. 

Indiana Institute for the Education of the Blind is situated in the 
center of the most beautiful residence section of the city. The build- 
ings and ground no\v occupy al)out four acres, although there are four 
more acres adjoining to the north that have been converted into a park. 
The institution was founded iu 1S47 by an act of the legislature, and 
thc^ permanent buildings were completed in ('853. The principal build- 
ing is five stories in height, with two four-story wings. 

Asylum for Incurable Insane — In Jlay, 1000, a new asylum for the 
incurable insane was completed at Julietta which has accommodations 
for 150 inmates. The building is fireproof, two stories high and modern 
in every respect. It is equipped with a steam heating, water and light- 
ing plant, and cost in construction 8106,000. The farm which th'e insti- 
tution occupies contains 148 acres and cost $8,857. 

City Dispensary is under the control of a superintendent, who is 
appointed l\v the board of public health and charities, and is assisted 
by five internes. These internes are selected trom the regular medical 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




CITY HOSPITAL. 



colleges by a board of examiners. The dispensary maintains an am- 
bulance service and responds to emergency calls. 

Bobbs' Free Dispensary, in couuectiou with the Medical College 
of Indiana, is located on the northwest corner of Senate avenue and 
Marljet street. 

Dr. W. B. Fletcher's Sanatorium was established in 1888 by Dr. 
W. B. Fletcher for the treatment of nervous and mental disease. This 
place was named Neurouhurst by the doctor, and is now located at the 
corner of East JIarket street and Highland avenue, on high ground, 
eight squares east of the soldiers' and sailors' monument. Here four 
years ago he erected a new building with accommodations for fifty pa- 
tients, which is as completely equipped with all appliances known to 
medical and surgical science as any similar institution in the United 
States. The percentage of euros from this sanatorium lias been notably 
greater than that of any other similar institution in the country. Each 
patient is furnished with a separate room and a special nurse, with 
meals served to order in the room. The fee is from $100 to $200 per 
month. 

Dr. Fletcher associated with bini in establishing the Sanatorium 
Dr, Mary A. Spink, who has for the past twenty years worked side by 



94 BYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

side with him in the labor of ameliorating the suffering of the sick 
and nervous patients brought to the Sanatorium for treatment and 
who will now have complete charge of the medical management of 
th'i institution, which during late years has been incorporated under 
the laws of the State of Indiana, and will be continued as a memorial 
of the labors of Dr. W. B. Fletcher in this line of professional work. 
It was Dr. Fletcher's will that the sanatorium should be continued; 
he so well recognized the necessity for such work as supplementing that 
accomplished by general hospitals and State Institutions. August 18th 
of each year will be celebrated as Founder's Day in the Institution. 

Dr. Fletcher was born in Indianapolis, August 18, 1837. His father, 
Calvin Fletcher, was one of the earliest settlers, locating here in 1821, 
before the settlement had become diguifled by a place on the map. He 
was a lawyer, and at once became prominent not only in his profession, 
but foremost also in the work to advance civilizing influences, notably 
in establishing a public school system and the introduction of the law 
establishing township libraries in every township in Indiana. Dr. 
Fletcher's school career began in a little log school house that was 
located at the spot now marked by the intersection of South and New 
Jersey streets; afterwards in the old seminary then located in the 
University park. In 1S55 he studied, under Agassiz and Tenny, botany, 
zoologj- and other natural sciences and the study of medicine in the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York from 1850-9, gradu- 
ating in 1S59. He returned to Indianapolis and remained until 1861, 
when he was first among those to respond to the call for troops. His 
company was the Sixth Indiana, and he was detailed for duty on the 
staff of General T. A. Morris, and later transferred to the staff of 
General J. J. Reynolds. His war experience was of a brief but thrilling 
order, and before his first year's service he was captured, brought in 
irons beloro General Robert E. Lee, ooiifined in prison, made two at- 
tempts to escape, was wounded in October, 1861, was tried, court- 
martialed, condemned to death and ordered to execution. He was for- 
tunately reprieved by order of General Lee pending an investigation, 
and by a providential occurrence and through the blunder of the notori- 
ous Captain Wirtz, his identity was lost to the confederates as a special 
prisoner. He was paroled and placed in charge of the gangrene hos- 
pital in Richmond, and in March, 1862, was paroled from the service, 
but during the entire war gave his best service to the sanitary com- 
mission, the state or the general government. In 1866-7 Dr. Fletcher 
visited Europe and studied in the hospitals of London, Paris, Glasgow 
and Dublin. For many years he has been professor of various depart- 
ments of the Indiana Medical College ; later of the Central College of 
Physicians and Surgeons, and emeritus professor of nervous diseases 
in the Medical College of Indiana. He was a member of the American 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




"NEURONHURST, " DR. FLETCHER'S SANATORIUM. 



Medical Association, of tlie State Medical Society, the New York Medico- 
Legal Society and of the State Microscopical Society, of which he was 
the first president. He established the city dispensary in 1870, and was 
for many years consulting physician of the city and St. Vincent hospitals. 
In 1S82 he was elected state senator from this county, and in 1883 was 
made supenuttudent of the Indiana Hospital for the Insane. During 



90 UYilAX'S HANDBOOK OF lyDIANAPOLIS. 

his administration tlie iustitution wituessed great progress, the most 
notable innovation being the abolishment of restraint as a means of 
treating insanity, lie \\as the first superintendent to appoint a woman 
physician to have charge of the female patients. He was a liberal con- 
tributor to the literature on the treatment of the insane and other 
branches of medical science. 

Dr. Fletcher died in Florida April 25, 1907, after an illness ex- 
tending through several months, resulting from a stroke of apoplexy 
December, 1905. 

This institution is essentially for the treatment of the sick and 
the nervous, especially for those on the borderland of mental disease, 
whose peculiarities or eccentricities render them less susceptible to 
successful treatment at home, or by the family physician, and those 
cases of paralysis whose helplessness militates against proper care out- 
side a hospital. 

The strictest privacy is observed, and the building is so con- 
structed that there is no objectionable commingling of the various 
classes of patients undergoing treatment. Every effort is made by the 
management to give to each individual case the systematic daily care 
and attention best suited to the requirements of temperament and con- 
stitution, without losing sight of the necessities of restorative treat- 
ment. 

The Sanatorium has a most complete hydrotherapeutic installa- 
tion where the remedial effects of various forms of baths are daily 
used. The methods of these treatments vary from the simplest tubbing 
or shower to a full Turkish bath with needle spray and plunge in the 
swimming pool, or the continuous bath so much used in Eastern Hos- 
pitals. The electrical equipment is complete and up to date, including 
every recognized form of electrical appliance and the use of photo- 
therapy, high frequency, and the restorative light baths of known 
value. 

Systematic exercise is not overlooked, as it witnessed by the com- 
I>letely furnished gymnasium in the building, where patients are given 
individual work by an experienced teacher under the daily supervi- 
sion of the physician in charge. The grounds of the institution are 
large and laid out with a view to afford pleasurable outdoor exercise 
at all times. The \erandas are spacious, affording outdoor exercise 
rooms in day time and, by ingenious adaptation, sleeping accommoda- 
tions at night for nervous patients of tubercular tendency. 

A Training School for Nurses is maintained in connection with the 
Sanatorium in which thirty young men and women are given instruc- 
tion in the scientific care of nervous invalids and in general nursing, 
as well as in giving manual massage. The diplomas given the nurses 
at the end of their three years of training are recognized by the State 
Board for Registration of Nurses, and a state license issued. 



98 BYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

"Norways," Dr. Albert E. Sterne's Sanatorium for Nervous 

Diseases— This institution is most delightfully situated in the eastern 
portion of the city. Before it lies Woodruff parls, with its beautiful j 
drives and homes, its flowers, fountains and trees, making the view 
from the sanatorium particularly pleasant. West of it is Techuical In- 
stitute park — the most beautiful and natural forest of trees in Indian- 
apolis. This large tract of forest protects "Norways" from the warm 
summer winds and dust and odor of the city, so that the atmosphere 
about the institution is especially free from taint during the warm 
summer months. To the north and behind "Norways" lies the Pogue 
run parkway, and further east Brookside park, each within a few 
moments' walk of the institution. At the same time the location of the 
buildings constituting "Norways" is the most salubrious in the city, for 
it is not alone surrounded by natural city parks, but stands upon the 
highest level, within the city limits. However, "Norways" does not 
necessarily feel the need of open or shaded ground aside from its own. 
Its domain comprises two acres of most beautiful lawn and grove. 
Even during the winter there remains the refreshing green of pines 
and hedge about the place. In summer, however, it is at its best as the 
foliage of trees and shrubs, the color and scent of many flowers, ajid the 
numerous comfortable outdoor nooks make it particularly inviting. 
While "Norways" has intrinsic beauty in its outer surroundings, its chief 
charm lies in the luxurious interior arrangements. There is no aspect 
here of the austere hospital, none whatever, save in those portions 
where medical or surgical work is performed. Everything is fitted out 
with a view to the comfort and pleasure of patients, without sacrific- 
ing in the least degree its aim for their thorough scientific treatment. 
The institution is composed of several buildings, some of which are 
isolated and detached, so that complete control and, where desirable, 
complete separation of various classes of patients can be maintained. 
This is an important feature of the institution regime. At no time 
are undesirable patients allowed to mingle with those upon whom the 
slightest deleterious influence might be exerted through contact, nor 
are patients allowed to speak of their troubles or symptoms to each 
other— a habit very commonly found and difficult to curb. The rules 
and regulations governing the sanatorium are as rigidly enforced as 
possible; yet, as these are in no sense severe, no great difficulty is en- 
countered in their enactment. At the same time "Norways" is distinct- 
ly an institution where the patients are most thoroughly treated, and 
while every reasonable effort is made to furnish quiet amusements to 
its clientele, it must not be sought by persons, sick or well, bent upon 
having a good time. It is a place wholly and solely for the care and 
treatment of those who seek a restoration to health and strength. To 



100 



riJ/A.V.V HAXDIiOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 




MENTAL DISEASES. 



this end the sauatorium is particularly devoted. Large and commodious"' 
treatment-rooms, equipped with the finest apparatus, some of which is 
not to be seen elsewhere, are everywhere at hand, and mal^e it easy to 
accomplish any desired method of treatment. Trained nurses and at-' 

tendants min- 
ister to the 
care and wants 
of all patients. 
The patients' 
bedrooms are 
large and airy, 
well ventilated 
and steam 
heated. Elec- 
tric light only 
is used. Every- 
thing necessary 
to the comfort 
and care of 
those used to 
luxury is pro- 
vided. Especial attention is accorded to the cuisine. While "Nor- 
ways" is primarily a sanatorium for the ti-eatment of nervous diseases, 
both medical and surgical, there are usually so many complicating 
features about such cases that, of necessity, almost every variety of 
affection Is encountered and ti'eated at the same time. All forms of 
constitutional maladies are accepted at the institution, notably those 
prone to be benefited or cured by the use of electricity, massage, baths, 
diet, rest and proper care, such as rheumatism, diabetes, stomach 
and kidney ti-oubles, all forms of paralysis and drug addictions. Dur- 
ing recent years the sanatorium has developed an entirely new 
method of treatment, namely, that of the actinic or ultra-violet rays 
of light. It is claimed for this method that it surpasses any other 
in its effect upon constitutional diseases. This is especially true as 
regards the first stages of consumption or any other form of tuber- 
culosis. In the treatment of malignant growths, like cancer, the X-rays 
are employed by experts only. Attention is directed to the new build- 
ing for the care and isolation of selected cases, a model of its kind and 
entirely separated from the rest of the institution. "Norways" was 
established a few years ago by Dr. Albert E. Sterne, and each year has 
added to its success and consetiuent enlargement so that at present it 
is almost quadruple the original size. Dr. Sterne is a graduate of Har- 
vard University and of the TTniversity of Berlin, devoting six and one- 
hall years to the study of medicine in Europe. At pre.sent he is a mem- 



102 HYMAJi'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

ber of many medical and scientific societies, notably of the American 
Medical Association and the American Association for the Advancement 
!f' ^°?- ^^ '^■'** assistant surgeon-general of the National Guard 
on the staff of Governor Durbin. Dr. Sterne holds the professorship 
of nervous and mental diseases at the Indiana Medical College, the 
ci'trhltftuHonf "' °' ''"'''"'" ^'"'^"'■^"^' ^""^ '« consultant to all the 
th J/'! Dr Joseph Eastman Hospital, the first to be established in 
the Stat, and one of t he most complete institutions in the country for 

the treatment of 
the diseases of 
women and for 
general and ab- 
dominal surgerj', 
was established by 
Dr. Joseph East- 
man in 1885. The 
present model ed- 
ifice, located at 
•!">1 N. Delaware 
Sfreet, was erect- 
ed in 1894 at a 
cost of nearly 
?r)0,000.00 and is 
entirely devoted 
to the uses of the 
hospital. It is 
wiuipped through- 
out with every 
modem conven- 
ience and all the 
necessary appli- 
.luces and appar- 
itus. The hos- 
lital has accom- 
modation for the 
treatment of thir- 

E OR. JOSEPH EASTMAN HOSPITAU ' ''' '"^"^ntS, and iS 

one of the finest operating rooms i„ the county- Dr^osep'h EaT 

?;;ira^:.s-7;rss.r-riS.=STrr^ i 

Medical College School of Medicine of Purdue Un'verX "^"^ 





BOUCATIONAL. ART. SCIENTIFIC, LITERARY, MUSICAL AND KINDRED 
INSTITUTIONS, LIBRARIES, ETC. 

The streets and highways of Indianapolis had hardly been staked 
off by the surveyor, when the few people who had gathered here at this 
embryo capital of the state began to look around and malie some 
arrangements for the education of the children. At that time there 
was no provision for public, or free schools, and the only means for 
education were by private or "subscription" schools. The first building 
de\oted to education in the city was erected at the intersection of 
Kentucky avenue and Washington and Illinois streets. From th.it lit- 
tle beginning has developed the great school system of Indianapolis 
which has made the Indiana capital take high rank in educational mat- 
ters among the cities of the country. The magnificently endowed 
school fund of the state of Indiana, and the open-handed liberality of 
the people of Indianapolis, have united in building up the present great 
free school system. Just when Indianapolis first began to feel the 
impetus of the legislation in favor of free schools it received a severe 
setback by an adverse decision of the supreme court. It was just 
emerging from the first crude efforts to establish free schools, and was 
getting on a higher plane when this decision came. Graded schools 
were being established In different parts of the city, and the "old semi- 
nary," wherein many of the youth in the early days of the city had 
been prepared for college, had been changed into a high school under 
the jurisdiction of the city. Hope was bright, and the young city 
was buoyant with expectations of the future of the new school system, 
when the courts decided that the taxation provided for by the legis- 
lature was illegal, and the schools were compelled to depend for their 
maintenance on what was received from the general school fund. In 
consequence of this decision the schools languished for some years, but 
after awhile a brighter day dawned, and once again the people were 
permitted to tax luemselves to maintain schools for the general educa- 
tion of their children. From that day the progress lias been steady 
and rapid. The city has been fortunate in its selection of those chosen 
to have general management and control of this great interest. One 
idea has been steadily before them, and that was to bring the schools 
up to the highest grade possible while at the same time furnisliing 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




MANUAL TRAINING HIGH SCHOOL. 



ample provision to aceommodate all the children. Under the law all 
persons between the ages of six and twentj-one years are entitled to 
was Ig'Tt 'tT I" 7''^'' ''^"^ attendance during the year 1906-7 
was 2b. .37. The school year opens in September and closes in June. 
The schools are under the management of a board of five school com- 

TrZT"; "; ° "' '''"''^ "' ''"' P^°^''*^- '^^'^ ^--tem embracer62 
graded schools and two high schools. The direct management of the 

SoeciS T "f '"' ^r""'""""' '' ^ superintendent and two assisLts! 
Spec a branches, such as Gern,an, drawing, music, penmanship, physi- 
cal culture and manual training are under the charge of a supen^isor 

tlZrZ T'. '^'^'^^^ '""^ '''''''■'''' - "- elementary a™h 
schools. The school system embraces a course of studies extending oyer 

of study covers four years and .students graduating are admitted to 
the leading universities of the country on their certificates 
«n„r. f-''^'' ^^''""'^-The efficiency and number of schools which Indi- 
system .s also a matter of pride and importance. Sever.al schools 7f 

7ZmLT:T'' ?"^ ""'^"^ •■'^^ '"•"^''^' "^^ -'-"* '-trtlS 
to the highest degree of skill and knowledge to which they are capable. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




SHORTRIDGE HIGH SCHOOL— CALEB MILLS HALL 



In the Herron Art Institute painting, sketching, pen-drawing and 
modeling are taught by capable artists. This school is maintained and 
controlled by an association of liberal citizens. The schools which are 
connected with the Catholic churches are popular and attended by 
many pupils from distant parts of the country, and there are other 
schools of elocution, of stenography, telegraphy, business colleges and 
otl'.ers in great number. For literary culture the people of Indianapolis 
have the advantage of two large and several small but very valuable 
libraries. 

The Manual Training High School, occupying the block bounded 
by South Meridian, Garden, Merrill streets and Madison avenue, is 
one of the largest and most thoroughly equipped institutions of its kind 
in this country. The history of manual training in Indianapolis schools 
began with the year 1889, when a course in wood-working and me- 
chanical drawing was opened at High School No. 1. The numerous 
applications for admission to this department soon proved the popu- 
larity of a course of this nature in the high school curriculum, and the 
school board of 1801 conceived the idea of the establishment of a school 
in which special attention should be paid to manual training. The city 
council sanctioned the establishment of such an institution, and levied 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




ERRON ART INSTITUTE. 



a special tax of five cents per hundred dollars for its erection and 
maintenance. Consequently ground was purchased in 1S02 and the 
building begun, costing §165,000, in Mnrch, 1894. The school was 
opened February IS, 1S95. The curriculum of the school includes a 
regular high school course and a course in mechanic and domestic arts. 
The latter consists of wood-working, forging, foundry work, pattern 
making, machine shop practice and mechanical drawing, for the boys; 
cooking, sewing, hygiene and home nursing, for the girls. Further, 
courses in stenography, typewriting and bookkeeping. 

The State Library was started soon after Indiana became a state, 
but for several years it met with but little encouragement from the 
legislature, and through carelessness and neglect many of its most valu- 
able books were lost or destroyed. Within the last few years, however, 
the legislature has been much more liberal in furnishing means for 
the purchase of new books and caring for the library. The library oc- 
cupies several elegantly appointed rooms in the State-house, and ample 
accommodations are provided for those who desire to consult the works 
contained therein. The library contains 45,000 volumes and a large 
number of pamphlets. 



108 HTMAN'S HANDBOOK OP INDIANAPOLIS. 

Public Library was established in 1873 under the authority of the 
school commissioners. It occupies a handsome stone building erectec 
for its use by the city. It has connected with it a reading-room foi 
consulting the booliS, and for the use of those who desire to read tht 
papers and periodicals kept there for that purpose. The reading-room 
is kept open from 9 a. m. until 10 p. m. on each day of the week. Any 
citizen is entitled to withdraw books from the library for home reading. 
The whole is under the control of the board of school commissioners. 
Branch libraries were established the latter part of 1896 in various parts 
of the city, each being supplied with .".bout 1,000 volumes, and the news- 
paper and magazine and reading-room accommodations. Beside these 
there are seven delivery stations where books are delivered to and re- 
ceived from the patrons of the library. There are 107,500 volumes 
and pamphlets in the library. Additions are made monthly by the pur- 
chase of new books. 

Agricultural Library of the state board of agriculture, located in I 
the State-house, contains about 1,200 volumes. 

Marion County Library, located in the court-house, was established 
in 1844, and contains about 5,200 volumes. It is open on Saturdays. 

State Law Library, which was separated from the state library in 
1867, contains 40,000 volumes. It is located in the state-house. 

Indianapolis Bar Association Library, in the Marion county court- 
house, contains over 8.000 volumes and was established in ISSO. 

Horticultural Library, of the State Horticultural Society, in the 
State-house, contains over 500 volumes. 

Other Libraries are Bona Thompson Library, Butler University, at 
Irvington ; the St. Aloysius, St. Cecilia, Y. M. C. A., Law School library 
and excellent special libraries in the different medical colleges. 

Butler College — This institution was incorporated by special act 
of the legislatme in .January, 1850. Its charter was obtained under the 
auspices of the Christian Churches of Indiana, and its name was then 
"Northwestern Christian University." In 1877, on account of the large 
gifts of land and money from Ovid Butler, the institution was renamed 
in his honor ; but the charter was otherwise unchanged, and the spirit 
and scope of the work carried on remained the same. The first location 
of the college was at College Avenue and Fourteenth Street, but it was 
changed to the present campus in Irvington — then outside of the city — 
in 1873. 

The college began its work with a subscription of $75,000 to its 
funds. This amount was increased from time to time by gifts, and 
still more largely augmented by the sale of the old campus when the 
removal was made to the present site. Until the present year the 
income-bearing endowment had for a long time remained stationary 
at about .?200,000 ; but in March, 1907, a movement for the increase of 




BUTLEF) COLLEGE BUILDINGS. 



110 HYMAN'ii UA\VBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

the resources of the institution culminated in the addition of $250,000 
to the productive eudowmeut Not all of this additional fund is avail- 
able for the current year, but steps have already been taken to expand 
the work of the college, and by 1908 the new plans will begin to bear 
fruit in the enlarged usefulness of the institution. The physical equip- 
ment of the college represents an investment of about $300,000 in addi- 
tion to the amounts named above. The campus and adjoining property 
comprise about twenty -five acres, the campus proper being beautifully- 
wooded. There are five substantial buildings, besides the astronomical 
observatory. The most noteworthy of these is the Bona Thompson 
Memorial Library building — probably the most beautiful and complete 
library building in the state. 1 

The college has always been associated with the Christian Church, I 
but there is no organic control by the denomination, and its spirit I 
is wholly unsectarian. It is bound by its charter "to teach and in- I 
culcate the Christian faith and Christian morality as taught in the 
sacred scriptures," but is under no other religious or sectarian limita- 
tioUk The institutions has maintained from the beginning a liberal 
attitude toward all classes of students that have come to it. It is 
said to ha^■e been the first college in the world to open its doors to 
women on exactly equal terms with those offered to men. In educa- 
tional policy the college has adhered to the theory that it is the func- 
tion of a college to give a liberal education in the arts and sciences. It 
has resisted the tendency toward excessive specialization, and con- 
tinues to stand for general culture. It has nevertheless kept pace with 
the educational progress of the country, advancing its requirements for 
a degree and adding new departments, as these steps were required by 
the educational movements of the age. The requirements for admission 
and gi-aduation are now equal to those of the largest universities of the 
country, and the degree of Butler College is recognized as equivalent 
to the corresponding degree of any other educational institution. For 
a number of years the college has been affiliated with the University 
of Chicago on terms which guarantee that its undergraduate course 
is on a par with that of the university ; and although the college has 
announced that it will cease to maintain this relation to the University 
of Chicago after 1910, this does not mean that its educational standards 
will be lowered. 

Butler College is peculiarly an Indianapolis institution, and the 
liberal contributions of the business men of the city to its new endow- 
ment fund have identilied it still more closely with the community. A 
very large proportion of its students are drawn from the city, and it is 
the purpose of the authorities to endeavor to increase the number. 
While there are special reasons why many youug people should go away 
for their college education, there are many advantages to be derived 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF lyDlAXAPOLIS. 




BONA THOMPSON MEMORIAL LIBRARY-BUTLER COLLEGE. 



from college work under home Influences, and a very large proportion 
of the graduates of the city high schools will never obtain a college 
education at all unless it is brought to their doors. The widening of 
the sphere of influence of Indianapolis, through the development of 
steam, and especially electric, railways has brought the educational 
advantages of the city within reach of a still greater number of young 
people who would otherwise be debarred from college advantages. On 
the other hand, the college has been recognized as an essential part of 
the life of the city because of the large number of eminent citizens who 
were first brought to Indianapolis by its educational advantages. 

A comparison of the metropolitan and the country college would 
show certain peculiar advantages for each class, but the bal<'^nce is tend- 
ing more and more toward the former. The opportunities to hear the 
best lectures, sermons and concerts, to see the best collections of artistic 
productions, and to study the life and institutions of a city are added 
to the disciplines of class-room and laboratory. Butler College like- 
wise boasts of pre-eminence among the colleges of the state in library 
facilities, since the public library of 100,000 volumes is available at the 
college library building, in addition to the well-selected working library 
of the college, while the reference libraries in the State Capitol are also 
accessible to the students. 

The college maintains a faculty of trained specialists in their re- 
spective departments, who have enjoyed the advantages of the best 



112 HYAIAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

universities of America aud Europe. The faculty is to be enlarged in 
the near future to provide for ne^v departments. The authorities are 
also about to select a new president to succeed Dr. Scot Butler, who 
retired July 1. 1907. In the interim the executive responsibility has 
been placed upon Dean T. C. Howe. 

The Indiana Law School (Department of Law of the University 
of Indianapolis) — The Indiana Law School was organized for the pur- 
pose of giving to the law students of the middle west an opportunity 
to acquire a more thorough and systematic knowledge of the law than 
has heretofore been afforded them by any institution within easy reach 
of their homes, and especially to give to those young men who contem- 
plate the practice of law in Indiana the same facilities and advantages 
which are to be found in the oldest schools of law. The school, now 
entering upon its fourteenth year, has already taken high rank among 
the professional schools of the country and the results, both in number 
of students and in reputation, have justified the opinion of the founders 
that Indianapolis iiossesses exceptional advantages for such an insti- 
tution. Being the capital city of the state, where the supreme and 
appellate courts, the federal courts and the local courts, both civil and 
criminal, are in session practically throughout the year, the students 
have unusual opportunity for witnessing court procedure in all its 
various forms, and the sessions of the legislature enable them to see 
how the business of law-making is transacted. With the rapid growth 
of the state in wealth and population, the law of Indiana, while in its 
general and elementary features is like that of the other states of the 
union, has developed a jurisprudence of its own. A thorough and prac- 
tical knowledge of this law can not be acquired at law schools located 
in other states, nor does any other school in Indiana offer the same 
advantages as the Indiana Law School. The course of study covers a 
period of two years of thirty weeks each, and the two classes have 
separate and distinct instruction throughout the course. The elementary 
.subjects and those which are fundamental are placed in the junior 
jear, and the entire arrangement of the course is a systematic develop- 
ment of legal jurisprudence. The school maintains a most perfect sys- 
tem of moot courts, four in number, and tliese are held weekly, and 
are under the supervision of inembers of the faculty, who act as judges. 
For practice in these courts, statements of fact are furnished, and stu- 
dents are appointed as counsel to represent the interests involved, 
rieadiugs are prepared, to which motions, demurrers or answers are ad- 
dressed by opposing counsel, and trial is had before the judge or judge 
and jury. The dean of the Indiana Law School is James A. Rohbach, 
A. M., LL. B., and the otlier members of the faculty are : Hon. Addison 
C. Harris, LL, D. ; Hon. John T. Dye, A. M. ; Henry M. Dowling, A. B., 
LL. B.; Louis B. Ewbank, LL. B. : Jamas M. Ogdeu, Ph. B., LL. B.; 



114 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Charles W. Moores, A. M., LL. B. ; Merle N. A. Walker, A. B., LL. B. ; 
William F. Elliott, A. B., LL. B.; Albert Rabb, A. B., LL. B.; Noble 
C. Butler, LL. D.; Francis M. Springer, LL. M., and James M. Berry- 
hill, B. S., LL. B., all of whom are actively engaged in the practice of 
law and are experienced instructors and lecturers. The oflSces of the 
school are located at 1117-1118 Law Building. 

Indiana Dental College was organized in 1878 by the members of 
the Indiana State Dental Association. The college occupied rooms in 

the Thorpe 
Block, on East 
Market street, 
until 1881. 
From 1881 to 
1894 it was lo- 
cated in the 
Aetna block, 
on North 
Pennsylvan i a 
street. During 
the summer of 
'94 the present 
building of the 
college was 
erected on the 
comer of Ohio 
and Dela- 
ware streets. 
The growth 
of the college 
has been 

steady and constant. During the session of 1901-1902 there were 
217 students enrolled. These came principally from the central, 
western and southern states. The increase in facilities for teaching 
has kept pace with this growth. The building at present occupied by 
the college was built for dental educational purposes. The arrange- 
ment of the floor space is designed to attain the very best results. Each 
department is amply large to accommodate a school of 250 students. 
The laboratories, lecture rooms and infirmary are completely equipped 
and appointed. Improvements in the equipment and facilities for teach- 
ing are constantly being made. The faculty of the college is composed 
of fourteen members. The course is strictly a graded one ; no two classes 
receive the same lectures. The practical work is required and a high 
standard is insisted upon. Careful attention to details in every depart- 




DENTAL COLLEGE. 



EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



115 



ment has placed the college on its present high plane. Its uniform in- 
crease in popularity and strength attests its value as an educational in- 
stitution. The college course extends over seven and one-half months, 
from the first week in October to the middle of May. The officers are 
John N. Hurty, M. D., Ph. D., president ; George E. Hunt, M. D., D. D. S., 
dean and secretary. 

Indiana University School of Medicine — By provision of an act 
of the Legislature, Indiana University was expressly authorized to teach 
medicine. Acting upon this provision, for many years strong science 
courses were given which led up to the course in medicine. About 
1890 a full biologic course was established which was equivalent to 
the cours.e given in the freshman year of the best medical colleges of 
the time, ^ith the exception of dissection in human anatomy. In 1903 
a full two years' course, including every subject taught in the freshman 
and sophomore years of the standard medical college, was established. 
This school was placed upon a high basis, and was equipped and con- 
ducted upon a plane that secured its students recognition by all first- 
class schools of the country. From the first it was the intention of 





•: , < ■ " 






a '_ M;.' t ■ m 


m 





INPIANA UNIVERPITY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE. 



116 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

the University to establisii, as soon as its funds would permit, tlie last 
two or clinical years of the full medical course at Indianapolis, where 
clinical facilities would be adequate for modern medical teaching. In 
1906 the building formerly occupied by the Central College of Physi- 
cians and Surgeons was secured and the clinical department of the 
medical school was established. 

Throughout the several years from the beginning of the science 
course leading to medicine until the establishment of the full four years' 
course by the University, every step that was taken by the authorities 
was taken after an investigation of the progress of modern medical 
education, and the needs of the modern medical school. When, there- 
fore, the two clinical years were established in Indianapolis a clinical 
hospital — the State College Hospital — was provided in order to give the 
student attending the Indiana University School of Medicine an as- 
sured amount of clinical instruction at close range. The Indiana Uni- 
versity School of Medicine was established and has been conducted 
upon plans approved by the highest authorities in medical education. 
This school, therefore, received an early official recognition from the 
Indiana State Board of Medical Registration and Examination, the 
Association of American Medical Colleges, and the Council on Educa- 
tion of the American Medical Association. It will be the foremost aim 
of the Trustees of Indiana University to provide the Student of Medi- 
cine the best opportunities to secure the most thorough medical train- 
ing. To this end the first two, or purely laboratory years, of the course 
will be given, as heretofore, in the extensive laboratories at the Uni- 
versity, under the guidance of thoroughly trained and paid instructors, 
whereas the last two years of the course will be given in the clinical 
center at Indianapolis, in connection with the State College Hospital, 
with a faculty each member of which is a thoroughly trained specialist 
in his respective department. 

Indiana University School of Medicine, Clinical Department, 212, 
214 North Senate Avenue, Indianapolis — This splendid structure was 
completed in 1902 after plans embodying the latest ideas in medical 
college construction. The building is of brick, steel and stone, contains 
24,000 square feet of floor space, and is steam heated and electric 
lighted throughout. On the third and fourth floors is the State College 
Hospital of seventy beds. This hospital is thoroughly modern in every 
\\ay and the equal to any other in the state. A high-class training 
school for nurses is maintained. The first, or basement floor, is used 
for the ont-patient department of the medical school, and an average 
of 1,000 patients are treated each month. On the second floor are located 
the offices, laboratories and lecture rooms. The oSicers are: AUison 
ir-xwell, M. D„ dean; John F. Barniiill, M. D., secretary. 



HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




ENTRANCE TO WINONA TECHNICAL INSTITUTE GROUNDS. 



The Winona Technical Institute — This school was iucorporated 
April. 1904. Previous to this time the press of Indianapolis had unani- 
mously endorsed and favored the purchase of the United States Arsenal 
site for the establishment of a Technical Institute. At a conference of 
joint committees, representing the Press, Commercial Club, Board of 
Trade, University of Indianapolis, Woodruff Place, Winona Assembly 
and citizens of Indianapolis, a resolution was unanimously adopted 
commending the plan of the Winona Agricultural Institute to raise by 
subscription a fund with which to purchase the Arsenal grounds for 
the use of a national technical institute. The board appointed for the 
above purpose made a thorough investigation of the trade schools of the 
country and decided to proceed slowly and carefull.v in the work of 
establishing an educational institution which should avoid duplicating, 
as far as possible, the work of either church or state. In pursuance of 
this plan The Winona Technical Institute was informally opened in 
September, 1904, with departments of Pharmacy and Chemistry, Elec- 
trical Wiring and, a little later, Lithography and House and Sign 



BYMA^'.S IIAyDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




GRAPHIC ARTS BUILDING, WINONA TECHNICAL INSTITUTE. 

I'aiiitiug. Since that time the following departments have been added: 
Printing, Library School, Carpentry, Tile and Mantel Setting, Foundry, 
Machinery and Engineering. These departments have been installed in 
the large and substantial buildings erected by the Government and re- 
modeled by tJie Institute for its uses. 

The property of United States Arsenal has proved to be admirably 
fitted to the needs of a trade .school. Its seventy-six and a quarter 
acres, partly covered by a magnificent growth of forest trees and partly 
under cultivation, comprises an unsurpassed location, situated about a 
mile from the business center and in the geographical center of the 
city. It is somewhat removed from the distractions inseparable from 
the busy streets of a large city and yet is easy of access. The sur- 
roundings are wholesome and healthful and the natural beauties of 
the place inspiring to those who work among them. 

The officers of the Institute are: President, S. C. Dickey, D. D., 
Indianapolis ; Hon. Hugh H. Hanna, Indianapolis, President of Board 
of Directors; H. J. Heinz, Pittsburg; Alexander McDonald, Cincinnati; 
J. M. Studebaker, South Bend, Indiana ; W. J. Richards, Indianapolis ; 
G. W. Brown, IndianaiJolis, and W. C. Smith, Indianapolis. 

For information regarding this Institute, address S. C. Dickey, 
President, or W. C. Smith, General Director, 1500 East Michigan Street, 
Indianapolis, Indiana. 

The Winona Assembly, located at Winona Lake, Indiana, offers 
summer courses each year during the season. The Assembly also con- 
trols the following schools located at Winona Lake: Agricultural lu- 



ETMAy'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




SCHOOL OF PHARMACY, WINONA TECHNICAL INSTITUTE. 



stitute, Academy for Boys, Winona Park School for Young Women and 
Conservatory of Music. Information relative to any of these schools 
may be obtained through the Information Bureau at Winona Lake. 

John Herron Art Institute, located at Pennsylvania and Sixteenth 
streets, is conducted by the Art Association of Indianapolis, a society 
organized May 7, 1883, and incorporated October 11, 1883. In May, 
18S)5, the Art Association became the residuary legatee under the will of 
John Herron, who left a bequest of $250,000.00 with the stipulation that 
an Art Museum should be built and an Art School conducted which 
should bear his name. The institution is open every day in the year for 
visitors. The admission fee is 25 cents on week days and 10 cents on 
Sunday afternoons and holidays. The John Herron Art School con- 
nected with the Art Institute ranks with the best art schools of the 
country and it has a constantly growing enrollment. Since the estab- 
lishment of the institute the association has received several substan- 
tial gifts of money and pictures. 

The Indianapolis College of Law is a high-grade institution, giving 
a complete legal education. The faculty is composed of men known for 
their professional ability, and who have shown that they have the same 
keen insight in the art of teaching and the same skill and talent 



120 HYMATS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

for imparting knowledge that are essential to tlie qualifications of a 
teacher of literary or scientific subjects. The courses of study are com- 
plete, and embrace everything necessary to a thorough knowledge of 
the law. The regular two years' course leads to the degree of LL. B. 
Advanced work is given leading to degrees of LL. M. and D. C. L. The 
college, in order to meet the demands of the different classes of students, 
in addition to the regular day sessions, has evening sessions, so that one 
can complete the full courses at night with three years' study while 
continuing his regular occupation. The college is alive to the interest 
of the bar, and has always taken advanced grounds toward the elevation 
of the profession. It teaches more law in two years, and does it thor- 
oughly, than any other school in the state. Its students have access to 
more than 6,000 volumes, belonging to the JIarion Count}- Bar Associa- 
tion, and the supreme court library, the largest court library in the 
west. The tinited States circuit and district courts, the state supreme, 
appellate, county superior and circuit courts, as well as the local munic- 
ipal courts, are located here and furnish a constant series of new and 
important cases involving the greatest variety of questions of law. By 
mere observation of the workings of these courts the student can get 
a clearer, better and jnore comprehensive education in pleadings, prac- 
tice and system of court procedure than in any law school in the coun- 
try. The College is located in the building at 28-40 N. Pennsylvania 
street. The officers are: President, Hon. John W. Kern, of the Indi- 
anapolis Bar ; Emeritus Dean, Hon. Ulric Z. Wiley, ex-Judge of Appel- 
late Court of Indiana ; Dean, Theop. J. Moll, of the Indianapolis Bar ; 
Secretary, Euunett J. Heeb, the widely-known educator. 

The Indianapolis Business University (incorporated), comprising 
the Bryant & Stratton and the Indianapolis Business College, was 
founded in 1850. It is recognized as one of the foremost educational 
institutions in the land. In this day thorough preparation is the de- 
mand, and it is upou this high plane that the Indianapolis Business 
University mahitains its commanding position as the leader in business 
education. It is far in advance of business colleges and commercial 
departments. It stands on a higher plane; it is built on a broader and 
firmer fouudalion. The absolute thoroughness and efficiency of its 
courses of study and instruction and the marked success of its students 
have made it known and recognized as the university in this sphere of 
education. Its patronage is national. This university qualifies its stu- 
dents to become bookkeepers, accountants, telegraphers, stenographers, 
secretaries, managers, bank and correspondence clerks, credit men, 
draftsmen, illustrators and newspaper artists. They take positions so 
thoroughly qualified in the essentials of a business education, so dis- 
ciplined in business habits, and so deserving of advancement that they 
rise to positions of trust and proprietorship, and finally reach the high- 



122 HYMAV'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

est attainments in life. To accomplish this end, the most admirably 
arranged courses of study are provided, which present what is most use- 
ful for thorougliness and etiicieucy in qualifying students in the best 
way, in the siiortest time, and at the least expense, for success in the 
actual duties of life. The university places at the head of its depart- 
ments of study instructors who are experts in their specialties, who are 
conscientious and earnest in the discharge of their duty, and who have 
been connected with the Institution many years, consequently make the 
advancement of the students their chief aim. The entire organization 
and work of the institution since 1885 has been under the immediate 
personal supervision of the president, E. J. Heeb, who is ably as- 
sisted by a large executive force and faculty of experienced educators. 
The location is 28 to 40 North Pennsylvania street, When Building. 

The National Correspondence Schools is an educational institu- 
tion incorporated under the laws of Indiana. Its integrity and reliability 
to do just as it represents and its equipment to carry on correspondence 
instruction has placed it in the front ranks as an educational institu- 
tion. It is a school of recognized merit and its methods have met with 
the highest endorsement. Its unparalleled success in correspondence 
instruction is due to its improved methods and the thoroughness of its 
courses of study. It gives complete courses of instruction by corre- 
spondence in professional law, illustrating, pharmacy, cartooning, draw- 
ing, all commercial branches and many other subjects.. These features 
are due to the fact that the school is backed by a resident educational 
institution, and each student receives personal direction and supervi- 
sion from a trained corps of instructors. The courses of study are 
identically the same as those in high-grade resident colleges, and are 
of inestimable value to the thousands of men and women who desire 
to secure an education while continuing their regular occupation. It 
enjoys a world-wide patronage and thousands of students testify to 
the merits of its methods and courses of instruction. Mr. E. J. Heeb, 
the founder, has been identified with correspondence instruction the 
past twenty years. The offices are 28-40 North Pennsylvania street. 

Other Medical Colleges are the Physio-Medical College of Indiana, 
the Medical College of Indiana, School of Medicine Purdue University, 
and the Eclectic Medical College. 

The Indiana Central University, located on Shelby street south of 
the city limits, was dedicated in 1905 and is under the auspices of the 
United Brethren Church of the State of Indiana. This handsome Col- 
lege Building was built by Wm. L. Elder upon his University Heights 
Addition, and is bound to be one of the leading educational institutions 
of Indiana on account of its location at Indianapolis. 

The Normal College of the North American Gymnastic Union is 
an institution established for the purpose of educating teachers of 




MEN'S CLASS, NORMAL COLLEGE N. A. GYMNASTIC UNION. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




THE INDIANA CENTRAL UNIVERSITY. 

physical training for schools maintained by gymnastic societies, for 
public schools, and tor higher educational institutions. The College is 
empowered by law to confer academic titles and degrees on students 
that complete certain prescribed courses. 

The Normal College is associated with, and controlled by, the North 
American Gymnastic Union, which was organized in 1850 for the pur- 
pose of bringing up men and women, strong in body, mind and morals, 
and for the promotion and dissemination of progressive and liberal ideas. 
It is not a money-making institution, as the tuition fees cover but a 
fraction of its expenses. The additional income required for the de- 
frayal of expenses is derived from appropriations made by the North 
American Gymnastic Union, and from assessments that are levied on a 
guaranty fund created by subscriptions. The college is located in the 
east wing of the German House. The directors are: Carl J. Kroh, 
President of the Normal College, and Dean of the Department of Theory 
and Practice of Physical Training ; Robert Fischer, M. D., Supervisor of 
Physical Training, Indianapolis Public Schools, Dean of the Depait- 
ment of Anatomy, Physiology and Hygiene ; Robert Nix, S. B.. Dean of 
the Department of Letters and General Science ; Herman Lieber, Chair- 



126 Hl'MANS HANDBOOK OF INDlAyAPOUS. 

man of Board of Trustees; Theodore Stempfel, Treasurer; Franklin 
Vonnegut, Vice-CIiairman ; Gustav Westing, Secretary; William A. 
Stecher, Supervisor of Physical Training, Philadelphia Public Schools; 
Henry Suder, Supervisor of Physical Training, Chicago Public Schools; 
Henry Hartung, M. D., Chicago ; George Wittich, Supervisor of Physical 
Training, Milwaukee Public Schools. 

Free Kindergarten and Domestic Training Schools — There are 
twenty -five schools of this character in the city at present under the 
supervision of a board of directors of the Free Kindergarten Associa- 
tion. Until the present year the work of free kindergartens in Indian- 
apolis has been maintained almost entirely By private subscriptions 
and by various means devised by the ladies of the society, the only 
public aid coming from the Marion county commissioners, who have 
for some years contributed a small sum toward their support. The In- 
diana legislature of 1901 passed a law permitting cities of six thousand 
inhabitants or more to levy a tax for the maintenance of kindergartens 
where there is an incorporated body that is prepared to conduct these 
schools. The Teachers' College for the training of Kindergarten teachers 
is located at Alabama and Twenty -third streets. 

The Sarah A. Davis=Deterding Memorial Training School is lo- 
cated in Irvington and is conducted under the auspices of the Christian 
Woman's Board of Missions for the purpose of training missionaries and 
Christian workers. The ground was broken for the erection of the 
building August 29, 1907. The offices of the Christian Woman's Board 
of Missions are located in this building. 




Life IN THE H005IER Capital 




HOTELS, INNS, CAFES. RESTAURANTS, APARTMENT HOUSES, FLATS, CLUBS, 
PLACES OF AMUSEMENT. 

The hotel is a necessary institution in any place or settlement pre- 
senting any kind of urban pretensions, and Indianapolis, among Its 
first settlers, included a tavern-lieeper, Hawkins by name, who built a 
cabin from the abundant supply of logs which surrounded the site, 
and gave notice that he was prepared to furnish good entertainment 
for man or beast. His monopoly did not last very long. for. in 1822, a 
year after he established business, Thomas Carter erected a larger hos- 
telry and furnished entertainment for immigrants, who at that time 
were coming in somewhat numerousl.v, and who needed a stopping- 
place until they could build cabins of their own. Carter's tavern was 
also utilized for meetings, and the first theatrical performance was held 
in it. The Bates House, which, until 1901, was recognized as one of 




BATES HOUSE, 1854. 



the city's chief hostelries, was built In 1852. It served its purpose with 
distinction until 1001. when it was torn down to make room for the 
Claypool. The excellent hotel facilities of the city are of great import- 
ance to its commercial prestige, and also to sustain the position that 
has been attained by Indianapolis as a convention city. The central 



128 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 

location of Indianapolis, its many urban attractions, its railroad facili- 
ties, and, above all, its superior hotel accommodations, have given to 
it the favor of manj' organizations, commercial, educational, profes- 
sional, religious, scientific, etc., as well as political organizations, which 
find in Indianapolis the gi-eatest advantages as a meeting place for 
their state and national gatherings. No cit.v is more favored in this 
way, an average of -100 or 500 of such meetings being lield in the city 
every year. Among all the many factors that conti'ibute to the ijros- 
perity of Indianapolis, none is of stronger value thau the superior qual- 
ity of the hotel facilities that are presented by the city. 

The Claypool, Mhich is located on the old site of the Bates House, 
and was completed in 1902, is one of the finest hotels west of New York 
City and cost in excess of Sl,250,000. The building was planned and 
built under the supervision of Architect Franli JI. Andrews. No hotel 
building in the world has so many features or possesses more beauties 
in architecture or decoration. The structure is absolutel.y fireproof, 
eight stories high with a roof garden. The hotel is under the manage- 
ment of the president of the Indiana Hotel Company, Henry W. Law- 
rence, one of the best known and most practical hotel men in the 




GRAND HOTEL CAFE. 



130 HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The Grand Hotel, at Illinois and Maryland streets, occupies the 
most central location possessed by any hotel in the city. It is one of 
the leading hotels of Indianapolis and one of the finest in the entire 
country, dating its inception back to the early fifties, when it was 
known as the Mason House. In 1876 it was entirely remodeled and 
assumed its present name of the Grand Hotel. The building is a six- 
story and basement structure, 200x200 feet in dimensions, with 250 rooms 
elegantly furnished, with steam heat, electric lighting, artificial gas, 
etc. There is a large public dining-room, a private dining-room, a club- 
room, etc., while the olfice, lobby, reading and writing-rooms are on 
the first floor and the bar and billiard-room in the basement. The house 
enjoys a very large and high-class patronage, its management and 
service are excellent, and the cuisine, under the supervision of a skillful 
chef, is widely noted. On Jlay 1, 1906, Mr. W. J^ Holt, one of the 
widest and most favorably known hotel men in the country, who had 
been identified with the old Bates House for 25 years, became the presi- 
dent and manager of the Grand Hotel Company. Under his management 
many improvements have been made, notably the handsome cafe, the 
finest in the city, which was completed February 9, 1907. The hotel is 
conducted on the European and American plans. European plan is $1.50 
to $3.00 per day; American plan, $2.50 to $5.00 per day. 

English Hotel has an ideal location in Monument Place facing the 
great Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument. It is as nearly fire-proof as can 
be made and is particularly adapted to the convenience of families. A 
first-class cafe is conducted in connection with the hotel. 

The Denison is one of the hotels of exceptionally high reputation, 
located at Ohio and Pennsylvania streets. It is held in high favor by 
transients and permanent guests. The hotel is a six-story and base- 
ment structure containing 250 rooms, over one-half being en suite with 
private baths, and all connected with complete telephone system. There 
is an excellent cafe conducted on the first floor. 

The Spencer House — Widely famed and noted as one of the leading 
hotels in Indianapolis is the Spencer House, on Illinois street, opposite 
the Union Depot. It was established forty years ago, and in 1889 
Mr. H. W. Lawrence became the proprietor. The building is a four- 
story and basement structure, 200x200 feet in dimensions, the office, 
lobby and dining-room, bar, etc., being on the first floor, the house con- 
taining 150 comfortably furnished and handsomely appointed guest 
rooms. The house was rebuilt and enlarged and newly furnished in 
1899, and is now equipped with all of the modern conveniences of a 
first-class hotel. The house enjoys wide reputation for the superior 
quality of the fare and service it provides and is conducted on the 
American plan, the rates being $2, $2.50 and $3 per day. 




[II 



©r 




w- 



«--' IMl 



v^ 






v.^^ 



HYMAy'S HAyOBOOK OF IXDIAyAPOLIS. 




The proprietor 
Ainiet. The rates : 
European 



Circle Park Hotel was 

built in 1879 by Mrs. Maria 
Rbodius, and has always 
maintained its position as 
one of the best conducted 
hotels in the city. Con- 
nected with it is the cafe, 
which has been under the 
management of Jos. Em- 
minger from the erection 
of the house. It is the 
most elegantly furnishe.l 
and popular cafe in the 
city. Its location opposite 
the main entrance to the 
Monument makes it espe- 
cially desirabl? to those 
vi'ho visit the city and who 
v.ish to 1)6 assured of gocd 
ae<'ommo:lations and gen- 
en uis tr. .-itment. 
1 are .Tusepli Kiniiiin.L;er and Werner 
uts to .$ 1.00 a day and upward on the 




INTERIOR CIRCLE PARK CAFE. 




-^^^ 



134 



BYMA-N'S BANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Pop June's Shell Oyster Bay — The name of June in this city i( 
synonymous with all things that are good to eat, particularly with sucl 
things as the oyster and other foods of the river, lake or sea. It is i 
recognized fact that in cities of this size that there is a place whicl 
has become famous as being the choice of all who like good cooking 
pure and toothsome food as well, which have become national in char 
acter, as being resorts that attract the celebrities in all walks of life 
who love fine dishes well prepared, and this fame continues to grow 
till all men who "know the town" can tell you the place to eat, and 
strangers are taken there just to give them a treat, with as much pride 




as would be required in showing them some public works of art. Such! 
a place is the "Pop June Shell Oyster Bay," at 109 South Illinois street, 
whose reputation is a standard for imitation, and which has been one^ 
of the points of interest since 1872, when it was founded by William 
II. June and continued by him until his death in 1901, when his sons, 
George W. June, John II. June and Homer H. June, assumed charge, 
co)itinuing to keep up the high standard attained. The Junes are 
descendants of a long line of public caterers which runs back to 1795, 
when the first Jacob June served oysters in his coffee house, then located 
at No. 13 Front street, just off the Battery, in the city of New York, 




COkUMblA bLua 



136 



BYMAN'S HAyOBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




Hotel Edward— This is the latest addition to the excellent hotel 
facilities of Indianapolis, and ranks with the best flre-proof hotels in 

the country. The build- 
ing is one of the most 
attractive in the city, 
and the interior i: 
ished throughout with 
mahogany, contains 150 
elegantly appointed 
rooms, 100 of which con- 
nect with private bath. 
A flrst-class cafe is con- 
ducted in' connection 
with Hotel Edward at 
popular prices. The lo- 
cation is ideal, being 
situated midway be- 
tween the Union Rail- 
way and Terminal Trac- 
tion stations. The rates 
are 75e to ?1.00 with 
privileges of public bath 
free, and $1.50 to $2.00 
with private bath. The 
hotel is under the man- 
agement of J. Edward 
Krause, president and manager of the Capitol Hotel Company. 

Hotel Morton is cue of the most popular medium-priced hotels in 
Indianapolis. Centrally situated on the beautiful and world-famed 
Monument place is one of the de- 
lightful features that has popu- 
larized this hotel. It is one block 
from the main shopping district 
and all street cars. The hotel offers 
rate advantages to travelers and 
visitors who need quiet repose at 
night after a day of business or 
sight seeing. The hotel is neatly 
and comfortably furnished and 
carefully conducted on the Euro- 
pean plan. Rates from 50c to 
$2.00 per day. The restaurant, 
which is connected with the 
hotel, but operated independent- 
ly, furnishes .splendid service at 
popular prices. „o^^, „o„„^_ 



HOTEL EDWARD. 



^inifjpHtE 

ijilMiiiill 



BYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




INTERIOR COLUMBIA CLUB. 



Columbia Club— It might be matter for astonishment to become 
aware of what our inland Hoosier State has done, not only for her 
sisters, but for the world at large. For out of this Judea have come 
prophets to all people. Statesmen, poets, novelists, and artists song 
and story, and men to sit in the highest place of honor, have been sent 
out to the world from Indiana; and nowhere in the west is there a 
people more athirst for knowledge and beauty than in our flourishing 
western capital, Indianapolis. Out of this have gi-own clubs and clubs 
for the propagation of all interests-social, artistic, literary and po- 
litical. The Columbia Club was dedicated New Year's eve, December 
31, 1900, and is an organization which has gi-owu out of these condi- 
tions. The features and functions of this club are so unique as to call 
attention to it all over the country. In all its acts and influences it 
testers the principles of Republicanism, and yet is never dominated by 
extreme partisanship. Through the extended influence of the many 
strong men who are among its memljers. it is a potent factor in all 
public questions of Indiana, and often in the politics of the country 
There is probably no club in this country which is more widely known 
on account of events which have taken place within its walls affectin" 
large national political interests. Its membership is in no sense local 
although it has nearly a thousand members in Indianapolis Outside 



140 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF lyDlAyAPOLIS. i 

of Indianapolis its members are chosen by invitation, from every 
county, important town and community in tlie state. Men who are 
so honored must be Republicans and representative in some distin- 
guished manner of the community in which they reside. As a business I 
man's club it represents eminently a large portion of the leading men 
of affairs in Indiana. It is the foremost social club of Indianapolis 
and of the state, and the only social state club in this country. The 
club building is situated on Monument Place; it fronts the soldiers' and 
sailors' monument. The club's new building is one of the most attrac- 
tive and noticeable architectural ornaments of the city. Its architect 
was Frank M. Andrews. No comfort is lacking. A principal provision 
to this end are the living rooms luxuriously furnished. The exterior is 
as fine an example of Italian Renaissance as is to be found in this 
country. Its solidity and beautiful proportions appeal to one at the first 
glance; a nearer view, revealing the details, shows the work of a mas- 
ter hand. 

Das Deutsche Haus, one of the finest German club houses in the 
country, is the result of a resolution passed by the Socialer Turnvereiu 
of Indianapolis in 1S91 to procure more commodious quarters. A bull i- 
ing association was founded and incorporated with a capital stock of 
$100,000, which was later increased to $160,000. Before the building 
operations were begun it became evident that the time was propitious 
to build a club house of suflicient proportions to accommodate the 
Turnvereiu and other German literary, musical and dramatic societies. 
The first oflicial meeting of the stock association was held in January. 
1892. Real estate was purchased in the same year, 135x203 feet, at the 
corner of New .lersey and Michigan streets. Ground was broken in 
the summer of 1803 and the first of the buildings, the eastern ha'f, 
was dedicated on Washington's birthday, 1894. The balance of the real 
estate, now comprising a fourth of a block, was purchased in 1896. In 
1897 the building on the corner was begun and completion of the im- 
provements were celebrated by a three-days' festi\ al in June, 1898. In 
pursuance of the plan of the builders, Der Deutsche Klub, a social 
club, was organized upon completion of the first building. Der Musik- 
verein was founded in October, 1897, and in 18119 these two clubs were 
merged under the name of Der Deutsche Klub and Musikverein of Indi- 
anapolis. The membership of the "Das Deutsche Haus" is about 1,100 
from among the best known families in the city. Notable features of 
the club are the Sunday-school, a girls' industrial school and kinder- 
garten that are maintained by individual effort. A series of choral 
and orchestral concerts during the winter, and band concerts in the 
garden, weekly, during the summer months are special attractions. 




INDEPENDENT TURNVEREIN. 



142 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The Bismarck is one of the most popular cafes In the city. It is 
located at Nos. 23 and 25 East Pearl street, in the heart of the wholesale 
and shopping district. The service is excellent, the prices are moderate, 
and not only the best edibles that the marliet afCords can be had here, 
but also the best-known brands of imported and domestic wines, beer, 
liquors and cigars. The Bismarck is famed for its business man's 
noonday lunch, and it is visited daily by the most prominent business 
and professional men of the city. It is under the management of F. J. 
Arens & Son, who give the business their personal attention and who 
thoroughly understand how to meet the requirement of the most ex- 
acting. 

Other Hotels and Cafes — The city has many other hotels and res- 
taurants, where lodgings and meals can be obtained at prices to suit 
patrons. Among the more notable are the Occidental, the Stubbins, the 
Oneida, and the Slierman House, where the service is very good. 

The Bertha Ballard — This is one of the most unique and practical 
institutions of its kind in the country. It was founded originally in 
1890, and known as the Friends' Boarding House for Girls, and was 
conducted as such until 1900, \^■heu W. H. Ballard, a prominent busi- 
ness man of this city, presented the institution with its present magnifi- 
cent building and grounds as a memorial to his daughter. It is con- 
ducted for the sole purpose of providing a home for self-supporting 
girls, where they can obtain every comfort desired at actual cost. 

The Mutual Service Association is an organization that was formed 
in 1904 for the mutual benefit of professional and working girls of In- 
dianapolis. The organiz.ition maintains a beautiful home in a large 
park near Fairview, wliere accommodations are furnished the mem- 
bers at a cost of from ?3.00 to $4.00 a week. In the summer tents are 
erected upon the grounds for the accommodation of the members, where 
tliey are afforded all of the benefits of an outdoor life. It maintains 
an employment bureau free of cost and looks after the personal wel- 
fare of those connected with the organization. 

Clubs and Social Organizations — Club life in Indianapolis has be- 
come to be one of its most prominent and interesting features. There 
are nearly 250 organizations and miscellaneous societies representing 
club life, in the city. Tliese embrace social, iiolitical, literary, nmsical, 
dramatic, athletic, driving clubs, etc. Some of the club houses in point 
of construction and equipment are the equal of the finest in the country 
and represent an investment of many thousands of dollars, affording 
tlioir members a variety of luxuries and delights not possible at home. 

The South Side Turnverein is located on Prospect street in one of 
the most sulistantial cluli buildings in the city. The building was erected 
in December, 1900, and dedicated January 20, 1901, with all prominent 
German organiiiations participating in the celebration. 



144 



HY MAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The Independent Turnverein — This society was organized January, 
1879. The present handsonie club houi5e was erected in 1885. It Is 
equipped with the best bouliiis alleys in the West. The building is one 
of the most substantial contributions to club architecture in the city. 

Indianapolis Maennerchor was organized in 18554, and is one of the 
oldest and most influential German organizations in this city. It has 
given in concerts and in courses of instruction the best works of Ger- 
man composers, and it has been potent in developing the love for music 
in this communitj'. Its membership is composed of active members who 
an? musicians or students, and others to whom the social features of 
the organization appeal. In 1906 it erected its present magnificent 
building on tlie northwest corner of Michigan and Illinois sireets, and 
it is one of the finest examples of club architecture in America. It is 
sumptuously furnished and is fitted with all the conveniences necessary 
to modern club life. A unique feature of the building is the beautiful 
roof garden. 

The Boys' Club is located at the corner of Madison avenue and Me- 
ridian street. It is conducted by the Boys Club Association that was 





SCOTTISH BITE BUiLDIKG. 



146 HYMAyS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

organized for the purpose of supplying needy boys with assistance and 
surrounding them with such influences as would tend to make self- 
respecting and self-supporting men of them. The club maintains a 
free reading-room, baths and gymnasium and is open to boys from ten 
to twenty years of age. 

The Indianapolis Propylaeum was incorporated June 6. 188S, for 
the purpose of promoting and encouraging literary and scientific en- 
deavors, also for erecting and maintaining a suitable building that 
would provide a center of higher culture for the puVilic, and particularly 
for the women of Indianapolis. The organization of the Tropylaeum 
was due to the suggestion of Mrs. Jlay Wright Sewall. The member- 
ship of the organization is composed exclusively of women. The lead- 
ing organizations of the city, both those composed of women only, and 
those composed of lioth men and women, find in the Propylaeum suit- 
able quarters for their meetings. The building which is owned by the 
association is strilung in appearance, of modern Romanesque architec- 
ture, and constructed of oolitic limestone, brick and iron. The location 
is beautiful, fronting upon the grounds of the Institution for the Blind. 
The building is handsomely furnished throughout with exceptional 
facilities and convenient accommodations for club meetings, banquets, 
lectures, public and private receptions, concerts, art exhibits, and, in 
general, for all social, literary, musical and other gatherings for which 
private houses are too small and public halls too large, too inconvenient 
or for various reasons unattractive. 

The Dramatic Club, which was incorporated in 1891, is the out- 
growth of an organization of young ladies formed to give dramatic 
performances. The first play given by the club was at the Propylaeum, 
where it still continues to hold its meetings. While the prime object 
of the club is to entertain its members and friends, it has been instru- 
mental in arousing thought and intellectual interest in the art of acting. 
Plays of remarkable dramatic power as well as of fine literary merit 
have been written by some of its members, notable among which are 
the productions of Mrs. Margaret Butler Snow, Miss Louise Garrard, 
Miss Susan Van Valkenburg and Newton Booth Tarkington. In the 
years of its existence the club has more than fulfilled the expectations 
of its founders, and has proved to be a public benefactor. Its plays 
have often been repeated for charity. 

Art Association of Indianapolis was organized May 7, 1883, and In- 
corporated on October 11, 1883. The object of the organization is the 
cultivation and advancement of art, and the establishment of a perma- 
nent art museum in this city. To this end it gives exhibitions, provides 
lectures and purchases works of art; only one year since its organiza- 
tion has it failed to hold an annual exhibition. 




bm 


IM 


^'.^-■~ 


n 


■T" 


II 


L 


1 


■ 


M 



lYMAX'S HAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




THE BLACHERNE. 



Marion Club 

maintains its 
club house on 
Nor til Merid- 
ian, opposite 
the site of the 
new federal 
building. It is 
maintained for 
the purpose of 
IH-omoting the 
interests of 
Republicanism 
and has a very 
large and ac- 
tive member- 
ship, which em- 
braces some of 
the most high- 
ly honored and I 
popular men in the Republican party. 

The Indiana Club was organized this year by prominent Democratsl 
of the city and state for the purpose of advancing the interests of their] 
political organization in local, state and national affairs. 

Tlie Canoe Club maintains a splendidly equipped club house in 
Riverside park on the east bank of White river. It has a member- 
ship of about 300 business and professional men, who enjoy boating 
and give encouragement to aquatic sports. Beside the club house its 
members own numerous steam and electric launches, canoes and other 
craft, which are cared for in a well-appointed boathouse. A toboggan 
slide is one of the Interesting amusement features of the club. 

Tlie Country Club is one of the most prominent social clubs of this 
city. It has a handsome home about four miles north of the city, near 
Fairview park, overlooking the canal. 

The Americus Club is a social club maintained by the prominent 
Jewish citizens of this city. 

Other Club and Society Buildings— Among other notable club and 
society buildings are the Scottish Rite building on South Pennsylvania 
street, the Elks' Club building on East Maryland street, the Universitj' 
Club on North Meridian street, the club buildings erected by th^e Knight 
of Tythias lodges on East Ohio street. 




COUNTRY CLUB. 



150 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The Indianapolis Board of Trade— This organization was orig- 
inally known as the Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce and was or- 
ganized June 12, 1882. Shortly after this date the corporate njime of 
the association was changed, and it has since been known as the In- 
dianapolis Board of Trade. Its membership is composed at present of 
five hundred of the leading business and professional men of the city, 
with a few non-resident members. 

The objects of the association are to promote the commercial, finan- 
cial, industrial, and other interests of the city of Indianapolis ; to secure 
uuitormity in commercial usages and customs ; to facilitate business 
tercourse; to promote commercial ethics and to adjust differences and 
disputes in trade. This was not the first commercial organization 
formed in the city. The history of the city informs us that at various 
times, associations of a similar character were formed, the first of 
which came into existence about the year 1865 or 1836. None of these 
early associations were successful and each failed for want of proper 
support 

The Board of Trade is the headquarters of the grain trade in this 
city, and by it the Indianapolis cash grain market is established through 
' the medium of its grain call, which bikes place each day at 12 o'clock 
noon. The Board of Trade is in every sense a business organization and 
wields much beneficient influence in shaping the affairs of the city. 

The following are a few of the more prominent affairs in which it 
has rendered valuable service and aided in securing for this city. The 
new Federal building and postofBce, the army post, the national mone- 
tary convention, the Soldiers' Monument, the present city charter, the 
Fall Creek boulevard, the Columbia Day celebration held here in 18 
the Liberty Bell demonstration, etc. In addition to the above we re- 
count the numerous occasions when its relief committee has secured 
funds and distributed same to the many sufferers by storm, flood, fire 
and other calamities that have visited various portions of the state and 
nation. 

The Board of Trade has recently erected a fine eight-story office 
building on the southeast come'- of Meridian and Ohio streets, which 
is acknowledged to be one of the most modern and substantial office 
buildings in the central AVest. The rooms used by the Board are 
located on the seventh floor and are all furnished in a manner befitting 
the diguitj' of the association and reflecting great credit upon its mem- 
bers.' These rooms consist of a large assembly room, governing commit- 
tee's room, secretary's office, parlor and reading room, committee rooms, 
dining room, kitchen, etc. The new building has given <iuite an im- 
petus to the membership on account of the social features which have 
been inaugurated, and the younger element of business men are becoming 
more interested in the affairs of the association. 



EYMAX'S HANDISOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



151 



The Commercial Club v/as organized in January, 1890, by twenty- 
seven business and professional men of Indianapolis, the membership of 
which increased within a month to nearly a thousand. Its name does 
not fully indicate the club's purpose, which is not commercial in a sense 
of devotion to trade interests, but is broadly stated to make the Indiana 
capital a better place to lire in. The club's influence has not only been 
felt at home but throughout the world. It was instrumental a few 
weeks after its organization iu bringing together the street paving ex- 
position of Indianapolis. Up to this time no definite system had been 
discovered for the uniform paving of sti'eets and the result of this con- 
gress was the adoption of the present plan of asphalt paving, not only 
in Indianapolis, but throughout America and foreign countries. Among 
other work to which the club has given it assistance and cooperation 
are the securing of a new city charter, the inauguration of a system of 
street improvements and of sewerage, the promotion of a park system, 
railroad track elevation, the location of new industries, etc. In a word 
the club's accomplishment is that no one's thought for the betterment 
of the community has had to be unrealized for want of co-operation. 
With a view to permanence in this effort of public spirit an eight-story 
stone front building was erected by the club in 1890, at the southwest 
corner of Meridian and Pearl streets as its home. The club membership 
is now in excess of 1,400 members. 




MASONIC TEMPLE. 



HTMAN'ti HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



Places of Amusement— These consist of six theaters. English 
Opera House is devoted to the production of the highest class, the 
Grand Opera House and the Majestic to fashionable vaudeville, the 
Park Theater to popular-priced plays and the Empire and Gayety The- 
aters are devoted to burlesque. In addition to these are numerous small- 
er places of attraction. For sum- 
mer amusements the principal 
one is Fairbank, situated on 
North Illinois street on the north 
bank of Fall creek. It is one of 
the most beautiful gardens in the 
United States, and in the season 
the most notable bands and 
orchestras in the world give 
concerts here. 

Indiana State Fair, which is 
held in Indianapolis in the fall 
of the year, is the great event 
that attracts thousands of In- 
dianians with their families to 
the Hoosier capital. It is the 
annual exhibition of progress in 
agriculture, horticulture, stock 
raising and the various depart- 
ments of husbandry. In 1893 
the State Board of Agriculture 
secured the beautiful tract of 
21.-1 acres northeast of the city 
it now has covered with conve- 
nient buildings, including the 
magnificent coloseum erected in 
1907, which is one of the finest 
and largest in this country. The 
ground formerly occupied by the 
lair was sold in 1S92 for $275,- 
000, and is now one of the most 
attractive residential districts in 
the city. 

The Race Track, located on 
the state fair grounds, is one of 
the best in the country. The trdck and its accessories are of ideal con- 
struction and consists of a mile track with a half-mile within it for 
training purposes and for the purpose of expediting races while they are 
in progress on the main track. The stabling, blue grass, v.-ater, shaded 
drives, etc., are exceptionally fine. 





BRIDGES. TUNNELS, SEWERS, AQUEDUCTS, WATER, LIQHTINQ BY GAS AND 
ELECTRICITY, TELEGRAPH AND TELEPHONES. 

The demands of a modern metropolis require easy, rapid and safe 
means of transit, and for the health, comfort and uouveuieuce of Its 
citizens extensive sewer, water, heating and lighting facilities. In 
this respect Indianapolis has liept abreast of the most progressive cities 
in the country, and over head and under foot it has much of interest 
and value. Beneath the principal streets there is a networli of pipes 
of all descriptions, sewers and water mains, conduits for electric light, 
telephone and telephone wires, and over and under the 
railroads, tunnels and viaducts. Were it not for these 
conveniences overhead and underground the activities 
of the city would be hampered to a considerable extent. 
Marion County Heating and Lighting Plant— Dur- 
ing 1900 a power-house was erected on the grounds of 
the county jail, a tunnel was constructed leading from 
the power-house to the basement of the court-house, and 




Wt- 



BYMAy'S HANDBOOK OF Il^DIAUAPOLIS. 




THE AQUEDUCT OVER FALL CREEK. 



the entire sanitary, lighting and beating system of the court house 
was taken out and the county's own system installed. 

The Aqueduct carries the water of the canal over Fall creek. It is 
located northwest of the city and Is maintained by the Indianapolis 
Water Company. 

Virginia Avenue Viaduct is the only structure of this character in 
the city, and it affords easy, safe and rapid passage for pedestrians, 
vehicles and street cars over the numerous railroads that cross the 
avenue. 

Illinois Street Tunnel, under the Union Railway Station, was the 
first engineering work of this kind completed in this city. It is for the 
convenience of vehicles and pedestrians and •carries Illinois street under 
the railroad tracks. 

Conduit Systems — The telegraph, telephone and electric light com- 
panies maintain complete conduit systems in the original mile square, 
which embraces the entire business district of the cit}'. There are in 
all thirty-two miles of conduits, through which the wires of the com- 
panies are carried to all parts of the city. 

Track Ele\'ation in ludianapolis was started by the Commercial 
Club at a meeting held In lti94, based on recommendations made in a 



BYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 155 




THIRTIETH STREET BRIDGE OVER FALL CREEK. 



very thorough report submitted by William Fortune, treating the vari- 
ous methods of abolishing grade crossiugs and showing what had 
been accomphshed in other cities. The meeting authorized the appoint- 
ment of a permanent commission on track elevation to continue the 
efCort in Indianapolis until successful. The commission was headed in 
the beginning by Col. Eli Lilly as chairman and William Fortune as 
secretary. On the death of Col. Lilly in 1898, Mr. Fortune became the 
chairman, and has since continued at the head of the commission, 
which was persistent in its efforts with city officials, and before the 
State legislature and the courts. A campaign of education was con- 
ducted for several years, and the question was an issue at several mu- 
nicipal elections. In 1S08 an ordinance was passed under the Taggart 
administration regarding elevation of tracks, but was defeated in the 
courts. I^inally in 1005, under the Holtzman administration, track ele- 
vation at the Massaclmsetts avenue crossing was started and was com- 
pleted in 1906. The enactment of a state law by the legislature was 
also brought about m 1905, providing for track elevation at an annual 
exiienditure not exceeding iflOO.OOO, of which not over twenty-five per 
cent, should be paid by the city and county. Under this law the ele- 
vation of the tracks turough the center of the city east from White 



156 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXU'OLIS. 




river was begun iu J90a and has continued under Mayor Bookwalter's 
administration. It is now tlie established policy of the city to abolish 
grade crossings aiid to elevate the railroad tracks wherever this is the 
most practical method. The elevation at Massachusetts avenue has been 
of mcalculable benefit to the section of the city lying east of the tracks, 
and it has been the contention of the Coiimiercial Club commission that 
the elevation of the tracks will be the solution of the greatest problem 
affecting the physical development of the city at its present stage of 
growth. 

The Indianapolis Light and Heat Company, as a result of a merger 
of the earlier central stations, came l:tto existencce in 1905. Its equip- 
ment is equal to the best and largest power and light plants in the 
world. The business of the company consists in supplying electricity 
for all of the various uses to which this potential form of energy can 
be applied. Its most general application is for municipal lighting, in the 
use of which over 1,800 arc lamps, of 2,000 candle power, are employed; 
in the illumination of stores and residences, using approximately 400,000 
incandescent lamps, .-ind in the use of current as power in the various 
industrial establishments, elevators, newspaper offices, etc., and for all 
the varied and numerous other uses for which it is readily economically 



EYMAA'S HAXDBOOK OF lyDIANAPOLIS. 157 





.1 

1 




^'. 




yr^'z 


.-' 


iiBH^. 




^ 


■ 


■ ■V'^iii 




^^HHH 


H^Hfl 



INDIANAPOLIS LIGHT AND HEAT CO.'S KENTUCKY AVE. STATION. 



employed ; over 10,000 horsepower is furnished by the company. The 
station of the company, located at the crossing of the Vandalia railroad 
and Kentucky avenue, has a combined output of ] 0,000 horsepower, and 
the Mill street station 6,000 horsepower. Located on Bird street, next 
to the, ■^Villoughby building, on North Meridian street, the company has 
installed the third largest storage battery in the world, with a 'reserve 
energy equivalent to 3.000 horsepower, sutRcient to supply its entire 
system for one-half hour iu ease of an emergency, or it c:in be used at 
any time to take part of the station's load should it become necessary. 
The amount of electric output of this company is greater per capita 
than that of any other station in the United States. This result has 
been brought about largely by the policy of the company in giving to 
the consumer the benefits of the cheapening processes as rai)idly as they 
have been adopted. In no city iu the country, under similar circum- 
stances, is electricity sold so cheaply. A notable evidence of this is the 
lavish use of electricity by the merchants of the city for decorative 
and display purposes. The electrical signs and decorations on the main 
thoroughfares in this city are not equ.illed by the profuse displays on 
Broadway, New York City. All of the company's wires in the mile 



BYMAXS HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAP0LI8. 




INDIANAPOLIS LIGHT AND HEAT CO.'S MILL ST. STATION. 



square which embraces the e-itirc business seotlon of the city are car- 
ried underground in a comprehensive conduit-system — ^the largest main 
in the world emplo.yed in the dlsti'ibution of the Edison system of light- 
ing. The installation of the underground system began in 1889. The 
company is purely a local one, and all of the stock of the company is 
held by Indianapolis citizens. Daniel W. Marmou is president, Charles 
C. Perry, vice-president and treasurer, and Thomas A. Wynne, secretary 
and general superintendent. 

Bridges — Indianapolis is in possession of more permanent examples 
Of fine bridge architecture than any other city in the country. This is 
especially notable, not only for the reason that Indianapolis is an inland 
citj% but that they are all products of the genius of a citizen of Indian- 
apolis, Henry W. Klaussraan, who jilanned and designed them, and all 
were built by local contractors. The work of displacing wooden and 
iron bridges with permanent stone and concrete structures began with 
the erection of the stone bridge over Fall creek on Central avenue in 
1900. This was followed by the Melan arch bridge over Fall creek at 
Meridian and Illinois streets. In March, 1904, Indianapolis was visited 
by the most disastrous flood in the history of the city, which destroyed 
practically all of the bridges over White river, and owing to the condi- 



EYMAN-ii HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




THE EMRICHSVILLE BRIDGE OVER WHITE RIVER. 



tion of the city's finances the county assumed the work of building the 
needed bridges by appropriating nearly a million dollars, and the work 
was begun on systematic basis. The work has progressed rapidly ever 
since. 

Washington Street Bridge over White river is a steel girder struc- 
ture on stone abutments, 430x80 feet, was built at a cost of $147,000, by 
Wm. Fife & Son. 

Michigan Street Bridge is a three-span Melan arch structure faced 
with Bedford stone, 425x00 feet, built at a cost of $145,000, by the 
Central States Bridge Company. 

Morris Street Bridge is a five-span Melan arch structure, 654x50 
feet, built at a cost ot $152,000, by Wm. Fife & Son. 

River Avenue Bridge is a concrete structure with concrete and steel 
girders, 430x58 feet, and cost $120,000. The substructure was built by 
the Moore-Mansfield Construction Company, and the superstnicture by 
the Central States Bridge Company. A notable feature of this bridge 
is that it contains longer concrete girders than any other bridge in the 
United States. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




COLLEGE AVE. BRIDGE. 



College Avenue Bridge over Fall creek is a three-span all stone 
structure, built of stratified limestone, 235x50 feet, at a cost of $90,000, 
by Wm, Fife & Son. 

The Emrichsville Bridge over White river at Riverside park is a 
three-span Melan arch structure faced with Bedford stone, 425x40 feet, 
built at a cost of ?1'J0,000 by the Central States Bridge Company. 

Thirtieth Street Bridge over Fall creek is a reinforced concrete 
structure, two spans over the creek and one span over the boulevard 
drive way. It is faced with Bedford stone and built at a cost of $75,000, 
by Wm. Fife & Son. 

Thirtieth Street Bridge over White river is a three-span Melan 
arch bridge. 425x70 feet, and buiit at a cost of $170,000, by the Marlon 
County Construction Company. 

The Merchants Heat and Light Company supplies steam heat, 
electric light and power, operating under a franchise from the city of 
Indianapolis. The distributing pipes, conduits and appurtenances are 
required to be placed underground in the di.strict Ijnown as the original 
mile square, to which territorj' the operations of the company are 
chiefly confined. This company was organized, and its common stock 
is held, by the largest retail merchants of the city, embracing all but 
a few of the members of the Merchants' Association. The use of nat- 



EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 161 




MERCHANTS HEAT AND LIGHT COMPANY. 



ural gas for fuel here for so many years resulted In leaving the indi- 
vidual heating and lighting plants throughout the business section of 
the city practically without equiinuent for tlie burning of coal when the 
gas supply became exhausted. This was the primary cause for the or- 
ganization of the coiapany. In its original inception the intention was 
to supply heat and light only to the stocliholders, but the demand for 
service from the company at once became so general that this plan was 
radically modified before the actual work of construction began. A 
very large part of the patronage of the company now comes from others 
that the stockholders and members of the Merchants' Association. The 
company's power house is located at New Jersey and Pearl streets, and 
it has an electric subsLatlou at No. 31 W. Pearl street The general 
offices are at 25 South Pennsylvania street. At the present time this 
company has an investment of approximately one million dollars. 

The Central States Bridge Company, formerly the Newcastle 
Bridge Company of Newcastle, Ind., moved to Indianapolis in the spring 
of 1902, and has been successful in handling some of the largest con- 
tracts both in the city and county, and has executed them in a manner 
that will secure for it the future business of the parties for whom the 
work was done. This company does both structural steel work and 



162 HYMAN'S HAl^DBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

bridge work; also heavy concrete masonry work. Below are a few 
of the contracts it has to its credit: 

Steel work in the Grand Lodge K. of P. building, Indianapolis. 

Steel work in Castle Hall K. of P. building, Indianapolis. 

Kew York Central shops at Beech Grove, Ind. 

Massachusetts avenue elevated, Indianapolis. 

Warman aveuue elevated for the Pennsylvania R. R., Indianapolis. 

Sis large bridges over power canal at Sault Ste. Marie, Jlich. 

Emrichsville bridge, Indianapolis. 

WesL Michigan street bridge, Indianapolis. 

Live stock show pavilion, state fair grounds, Indianapolis. 

Superstructure of the River avenue bridge, Indianapolis. 

Union station and viaduct at Lexington, Ki'. 

Large viaduct at Clifton Forge, A' a. 

Several other large contracts might be mentioned, but we are at- 
tempting to give only a few of the most important ones. 

The location of this company is ideal for their business, being on 
the Belt railroad. 

The officers of the company are : T. L. Campbell, president ; J. E. 
Troyer, vice-president and chief engineer; Eugene Runyan, secretary 
and general manager ; Levi S. Pierson, treasurer. 

George W. Fife, stone and concrete bridge builder, is successor to 
the old established firm of Wm. Fife & Son. This was the oldest con- 
cern in this city engaged in this line of work, and the contracts com- 
pleted by it stand as monuments of its ability. Some of the more 
notable work done by this firm are : The bridge over White river on 
West Washington street, the beautiful bridges over Thirtieth street at 
Fall creek, the College avenue bridge and the Morris street bridge over 
White river, all of which are illustrated in this book. This concern 
did all of the masonry work for the Big i'our railroad for twelve con- 
secutive years between Cincinnati and Chicago. 

Wm. Fife, the founder of the firm, died April, 1907, and his son 
will bring to the new concern the experience gained in his past asso- 
ciation with the work. The office is located in room 412, Knights of 
Pythias building, 230 East Ohio street. 

Mansfield Engineering Company — This company was formed by 
the association of Mr. Henry A. Mansfield and Mr. DeWitt V. Moore, 
who are the only ones interested, about sis or seven years ago. The 
company maintains a corps of graduated engineers and designers, and 
is prepared to handie any civil engineering proposition, with especial 
reference to reinforced concrete design and construction of steam and 
electric railway surveys and construction. In reinforced concrete de- 
signing this company is a pioneer in this vicinity, and at the present 
time represents one of the best known and most widely used systems 



EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 163 

of construction, namely, that of the Trussed Concrete Steel Company, 
of Detroit, Mich., using the Kahn system, consisting of the Kahn 
sheared bar, the Kahn cup bar and the Kahn ribbed metal and ex- 
panded metal. With the various forms of reinforcing material and 
the experience in hundreds of structures, this company is prepared to 
make designs for any kind of an architectural or engineering structure. 
The company's experience in interurban railway construction has been 
very extensive, and their reports, prospecti, designs, etc., on a large 
number of propositions have been very highly complimented upon, not 
only by local institutions, but by the larger financial institutions of the 
East. 




RIVER AVENUE BRIDGE OVER WHITE RIVER. 



The Moore=Mansfield Construction Company— This construction 
company was incorporated in August, 1902, by the association of Jlr. 
Henry A. Mansfield, C. E., and DeWitt V. Moore, O. E., and their con- 
nections. Both of these gentlemen had had an extensive experience in 
construction work before the organization of the company, both having 
been connected with the Pennsylvania lines west of Pittsburg in the 
engineering department, and in addition Mr. Mansfield was city en- 
gineer of Indianapolis during the term of Mr. Sullivan. 

In the five years' life of the company about seventy-five contracts 
have been executed. The work of this company in engineering design 
and construction has been so diversified, and has covered so broad a 
field that in more than the usual sense of the word they have a right 
to style themselves as "general contractors." 

A brief outline of some of the work done by this company during 
the past five years covers a great variety of work, of which might be 
mentioned. 



164 ETHAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Indianapolis & Plainfield electric railway ; numerous side tracks 
and accessories for industries of Indianapolis; concrete intakes for In- 
dianapolis Traction and Terminal Co. ; Pogue's run bridge work for In- 
dianapolis Union Ry. Co.; bridge work to the extent of 40,000 cubic 
yards for the Big Four, Cincinnati division, and other smaller work for 
same company ; intake and outfall for water supply from Fall creek 
for the Indianapolis Light and Heat Company; the River avenue bridge, 
a view of which appears in this work; the boulevard along the south 
side of Fall creek between Capitol and Central avenues, and under- 
grade crossing of Pleasant run boulevard between Belt railroad for 
Indianapolis Union Ry. Co., and also similar work now under way along 
the north side of Fall creek between same points ; Pennsylvania street 
sewer north of Fall creek for city of Indianapolis ; reinforced concrete 
skeleton construction of the new Board of Trade building, Indianapolis ; 
promotion and completion of the Indianapolis, Crawfordsville & West- 
ern Traction Co., which is one of the latest and best lines entering In- 
dianapolis ; plain and reinforced concrete work in connection with the 
Big Four shops at Beech Grove, Indianapolis ; twenty-eight reinforced 
concrete bridges on the line of the Indianapolis, New Castle & Toledo 
electric railway between Indianapolis and New Castle. 

In addition to the large amount of work in and around Indianap- 
olis this company has and is now doing a large amount of work through- 
out the state, from complete construction of concrete buildings to the 
complete construction of interurban and steam railways. 

This company believes in engineering design and engineering super- 
vision of all construction work, and has an efficient corps of graduated 
engineers, and is prepared with an organization of men, tools and 
machinery to handle any proposition along the above lines. 

The management of the company is divided between Mr. Henry A. 
Mansfield, president and treasurer, and Mr. DeWitt V. Moore, vice-presi- 
dent and secretary. 

Central Union Telephone Company — Indianapolis is the general 
headquarters of the Central Union Telephone Company, which conducts 
the organized telephone business of Ohio, Indiana and Illinois in the 
Bell telephone system. The company moved into its new headquarters 
building at New York and Meridian streets in October, 1907. The first 
telephone exchange in Indianapolis, operated by a company of which 
the .Central Union is a successor, was a small affair. It has since 
grown until the Central Union has now 13,000 telephones in Indianap- 
olis and 5,000 more in the immediate suburbs. The traflSe is handled 
through five exchanges — "Main," located on the upper floors of the new 
building ; "North," on Twenty -fourth street ; "Irvington," on East Wash- 
ington street; "Woodruff," on North Rural street, and "Prospect," on 
Shelby street As the city grows and the outlying districts are more 




CENTRAL UNION TELEPHONE OOMPMIY BUILDING. 



HYMANS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




MERIDIAN STREET BRIDGE AND BOULEVARD APPROACH. 



thickly settled it is likely that otber branches will be established. The 
company has the most complete long-distance service in existence over 
its own lines, covering the three states and over the lines of the Ameri- 
can Telephone and Telegraph Company, reaching all the principal cities 
and towns in the United States and Canada east of the Rocky moun- 
tains. These lines are constructed of large gauge copper wire, and con- 
versation over them is as clear and satisfying as over local lines. The 
new building is an eight-story structure and one of the best constructed 
in the city. The company's general headquarters were moved from Chi 
cago four years ago, Indianapolis being considered a more suitable place 

The officers of the company are as follows : President, L. G. Rich- 
ardson ; vice-president and general manager, H. F. Hill ; secretary and 
treasurer, Xy. S. Chapman ; assistant treasurer, C. L. McNaughton 
auditor, John Uprichard. 

New Long Distance Telephone Company, located at 230 North 
Meridian street, was organized in 1808 for the purpose of giving toll 
lino service to the independent telephone companies throughout Indiana 
and adjoining states. The development of the toll line branch of the 
telephone business has been in keeping with the exchange development. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



167 



and this company now has radiating out of Indianapolis to all parts 
of the state a complement of more than 1,000 miles of pole line and 8,400 
miles of wire. 

The company furnishes toll line facilities for the 200,000 independent 
telephones in the state, giving rapid service not only to Indianapolis 
but to all the principal towns and cities in adjoining states. Its con- 
nection with the other large toll line systems of the East, West and 
South makes it an integral part of the great independent system which 
has so rapidly developed throughout the United States during the past 
ten years. 

The same officers operate and control the New long distance system 
and the Indianapolis exchange system, making the two practically one 
large corporation. 

The Indianapolis Telephone Company was organized in 1904 as 
a holding company, taking over by lease all the property of the New 
Telephone Company in Indianapolis and Marion county and operating 
it as an independent telephone plant. The main exchange and general 
offices are at 230 North Meridian street, in the company's building, 
wlijcli is now too small for the increasing business. Branch exchanges 



N 1. . i 


L . '1 {.^ 


^. 






'^ '^^md"^ 


^^-- -.^' 



INDIANAPOLIS TELEPHONE EXCHANGE. 



168 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

at Twenty-second street and Talbott avenue for the North Side, 1025 
Prospect street for the South Side, North Indianapolis, Broad Ripple, 
Irvington, Lawrence, New Augusta, Cumberland and Clermont are all 
connected with the main exchange, the total number of telephones iu 
use being in excess of 12,000. These lines connect with the New Long 
Distance Telephone Company's wires, which reach all over Indiana and 
adjoining states, in Indiana alone giving subscribers access to over 200,- 
000 telephones. The officers of the company are : James S. Brailey, 
jr., president; George C. Hitt, vice-president, secretary and treasurer; 
James E. Brailey, general manager, and John A. Moriarty, assistant 
general manager. 

The Indianapolis Gas Company, engaged in furnishing artificial 
gas to the city of Indianapolis, was incorporated in 1890 as successor 
to the Indianapolis Gaslight and Coli;e Company, the Electric Lighting. 
Gas Heating and Illuminating Company and the Indianapolis Natural 
Gas Company. The Indianapolis Gaslight and Coke Company started 
business in ISol. Natural gas was supplied iu the city from 1888 to 
1903. In 1902, knowing that natural gas would soon be a thing of the 
past, the Indianapolis Gas Company purchased a tract of 26% acres 




VIEW ON FALL CREEK BOULEVARD. 




ESTIC BUILDING. 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOE OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




on Langsdale avenue and the Big Four 
railroad and started ttie erection of a 
new gas works, which they realized 
would be necessary as soon as natural 
gas gave out. This plant has been added 
to since that time, so that now the com- 
pany has a combined coal gas and water 
gas plant having a daily capacity of about 
7,000,000 cubic feet. In building this 
plant it was always the aim of the com- 
pany to install only the most modern and 
economical machinery, the result being 
that the company has one of the best gas 
plants in the country. 

The policy of the company is liberal 
and progressive, and it has had marked 
success in promoting the sales of gas for 
domestic and industrial uses. The com- 
pany is giving excellent service, and is 
using every endeavor to educate its con- 
sumers in the economical use of gas, and 
for tills purpose they have opened a sales 
department which carries a full line of all 
the best gas appliances, and has a full 
corps of instructors and inspectors who 
keep in constant touch with its consumers. 

The company now has over 30,000 con- 
sumers and over 300 miles of mains. Gas 
was first sold in 1S51 for $4.50 per 1,000 
cubic feet, but reductions made from time 
to time have brought it down to the pres- 
ent price of 90 cents per 1,000 cubic feet. 

The officers of the company are: F. S. 
Hastings, president; E. C. Benedict, vice- 
president; W'm. 51. Stevenson, secretary, 
and Edward Beers, treasurer. Since 1905 
the active management of the company 
has been in the hands of Carl H. Graf 
as general manager. 

The offices are located in the Majestic 
Building, northeast corner of Pennsyl- 
vania and Maryland streets. This build- 
ing is one of the handsomest in the city. 



17a 



HTMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



The Indianapolis Water Company is a corporation organized un- 
der tlie statutes ot 18G5. and operates under a francliise granted by tlie 
city in 1869. Under autliority conferred by these tlie company is 
charged with the duty of supplying the city with water for extinguish- 
ing fires, flusliiug streets and sewers, filling cisterns and for public uses 
generally, mciudmg hospitals, markets, engine and hose reel houses, 
and with furnishing the citizens good potable water for domestic, indus- 
trial and manufacturing purposes. The company has up to this date 



laid 291 miles of mains from 
It has erected pumping ma- 
is estimated at 82,000,000 
ery is contained in four dif- 
are exceptionally handsome, 
has surrounding it 252 acres. 



four inches to thirty-six inches, 
chinery the capacity of which 
gallons daily. This machin- 
ferent buildings, two of which 
The Riverside pumping station 
part of it being in a park adjoin- 
ing the buildings. The water 
which the company supplies is 
furnished mainly from its slow 
sand filtration system, 
which is regarded as 
one of the most perfect 
in the country. The 
water after it passes 
through the filters is 
exceedingly beautiful, 
bright and sparkling as 
spring water. In addi- 
tion to the supply from 
the filters the company 
has a deep well supply, 
the water from the wells being lifted by compressed air. 

In granting the franchise to the company the city reserved the 
right to take stock in the company or to buy it or to build for itself. 
The city and citizens up to the present time have been indifferent as 
to the purchase, for the reason that it has been able to obtain from the 
company all that it could obtain if the works were owned by the city. 
Rates to the citizens for domestic supply have been below the average 
of the country, and as to fire protection, the national board of 
dorwriters in the recent report on conditions 
"Pressure satisfactoi-y and well maintained." 

The city, through its Board of Public Works, Board of Health and 
Charities and Board of Public Safety, exercises much control over the 
company. The Board of Public Works has the right to compel the com- 




e un- 
Indianapolis said. 



HYMANS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




UPPER PUMPING STATION, INDIANAPOLIS WATER COMPANY. 



pany to lay 40,000 feet of mains annually, to take up and relocate fire 
hydrants, to connect cisterns with the mains, to repair the streets where 
they havcf been opened by the company, and to remove its mains and 
hydrants when they interfere with public improvements, all without 
expense to the city. For public use the citj' pays an annual rental of 
$40 per hydrant, which covers all that the city is obligated to pay, and 
includes not only the water used for fire protection purposes, but also 
that used for flushing sewers and cleaning streets, as well as a large 
amount of so-called "free water" used in the city buildings, the hos- 
pitals, the market houses, engine and hose reel houses and public parks. 
When the taxes paid by the company, which are at this time averaging 
8 per cent, of its gross receipts, and the wear and depreciation are 
taken into account the rental seems reasonable. This is especially true 



174 HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

since the result of the extension of water mains on order of the Board 
of Public Works is that citizens build residences, factories and store- 
Mouses the taxes upon which amount to many times the hydrant rental, 
it is even not uncommon that the increased taxes paid by the water 
company on these new mains, valves, hydrants and branches more than 
pay the entire hydrant rental on that particular line. These facts and 
the knowledge that under private ownership the operation of the prop- 
erty will be free from political influence, that there will be continuity 
of policy which would- be impossible under changing management in- 
evitable with shifting political control of city government, and that the 
eniployes of the company, under assurance of long employment in e 
change tor good service, are encouraged to put forth their best efforts 
these considerations make the people hesitate to assume the burdens 
and responsibilities inseparable from a service that is so identified with 
tl'.e life, health and prosperity of the community. No one can read the 
statutes and ordinances under which the water company operates with- 
out coming to the conclusion that the city already exercises such a com- 
plete control over the operation of the company that little could be 
gained under public ownership except the satisfaction of civic pride, 
which hardly seems a sufficient consideration as long as fhe water com- 
pany keeps pace, as at present, with the growth of the city. 

There is ample evidence that the management of the water com- 
pany believes that Indianapolis is to be a great city, and that the 
problem of the water supply for the future Indianapolis will grow more 
difficult every year. Only recently the company has purchased a 100- 
acre tract lying between the canal and the river for the purpose of 
constructing a huge storage reservoir having a capacity of about 400,- 
000,000 gallons. It also will construct near the filtration system a sedi- 
mentation basin that will hold more than 100,000,000 gallons. An addi- 
tional clear water reservoir of 6,000,000 gallons capacity is nearing 
completion at the Riverside pumping station. In compliance with the 
contract with the city the company has already laid 40,000 feet of new 
mains this year. All of which means a liberal expenditure of money, 
and shows that the company has absolute confidence in the future 
growth of Indianapolis. 

The capital stock of the company is $500,000; bonded indebtedness, 
$3,500,000. Officers are: F. A. W. Davis, president aud treasurer; 
L. C. Boyd, vice-president; Hugh McK. Laudon, secretary; directors, 
E. P. Kimball. E. T. Kimball, Edward Daniels, Albert Baker, V. T. Ma- 
',ott, C. H. Payson. E. R. Payson, Herbert Payson, C. S. Andrews, E. C. 
Boyd, F. A. W. Davis, Geo. W. Landon, H. McK. Landon. 

The Western Union Telegraph Company is associated with the 
earliest history of Indianapolis. The .first telegraph company that 



176 HYMAyi- HAXDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

operated from this point was known as the Ohio, Illinois and Indiana 
Telegraph Company, and the line was constructed from Cincinnati to 
Chicago, via Lafayette, over the highway. This was before any rail- 
roads had been projected in that direction. The office was opened in 
1848. In 1851 a line was built from Cincinnati, known as the Cincin- 
nati and St. Louis Telegraph Company, or Wade lines, with Mr. Jonn 
F. Wallick, the present superintendent of the Western Union Telegraph 
Company at this point, as manager. The lines were operated under 
this name until 1856, when the title changed to the Union Telegraph 
Company, and soon after became, what is known as the Western Union 
Telegraph Company. At this time Jlr. Wallick operated the office with 
the assistance of one man. Prior to that time he managed the office 
alone. As the town grew, the business of the company kept pace with 
it, and more operators were added to the force under Mr. Wallick, and 
1867 found the distiuguished name of Thomas A. Edison on the pay rolls 
of this office. He had Just entered on the career that has since made 
him world famous. The company occupies the building at the southeast 
corner of Meridian and Monument place, and in addition maintains sev- 
eral branch offices in the city. 

The American District Telegraph Company of Indiana was in- 
corporated in June, IS'.iS, with only one office in Indianapolis. This 
company took over the messenger service of the Western Union Tele- 
graph Company, delivering and collecting all the telegrams of that com- 
pany. It also does special messenger work, delivering packages, adver- 
tising matter, etc. One of the principal features of the company's busi- 
ness is the operation of a night watch system for factories and mercan- 
tile houses and an auxiliary fire alarm, as well as police call and burglar 
alarm system connected with the main office of the District company. 
The offices are located at 20 Jlonument place. The officers are John P. 
Wallick, superintendent ; John G. Wallick, assistant superintendent. 

The Postal Telegraph Cable Company established its offices in this 
city November 1. 1885. The offices are located at 9 and 11 South Me- 
ridian street. 



li TraN5PORTATION^^'TraN31T 




Railway Facilities— The great resources of Indianapolis have been 
made available as elements of progress by the development of trans- 
portation facilities that are exceptional in their completeness. The 
earliest years of the state's history preceded the railway era, and dur- 
ing those first years the towns that were located upon the Ohio river 
and the lower Wabash had a great advantage over any other of the 
locations in the state. Soon afterward came tlie caunl Imiltling era, 




OLD UNION DEPOT, 1887. 



when American enterprise manifested itself all over the country in 
the endeavor to give convenient outlets to the products of the various 
sections tln-ough the medium of artificial waterways, Indiana especially 
participating in the extensive canal building activity by constructing 
the Wal)ash & Erie canal from Toledo to Evansville, 476 miles, which 
is the longest in the United States, part of which is being held -by 
slack-water navigation on the ilaumee and Wabash rivers. The White- 
water canal, from Lawi'enceburg, on the Oliio, to Ilagerstown, was also 
built, and these waterways for many years constituted the principal 
features, outside of the Ohio river, in the transportation facilities of 



178 HYAIAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 

the state. The canals are still used to a considerable extent, although 
the section of the Wabash & Erie canal between Ft. Wayne and Lafay 
ette has not been used for many years. In 1847 the first railroad was 
completed into Indianapolis, and connected this city with the Oliio 
river at Madison. This was the beginning, and the transportation 
facilities have continued to increase, until now there are sixteen com 
pleted lines in Indianapolis, connecting in the state with many other 
lines, which all bring their passengers to one magnificent union depot. 
The erection of the present union passenger station was begun In 1 
Over IS-t passenger trains enter and depart every twenty-four hours, so 
that the advantages of the city for reaching any railroad point in the 
country are unsurpassed, the lines that center here radiating lilce spoljes 
of a wheel in every direction, and the equipment and service on the 
roads entering Indianapolis representing the very highest quality of con- 
venience, ease and comfort. No capital city in any of the states is 
more advantageously situated with reference to convenience of access 
by the citizens of the state, and there are but few county seats in the 
entire state from which it is not possible to reach Indianapolis and re- 
turn the same day. 

Indianapolis Union Railway Company— The Indianapolis Union 
Railway Company succeeded in 1883 to the enterprise inaugurated in 
1853 by the Union Railway Company. The company operates four 
teen miles of track known as the Belt railroad, which is double-tracked 
and extends around the city, and also has a mile of track in the city, 
connecting the Belt with the union passenger station, which is also 
owned I)y this company. The depot is one of the finest in the United 
States, has a train shed 300x650 feet, and has a handsome three 
story brick building surmounted by a lofty tower, which is a 
beautiful structure in Romanesque architecture, used for offices and 
waiting rooms of the depot. The business done by this company 
is very large. Over one million freight cars are handled annually 
over the Belt railroad. It was the first switching railroad to be 
built in the country and ti-ausfers freight from factory switches to all 
roads regardless of distance for one dollar per car, the lowest switching 
charges in the United States. 

Chicago, Indianapolis and Louisville Railway Company operates 
two divisions between Indianapolis and Chicago and Louisville via 
Monon. 

Cincinnati, Hamilton and Dayton Railway operates two divisions 
out of this citj- — Indianapolis to Cincinnati and Indianapolis to Spring 
field, 111. 

Cleveland, Cincinnati, Chicago and St. Louis Railway ("Big Four' 
route. New York Central lines) operates seven divisions from this city, 
reaching Cincinnati, Chicago, St. Louis, Peoria, Springfield, Columbus 
and Benton Harbor. 






a>-^- 



L^ 




180 BYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Pennsylvania Lines operate five divisions running out of this city — 
Indianapolis to Louisville, to Chicago, to Pittsburg, to St. Louis over 
the Vandalia line, to Vincenues. 

Lake Erie and Western Railroad operates one division out of thi; 
city between Indianapolis and Jlichigan City, connecting with the main 
line of the road at Tipton, Ind., for points east and west. 

The Indianapolis Southern Railway operates between Indianapolis 
and Eflingham, 111., connecting with the Illinois Central system. 

Interurban Railways — Coming into its million-dollar terminal sta- 
tion, the finest in the world, are fourteen independent electric traction 
lines, connecting with more than twenty-five tributary roads, tapping 
one of the richest and most densely populated sections of the country 
and operating over 400 cars in and out of Indianapolis every twenty- 
four hours, which carry more than five million people annually. Indian- 
apolis secured its first interurban lines in 1900, when two short lines 
were completed, one between Indianapolis and Greenfield, a distance of 
sixteen miles, and between Indianapolis and Greenwood, a distance of 
twelve miles. Today Indianapolis has as its greatest asset the finest 
electric railway service in the world. 

Indiana Union Traction Company operates two divisions out of 
this city — to Logansport, Ind., to Muncie, Ind., and by connection to 
Fort Wayne, Ind., Lima, Ohio, Toledo, Detroit and other Indiana, Ohio 
and Michigan points. 

Terre Haute, Indianapolis and Eastern Traction Company op- 
erates five divisions out of this city — eastern division to Richmond. Ind., 
and by connection to Dayton and other Ohio points. Northwestern di- 
vision to Lafayette and Crawfordsville, Martinsville division to Mar- 
tinsville, Brazil division to Terre Haute, and by connection to Sullivan 
and Clinton, Ind., and to Paris, 111., Danvile division to Danville, Ind. 

Indianapolis and Cincinnati Traction Company operates two di- 
visions — to Coiiuersville. to Greensburg. 

Indianapolis, Columbus and Southern Traction Company operates 
one division to Seymour, and by connection to Louisville, Ky. 

Indianapolis, Crawfordsville and Western Traction Company, 
"Ben-Hur route,'" operates one division to Crawfordsville. 

Indianapolis, New Castle and Toledo Electric Railway Company 
operates one division out of the city, and by connection to Muncie and 
Richmond, Ind. 

Fort Wayne and Wabash Valley Traction Company operates two 
limited trains daily out of Indianapolis to Fort Wayne, Ind. 

Ohio Electric Railway operates three limited trains daily to Day- 
ton, Ohio, out of Indianapolis. 

Additional Electric Railway Service— In addition the Indiana 
Union Traction Company operates independent trains to Fort Benjamin 



182 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF I^'DlAyAPOLIS. 

Harrison U. S. army post aud to Broad Ripple, one of the most im- 
portant suburbs and resorts near Indianapolis. 

Indianapolis Terminal Station, lor the use of the electric roads 
entering Indianapolis, was the idea of Hugh J. McGowan, president of 
the Indianapolis Terminal and Traction Company. It is the greatest 
station of its kind in the world, and was built at a cost of a million 
dollars. It is not the only monument in this city to the business sagac- 
ity and public spirit of this gentleman, as much of the marvelous de- 
velopment made in and about Indianapolis in recent years is due to his 
energies and enterprise. The building, in addition to being the terminal 
for all electric traction interests, is one of the finest office structures in 
the city. 

The Indianapolis Terminal and Traction Company— The complete- 
ness of the street car service of Indianapolis is one of its most notable 
features, and for admirable equipment and excellence of service is not 
excelled in America. Over 135 miles of track are in operation, reaching 
all sections of the city, parks and suburbs. The first street car line 
was built in this city in ISGl, and from this grew the present magnifi- 
cent system. Under the management of the present company, which 
was organized August 4, 1002, many notable improvements and exten- 
sions have been made. The company pays ^iSO.OOO annually to the city 
in addition to the taxes paid on the valuation of its property, and em- 
ploys about 1.200 men. The fare to any part of the city is fixed at five 
cents cash, six tickets for twenty-five cents and twenty-five tickets for 
a dollar, with transfer to all lines. 

Cold Storage Facilities — It has not been generally known that In- 
dianapolis is provided with cold storage facilities unequaled by any 
other city in the interior of the country. It is an important factor in 
our commerce that perishalile goods in transit or intended for distribu- 
tion in the markets of the middle west can be stored here to better ad- 
vantage than elsewh«-e, and when this is made clear to the growers, 
shippers and handlers of the various classes of food products, tropical 
and semi-tropical fruits, etc., which find an extensive market in this 
section, it is doubtful if even our present cold storage capacity will be 
adequate to the demands upon it. 

The Indianapolis Cold Storage Company, the main storage plant 
in this city, is one of the largest and most complete in America. The 
building is of brick, stone and steel, seven stories and basement. It 
contains within its fireproof walls nearly five acres of floor space ; it 
is situated at the junction of the Union Railway tracks and Pennsyl- 
vania street, in the business center, in close proximity to the wholesale 
and commission nierchants. Three railroad switches ftwo of which 
enter the building) give ample accommodation for twenty-five carloads 
of merchandise per day. and enable the company to receive and ship 



184 HTMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

all perishable products within the building. Direct connection with 
eighteen lines of railroad, which comprise Indianapolis' great system, 
afford advantages of prompt distribution of produce that no other city 
can claim. The exterior walls of the building average thirty-six inches 
thick. The interior being isolated throughout in the most approved 
manner, perfect control is had over atmospheric conditions. The stor- 
age rooms are so arranged that the atmosphere of one can not permeate 
another. Articles are stored with respect to their peculiar odors, and 
a stable temperature is steadily maintained, proper attention being given 
to cleanliness and sanitary conditions of all rooms. Rooms devoted 
to eggs, to fruits and to delicate products, where an even temperature 
is necessary, are provided with a brine circulating system, both direct 
and indirect, and by means of electric fans for the distribution of air 
a uniform temperature throughout the rooms is secured. There is a 
complete ventilating system by which all foul air and gases are removed 
from any room in the building witliout changing the temperature. A 
system is also maintained for controlling the humidity of the atmos- 
phere of all rooms where desirable. The entire building is furnished 
with electric light ; no other kind of light is permitted. There are six 
high-speed elevators, each capable of lifting four thousand pounds, two 
for each section of the building, which provide equal service and per- 
mit a separate handling of articles of high odor. In every desirable 
or necessary adjunct this immense plant affords to the growers, ship- 
pers and handlers of all classes of perishable products an institution 
for safe, economical and advantageous storage and shipment of their 
goods unequaled in the United States. The officers of the company are: 
Linton A. Cox, president; G. A. W. Dodge, treasurer, and Theo. E. 
Myers, secretary. 

Express Companies — The United States Express Company, Ameri- 
can Express Company and the Adams Express Company have offices in 
this city and forward freight directly over their lines and through the 
agency of other lines throughout this and foreign countries. They also 
issue money orders and act as purchasing agents. 

Transfer and Storage Companies are well represented in Indian- 
apolis and are a necessary and valuable adjunct to Its magnificent ship- 
ping facilities. 

The Hogan Transfer and Storage Company, the foremost in the 
Hue in this ciity, began business in 1892. \Vm. J. Hogan, who is the 
sole owner of the company, began business with one wagon, and today 
has about thirty wagons for moving furniture, pianos, building ma- 
terials, machinery, safes, etc., and about five carloads of equijiment 
for hoisting and setting stacks, boilers and engines, safes, machiueiy, 
etc. The accompanying engraving is a view of the warehouse where 
household goods and pianos etc., are stored and packed. Employment 



UYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




HOGAN TRANSFER AND STORAGE COMPANY. 



is furnished to oue hundred experienced white men, and the endeavor 
is to please the patron, no matter the size of the job. The business is 
not confined to Indianapolis but covers the entire state. Among the 
notable contracts handled by JMr. Hogan are the following: All the 
vault work in the Indiana, Merchants' and Columbia national banks 
were placed by him ; the Hoe printing presses and linotypes for the In- 
dianapolis News and Indiauapolis Star ; the marble, elevators, furniture 
and safes in all the larger buildings of Indianapolis were handled by 
him, and the entire plant of the Star was handled by him without a cent 
of damage or a moment lost. He raised six steel stacks for the An- 
derson, Ind., Wire Xail Company, each stack weighing eleven tons, and 
were 140 feet iu length and six feet in diameter. He has been the ofH- 
cial transfer man for the Indiana state fair for the past ten years. 
Because of his aggressiveness he has been styled "the man who does." 
His offices are 125 East Market street. 

The Belt Railroad and Stock Yard Company of Indianapolis was 
organized iu 1S77. The many advantages that Indianapolis possessed 
for the proper administration of a business of its character impressea 
those engaged in the live stock trade so forcibly that from the date of 
its organization the business conducted here has been exceedingly large 
and constantly growing. The geographical location of the yards has 
made this the most important jjoint in the country for the unloading, 
watering and marketing of stock destined for New England and export 
slaughter. From November 12, 1877, to January 1, 1907, there have 
been received at the yards over 36,000,000 hogs, 4,000,000 cattle, 3,000,- 
000 sheep and 500,000 horses. The total receipts for 1906 were 1,869,- 
35y hogs, 3.50.016 cattle, 76,.570 sheep and .SO.lOl horses. The system of 
railroads centering at Indi.auapolis makes it the most accessible point 
in the country for live stock shippers. The great capacity of the yards 
and the facilities for unloading, resting and reshippiug are unequalled 



186 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

by any other yards in the country, east or west. The Belt Railroad 
having been built and owned by the Stock Yard Co., gives this market . 
a decided advantage over others in the respect that no terminal charge 
is ever imposed on the shipper. 

The shipper is assured of a prompt service in the handling of his 
shipments into the yards. Shippers and owners are furnished with sepa- 
rate pens for feeding, watering and resting their stock. All pens are en- 
tirely covered with composition gravel roofs, furnishing protection to 
stock from the storms of winter and the hot suns of summer, which is a 
very great saving to the shipper in the way of shrinkages in weights, and 
a great protection in all sorts of weather to buyers and sellers in their 
daily ti-ade operations. This is a strictly cash market, and is noted the 
country over for its steady prices and the limited range of its fluctuations 
as compared with other markets. This company makes but one yardage 
charge during the entire time stock remains on the market. The only 
other source of revenue is the charge for feed, from which sources the 
revenue is derived to cover all expenses incident to the operation and 
maintenance of the yards, comprising construction and betterments, 
maintenance of property, cost of hay, corn, oats, weighing of live 
stock, water-works system, taxes, insurance, fuel, gas electric light- 
ing, tools lost, stock yards cleaning, labor of a vast number of em- 
ployes; current expenses, such as attorneys' fees, books, stationery-, 
printing, salaries of officers, agents and clerical force and of police and 
fire departments, interest on bonds and capital invested, all of which 
expenditure is incurred for the maintenance of this market, and ac- 
crues to the direct benefit of its patrons and shippers of live stock. 
The charges at these yards are lower than at any other yards in the 
west, there being no yardage charge on live stock in transit unloaded 
here and destined for other points. The unloading, yarding, watering, 
feeding and weighing of live stock is done by the company's employes, 
relieving the shipper from all such care and responsibility. The com- 
mission salesmen and buyers on this market enjoy the reputation of 
being thoroughly reliable. There are between twenty and thirty firms 
located at the Union Stock Yards. 

Stock Yards Hotel— The Exchange hotel connected with the Union 
Stock Yards under its management offers every accommodation looking 
to the convenience and comfort of its patrons, at reasonable rates. The 
hotel has a first-class lunchroom in connection with it, which is kept 
open day and night. The oflBcers of the company are Sam E. Rauh, 
president; Julius A. Hanson, vice-president; H. C. Graybill, traffic man- 
ager; John H. Holliday, secretary, and H. D. Lane, auditor. 

Horse and Mule Auction Barns — The horse and mule market has 
shown a phenomenal growth since its beginning in the fall of ISOG. 
The new brick barns for the accommodation of this branch of the busi- 







iBli^m 




^^^^^HnQK. mil i{ eM! 




■Pi' i 





18S 



HYMAXS HANDBOOK OF IMHASAPOLHS. 



ness are considered by all dealers as far surpassing any bams in the 
entire country. There have been sold on the market since its beginning 
443J277 horses. Private as well as auction sales of fanc.v drivers, 
coachers, cobs, and park horses are conducted throughout the week by 
the reliable and energetic firm of the Blair-Baker Horse Co., and the 
Reardon, Black & Quade Horse Co., who have brought to this market 
the fullest representation of eastern, southern and European buyers, 
all of whom concede that with the superb facilities for stabling, handling 
and speeding horses Indianapolis ranks highest in the whole country 
and is destined to become one of the world's greatest horse markets. 

H. H. Fletcher & Co., live stock commission merchants, is one of 
the l)est known firms doing business at 
the Union Stock Yards of Indianapolis 
and it has an established reputation for 
fair and equal treatment to all patrons. 
The firm was established by Horace H. 
I'letcher, who was born on a farm, on 
which a part of the city of Indianapolis 
now stands. It does not necessarily fol- 
low that Mr. Fletcher is an old man, for 
the gro\vth of the city has been very rapid 
and extensive. Mr. Fletcher has been 
identified with agriculture in its various 
branches all his life, and ten years ago 
he established the firm of which he is now 
the senior member. Charles W. Re.vnolds 
is a native of Jacksonville. 111. His edu- 
cation as a stockman was acquired first 
as a country buj er and shipper and afterward as a salesman in Kansas 
City, St. Louis and Chicago yards. Mr. Re.vnolds' special line is cattle, 
calves and sheep. Walter A. Moore, third member of the firm, is from 
Casey. 111. (Effingham being his birthplace). Early in life he chose the 
live stock commission business for a vocation and went to the Chicago 
yards. Sixteen years' experience .ns a car ho.g salesman has developed 
Mr. Moore's talents and ability in this line. 




H. H. FLETCHER. 




Indianapolis had a newspaper before it bad mail facilities, roads, 
or even the most primitive means of regular communication with the 
outside world. There are at present over ninety daily, weekly, bi- 
monthly, monthly and quarterly publications issued from this city. In 
class or industrial publications Indianapolis is exceptionally well rep- 
resented, some of the most influential journals of their iiind in the coun- 
try being published here. In recent years this city has also become 
prominent as a book and music publishing center. In the mechanical 
and manufacturing branches of the printing business it has kept pace 
with the largest cities in the country, and it affords advantages in the 
production of blank books, coupon books, bank and county otBce sup- 
plies not excelled elsewhere. There are several large plants located here 
engaged in this work, and Indianapolis ranks fifth in size as a pub- 
lishing center in this countrj-. 

The Indianapolis News is now the oldest daily paper published in 
Indianapolis. It was founded by John H. Holliday in 1809, and has 
had a continuous existence from that date. It was the first two-cent 
(ten cents a week) daily paper in the West. Though not an old paper, 
as compared with other pultlications in the East, yet its career spans 
practically the period of development of the modern newspaper. From 
a small four-page affair, for which two cents was charged, it has grown 
so that now it averages 20 eight-column pages, and on Fridays and 
Saturdays prints from twenty -eight to thirty-two pages. Its equipment 
is ample for a paper of this magnitude, requiring twenty-four linotype 
machines and four presses, two sextuples and two quintuples. Equip- 
ment does not itake a newspaper, yet a modem plant is a necessity for 
an up-to-date daily publication. 

The News was the first paper, so far as is known, to drive its 
presses electrically. Mr. Charles J. Jenney made his experiments in 
this line in the News pressroom, and finding the process practicable, 
the paper adopted it. For yenrs every piece of machinery in the equip- 
ment has had its Individual motor. 

Few newspapers carry more advertising than does the News. It 



190 HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF lyOIANAJPOLIS. 

averaged for 1906 and 1907, for instance, 74 columns daily, of whie 
18 columns were classified. It is not, therefore, altogether from choic 
that the News is a large ijublicatiou, but its theory is that there shouli 
be as much news and editorial matter in the newspaper as there 
advertising, and even to approximate this it is necessary to publish 
very large paper. ' 

A newspaper's prosperity and influence ought to grow with th. 
city with which it is identified. So with the Indianapolis News. ludi 
anapolis had less than 48,000 people when the News was established 
Now the city numbers more than 200,000 and the News prints and sell: 
more than 75,000 copies daily. It has always been an independent papei 
but never neutral, and is admired by its constituents both for the friend; 
and the enemies it has made. Few of the subscribers to the first copj 
of this paper, and doubtless none of its early employes, supposed that 
it would outlive its once powerful rivals. . The old Indianapolis Journa: 
and the Indianapolis Sentinel, which had been the morning papers evei 
since Indianapolis was a city, and which had gained wide influence 
throughout the state and even the nation, one after the other suc- 
cumbed. The last one to suspend was the Sentinel which, after an 
existence of over eight)' years, ceased publication in the Spring of 1906. 
Its physical plant and effects were bought by the News, which had; 
previously also talien over the Indianapolis Press, a comparatively re- 
cent and well-equipped afternoon paper. 

The News has virtually had but two owners, its founder and his 
associates, and the present proprietors, Delavau Smith and Charles R. 
Williams, the latter of whom is the editor. Change by way of growth 
in the News has been constant, but the changes for change's sal^e have 
been few. There are employes in every department of the paper who 
have grown up with it. The present General Manager, Hilton U. Brown, 
began with it as market reporter a quarter of a century ago. The 
first foreman of the paper, E. H. Perkins, is still living and is still on 
the pay-roll, though no longer actively at work. His successor, Ed. 
Harding, of an old and well known tribe of newspaper men, is the sec- 
ond foreman the paper has had. His assistant, William Ellis, and some 
others of the composing-room force have been with the paper sub- 
stantially since its organization. The Business Manager, O. R. Johnson, 
was for many years Telegraph Editor of the paper, and the State 
Editor, Gideon B. Thompson, has seen two generations of newspaper 
men come and go, and is still one of the youngest men on the force. 
The Managing Editor is Richard Smith, long connected with the Asso- 
ciated Press and other news agencies. For many years the News has 
shown an active interest in the welfare of its carriers. Among the 
adjuncts of this department is a fully-equipped brass band. One hun- 
dred boys are under constant training, from which the band itself, of 



'^^.ti^ffl* 




_,jp 






INDIANAPOLIS 



192 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

about fifty pieces, is recruited. Probably the ablest band master for 
juvenile organizations in the country has direction of this department 
— J. B. Vanderworker. 

The paper has frequently demonstrated its interest in affairs col- 
lateral to newspaper work. As for instance, its maintains a fresh air 
station in the summer for children and disabled women. In the winter 
it hunts out the suffering and sick families and supplies them with 
coal and medical treatment out of funds contributed by its subscribers. 
It started a fund with which a monument to General Lawton was built. 
It sent a correspondent to the Japanese-Russian war. One of its repre- 
sentatives is now traveling around the world. It takes an active part 
in all municipal and state affairs. The paper is permanently housed 
at 34-3G West Washington Street, with a fireproof mechanical building 
in the rear. 

The Indianapolis Sun — The first number of the Indianapolis Sun 
was issued on Jlay 12, 1888. The proprietors were young men from 
Cleveland and Detroit, who had been educated along the distinct lines 
of one-cent newspaper work. The first number was a small, six-column, 
four-page paper, and it contained local matter principally. The Sun 
was so well received by the Indianapolis public that it was soon en- 
larged to a seven-column paper. In 1893— in the midst of the panic — 
it had progressed to a degree that warranted it in adding a fast per- 
fecting press to its equipment. When the panic had passed into his- 
tory the Sun became an eight-page paper, six columns to the page, and 
its success in a field that had witnessed the rise and fall of many daily 
newspapers attracted attention all over the state. On January 29, 
1901, the Sun's plant and buildings were destroyed by fire, but the paper 
was issued daily and on time from the Indianapolis Journal office. 
In the meantime an elegant new three-story building was erected on 
the old site at 123-125 East Ohio street, and equipped with the best 
printing material obtainable, including a fast quadruple Hoe press, 
capable of printing 48,000 papers per hour. On May 8 the Sun occu- 
pied its new building and enjoyed the advantages of its improved facil- 
ities. Since that time its strides forward have been more marked than 
formerly. The Sun has alwaj-s been independent in politics, giving 
its indorsement to competent candidates rather than party tickets. Its 
influence in this field has always been marked. It has also been a con- 
sistent advocate and supporter of the best interests of Indianapolis. In 
its twenty years of life it has been enlarged to about five times its 
original size, and has broadened from a local paper to one of general 
and comprehensive strength. Aside from its home force, it has cor- 
respondents and readers all over the state and receives a total of 15,000 
words of telegi-aph from all parts of the world daily. Its present edi- 
tor and manager is Fred L. Purdy; business manager, A. C. Keifer, 




THE INDIANAPOLIS SUN BUILDING. 



194 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IVDIANAPOLIS. 

and managing editor, W. L. Burns. Messrs. Purdy and Keifer were 
among the original projectora of the Sun, and have contributed largely 
to its success. 

The Indianapolis Star was established in 1903, the first issue ap- 
pearing on June 6th. The first home of the paper was at 115 East 
Ohio Street in an eight-room building that for years had done service 
as a residence. In these cramped quarters the editorial and mechanical 
forces conducted their worlj, the business department having rooms 
several doors east. On Sept. 27th of that year the editorial and art 
departments, together with the composing room forces and pressmen, 
were removed to the Sentinel building on South Illinois Street. The 
paper was published from here until March 22, 1904, when it took 
possession of the four-story building at the corner of Circle and Mar- 
-ket Streets, I^nown as the Hendricks block or Iroquois Hotel, and began 
publication on its own presses and with all departments assembled 
one building. Immediately after it was started the Star associated itself 
with the Muncie Star and the Terre Haute Express, now the Terre 
Haute Star, the three forming the chain of papers known as the Star 
League. At the time the Star was established there were already four 
other English daily newspapers in the city. It was the belief of the 
Star management that though each of these papers had merit in their 
own respective ways, none of them fully met the needs or successfully 
filled the requirements of the general public. Prom the first, there- 
fore, the endeavor was to meet the popular taste, and its success in 
this direction is proved by the fact that in one month after its first 
issue it had 27,249 bona fide subscribers ; in three months it had 41,645 ; 
in six months 70,S;i6, and in one year 80,644. In February, eight months 
after it was started, its circulation passed that of any other Indiana 
newspaper. The circulation growth steadily continued, and the average 
daily circulation for March, 1907, was 100,000. On June 8, 1904, the 
Star management bought the Indianapolis Journal, its morning con- 
temporary, a high-class newspaper established as a weekly in 1S23 
and as a daily in 1850. The Journal was merged with the Star and 
some of its best features incorporated in the latter paper. In February, 
1906, the Star bought the Sunday Sentinel and combined it with the 
Sunday Star. Thus the Star became the only Sunday and only morn- 
ing newspaper in Indianapolis. In October, 1904, the three papers 
composing the Star League passed into the hands of its present manage- 
ment, under whose administration the Indianapolis, Muncie and Terre 
Haute papers have achieved even more marked popularity and success 
than in their earlier history. In June, 1907, the Indianapolis Star re- 
moved to its present quarters at the northeast corner of Pennsylvania 
and New York Streets, a building built especially for its use, and one 
of the most completely equipped and commodious newspaper establish- 
ments in the country. The Star is independent in politics. 



196 HYMAN-IJ HANDBOOK OF jyDlAXAPOLIS. 

The Reader Magazine — Early in 1904 The Bobbs-JIerrill Company 
acquired The Reader Magazine, a periodical which had made its slender 
beginnings in New York. The editorial and business offices were trans- 
ferred to Indianapolis and the magazine was henceforth printed by The 
Holienbeck Press, a corporation affiliated with The Bobbs-JIerrill Com- 
pany. Under the control of the 0rm The Reader has grown into a 
splendid illustrated monthly, at once entertaining and informative, in- 
fluential in its opinions and thoroughly imbued with the spirit of 
America. The Reader is a force in public affairs. It contains serial 
stories that invariably become the country's most popular novels, short 
stories by the best writers, feature articles of an intensely personal and 
concrete interest by distinguished men and women who know whereof 
they speak, and editorial comment that is trenchant, sensible and enthu- 
siastic. Its circulation is national, its advertising of the highest class. 

The Home Magazine was inaugurated liy The Bobbs-Merrill Com- 
pany in Hay, 1906, as a result of the consolidation of Madame, the 
official organ of The National Council of Women, with The Home Maga- 
zine, founded by Jlrs. John A. Logan in ^Yashington in 1886. This new 
and greater Home Magazine was designed along original lines to appeal 
to every member of the family circle. Its interest centers in the home 
as an institution. It regards everything in its relation to the home. 
Its fiction is for the delight of all the group that gathers around the 
lamp in the sitting room. Its departments are conducted by men and 
women of authority, with the direct purpose of showing how to make 
the home more comfortable, more attractive, more interesting. They are 
not technical, but practical; not for the expert, but for the home-lover; 
not for the millionaire, but for men and women of moderate means. 
These departments cover such subjects as cookery, housebuilding, in- 
terior decoration, housekeeping, florticulture and vegetable garden, the 
horse and the stable, poultry and the kennel, fashions, embroidery and 
needlework, health and hygiene. All the departments are fully illus- 
trated. Like The Reader, The Home Magazine is printed in Indianapolis 
by The Holienbeck Press, which is taxed to its utmost capacity to com- 
plete the long monthly run of hundreds of thousands of copies. The 
best advertisers of America use, and continue to use, the columns of The 
Home Magazine. 

The Indianapolis Trade Journal, established in 1890 by William H. 
Robson, editor and publisher, represents the jobbing interests of the 
city, and circulates throughout the middle west. 

The Daily Reporter, published by the Reporter Publishing Com- 
pany, makes a specialty of court news, etc. 

The Indianapolis Daily Live Stock Journal is devoted to the inter- 
ests of shippers and is published at the Union Stock Yards. 



HIMA'N'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 197 

The German Daily Telegraph and Tribune, established 1865, is 
the only Gemiau aad the oldest daily newspaper published in this city. 
It is independent-democratic in politics, and is a member of the Asso- 
ciated Press. It is published by the Gutenberg Co. The Sunday Spott- 
vogel, a humorous and literary paper, established in 1865, is also pub- 
lished by this company. 

Other Publications are numerous, embracing weekly, semi-monthly 
and monthly issues, among which are a number of the most influential 
trade journals in America. 

The Clay=Worker was established in January, 1884, by Mr. J. J. 
W. Billingsley, F. W. Patton and Theo. A. Randall. Mr. Randall soon 
afterwards acquired a controlling interest and has edited and man- 
aged the magazine ever since. Under his direction the Clay-Worker 
has attained a world-wide reputation, having subscribers in every civi- 
lized country. Through the influence of the Clay-Worker and its editor 
th^j National Association of Brick Manufacturers was established in 
1S86, and has proven a potent factor in advancing the brick industry. 
Mr. Randall has been secretary of the association since its organiza- 
tion. In 1897 the Clay-Worker was instrumental in establishing a school 
for clayworkers at the Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, and at 
the national convention held there in 1890 the American Ceramic Society 
was organized. Indeed, the Clay -Worker has been intimately connected 
with every progressive move made in the world of ceramics since it 
was established twenty-three years ago, and has made Indianaijolis a 
household word in many localities where but for it the people would 
scarcely know that the Hoosier capital was on the map. It was the 
first paper in the world published in the interest of clay-workers. Mr. 
Randall is still secretary of the National Brick Manufacturers' Asso- 
ciation and the Clay-Worlcer remains unequaled in its field. 

Municipal Engineering, published by Municipal Engineering Com- 
pany, the best and most important magazine devoted to the particular 
field which it fills, was established in 1890. It is recognized as the fore- 
most representative of the interests connected with the improvement 
of cities, embracing the field of paving, sewerage, waterworks, parks, 
etc. It circulates throughout the United States, Canada and foreign 
countries. From an unpretentious journal of sixteen pages it has 
grown to a magazine of nearly 180 pages. Its editorial policy has been 
to rely on men whose teclinieal education and experience have distin- 
guished them as best qualified to discuss questions treated in the masa- 
zine, and civil engineers, analytical chemists, contractors and others 
who have achieved the distinction of being foremost in their class, 
are among its contributors. The officers of the company are: William 
Fortune, president ; Charles C. Brown, editor, and W. P. Cosgrove, ad- 
vertising inanagor. The company also publishes the directory of the 



198 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

American Cement Industries, the standard reference and credit rating 
booli of tlie cement field. They also publish the Hand-Book for Cement 
Users and various other publications. A branch office is conducted in 
New York City. 

The Bobbs=Merrill Company, publishers, booksellers and station- 
ers, traces its existence back without a break to the house founded in 
1838 by Samuel Merrill, one of the earliest citizens of Indianapolis. 
The present officers of the corporation are: W. C. Bobbs, President; 
John J. Curtis, Vice-President; Charles W. Merrill, Secretary and 
Treasurer. The Indianapolis offices are at 9-11 West Washington Street. 
The New York office is at 34 Union Square; the Chicago office at 337 
Marquette Building. In the course of nearly three-quarters of a century 
the business has developed until now it embraces the following depart- 
ments : 

Retail Department: Books and Stationery — The large, friendly, 
well-lighted store invites customers ranging from the man who wants 
a pen point to the man who wants a whole library of books. It aims 
to have at hand or at easy call every book published. To accomplish 
this necessitates the carrying of an exceptionally heavy stock in every 
field of literary effort. Towers of recent novels line the aisles. On the 
many tables and in the shelves, to which the customer has free acceso. 
are to be found innumerable editions of the standard authors, and the 
works of note in poetry, art, belles lettres, religion, science, etc., etc. 
In the rear of the store the handsome booth erected by the firm at the 
St. Louis Exposition has been made over into a Book Nook, where the 
book-lover may browse at his leisure among rare first editions and edi- 
tions de luxe, write his letters in peace and discuss with his cronies the 
progress of the world. On the magazine counter are displayed the cur- 
rent issues of one hundred and eighty-six periodicals. The stationery 
side is no less complete, including, besides the expected equipment in 
the commercial and society branches, the best of fine engraving, all 
sorts of filing des'ices and an elaborate assortment of brass, copper and 
leather goods. 

Law Book Department — As publishers of law books The Bobbs- 
Merrill Company ranks among the very greatest houses in the world. 
This department maintains a large staff of editors exclusively at work 
upon the preparation of its books, and a selling force e(iually large to 
dispose of them. Among its publications are many of the standard legal 
treatises, books that are accepted as authority in both England and 
America. Its list of authors contains the names of the most prominent 
legal writers in the United States, including Judges Leonard A. Jones. 
Seymour D. Thompson, Byron IC. Elliott, R. M. Benjamin, John M. 
Van Fleet and John II. Gillette. One of the most important under- 
takings of the house has been the compilation of Bums' Indiana Statutes, 



200 UYMAX'8 HAXIIBOOK OF INDlAyAPOLIS. 

which has had a continuous influence on the legislative and judicial 
history of the state. Among the legal educational works are the books of 
Professors Horace L. Wilgus, James H. Brewster, Charles A. Graves, 
V. H. Roberts and E. H. Woodruff. In addition to works of its own pub- 
lication the Law Book Department carries a complete stock of the lines 
of other law publishers. It engages also in the publication of text- 
books for commercial schools. 

Publishing Department : In the last ten years The Bobbs-Merrill 
Company's list of general publications has been lengthened and strength- 
ened until ft has made Indianapolis rank third among the publishin^j; 
centers of America, surpassed only by New York and Boston, and until, 
furthermore, it has made publishing rank third among the industries 
of the city. While this list embraces the works of authors from every 
quarter of the country, The Bobbs-Merrill Company has been particu- 
larly active in the recent remarkable development of literary output in 
the Middle West. The heart and center of this development -is Indiana, 
and among the distinguished writers of the state whose books have 
been published by the firm are James Whitcomb Riley, Benjamin Har- 
rison, David Turpie, Daniel W. Voorhees, Albert J. Beveridge, Maurice 
Thompson, Mary Hartwell Catherwood, Meredith Nicholson, George 
Ade, Elizabeth Miller and John T. McCutcheou. The success of the 
department has been achieved by the acceptance of only clean, whole- 
some and spirited manuscripts, by the frank ajiplicatiou of commercial 
methods to the sale of the books and by the exercise of originality in 
promotion and advertising. 

The Hollenbeck Press, one of the most notable printing estab- 
lishments in the city, was established by C. E. Hollenbeck, successor to 
Carlou & Hollenbeck. This is one of the oldest establishments in the 
city and has always enjoyed the distinction of producing fine work, 
and has had a continuous existence since 1SG4. The new plant at the 
northwest corner of Market and New Jersey streets was erected in 190i. 
It was built especially for the business and is equipped with the most 
modern printing machinery and appliances for the production of large 
edition work. The line of work done by this house embraces everything 
in job, book and publication printing and binding, and the character of 
the work done is not excelled in this country. Many of the well-known 
illustrated publications published in this city are issued from this press 
and are fine examples of first-class printing. About 150 persons are 
employed in the various departments. The officers of the company 
are: W. C. Bobbs, president; C. W. Merrill, treasurer, and R. E. 
Darnaby, manager. 

Levey Bros. & Co. — The growth of a community is the growth of 
its iustitutions. and no other concern in the city has contributed more 
liberally to greater Indianapolis than Levey Bros. & Co., Inc. For 



202 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

sixty years the uame -Levey" has been identified with the bank supply 
business, and there is not a bank iu the United States that is not 
familiar with it. 

In 1848 the business was founded in Madison, Ind., by Wni. P. 
Levey. In tho early days the field was limited. Banks were not so 
numerous, and the business of Levey Bros. & Co. was comparatively 
small. It was necessarily confined to Indiana and adjacent states, but 
back of it there were men who saw the great possibilities in the growth 
of the country, and the business was aggressively carried into con- 
stantly widening territory. Today Levey Bros. & Co. cover every state 
iu the Union, Canada and our island possessions, and are conceded to 
occupy the foremost position in the manufacture of bank supplies. 

Two separate manufacturing plants take care of this enormous 
business. The main factory, shown by the illustration, is located at 
Ohio and Senate Avenue, on the famous State House Square. Here 
every detail of lithographing, printing, embossing and binding is handled. 
Every manufacturing department is located on one floor, under saw- 
tooth skylights, and every facility and appliance known to the stationer}' 
manufacturing business is employed. The accounting, advertising, cor- 
respondence, order and mailing departments of this concern make up 
one of if not the largest office force of any manufacturing concern in 
the cit}'. 

At Willard and Merrill Streets is located the Furniture and Fix- 
ture factory, where bank interior fittings are made exclusively. This 
factory has built fixtures for financial institutions iu every state in 
the Union, and in addition bus equipped banks in Manila, P. I.; Juneau, 
Alaska, and Ponce, Porto Rico. There is no other bank supply house 
in the country that can handle the equipping of a bank from the vacant 
room to the opening for business, every detail of such equipping being 
accomplished under one management and without subletting any part 
of the contract. Just how phenomenal has been the growth of this 
concern can be appreciated when it is known that it is operated entirely 
on the mail order plan. Levey Bros. & Co. do not have any traveling 
salesmen. 

The building of this business to its present magnitude has not been 
an easy task. The result has been achieved in the face of steadily in- 
creasing competition, and is due to close and watchful attention to the 
enormous detail of the business, and to the ability of the management 
to direct the application of the most economical and practical mechanical 
inventions in manufacturing. 

Thornton=Levey Co. — Established twenty-five years ago as a small 
stationery store, the firm of Thornton-Levey has grown to be one of the 
leading manufacturing industries of Indianapolis, employing over one 
hundred people. The amount of business transacted by this firm in 



HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




THORNTON-LEVEY CO. 



wholesale and retail commercial stationery is more than that of all 
similar houses in Inrlianapolis combined. In addition to this, the manu- 
facturing establishment includes a modernly equipped printing office, 
ruling room, blank book bindery and lithograiJhiug and engraving de- 
partments. It has been the special pride of this company to use 
nothing but the very highest grade and latest improved machinery, and 
the quality of work produced attests the wisdom of this "nothing-but- 
the-besf policy. 

Every office requirement of the up-to-date business man is carried 
in stock ready for immediate delivery, and the name of Thornton-Levey 
Co. is known throughout the entire length and breadth of Indiana. 
Commercial stationery, county and township records and supplies of 
all kinds, bank printing and lithographing, and catalog and booklet 
printing. In these lines Thornton-Levey Company stands pre-eminent 
as manufacturers of strictly high-class goods and at reasonable prices. 

The general offices are located at the corner of Pennsylvania and 
Maryland streets, in the heart of the wholesale district, and within 
convenient walking distance of both the Union Depot and the Inter- 
urban Station. Out of town customers are requested to call and make 



BYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 205 

it their headquarters while in Indianapolis, and a day seldom passes 
without from twenty to fifty customers dropping in from all over the 
state. 

Indianapolis cau well be proud of having such a complete office 
equipment repository. 

Allison Coupon Company — An enterprise of Indiauaiiolis which 
has attained world-wide tame and patronage is the Allison Coupon 
Company, condiKliiiiC Inisiness at 536-8 East Market street, as manufac- 
turers of coupon books. The busi"pss was established in 1887 by the 




ALLISON COUPON COMPANY. 



late N. S. Allison, and in August. 189.3, the present company was incor- 
porated. Has a paid-in cnpital stock and surplus of 5>150,000.00, the 
officers being: John S. Borryliill. president; Wallace S. Allison, secre- 
tary, and D. 0. Allison, superintendent. The premises utilized com- 
prise a three-story and basement brick structure, 50x205 feet in dimen- 
sions, and there is a complete equipment of machinery adapted to the 
business, and eighty hands are employed in the e.xtensive operations 
of the company. They manufacture coupon books for railroad eat- 
ing houses and railroad systems, street railways, merchants, ice com- 
panies, restaurants, commissary stores, clubs and various other uses; 
their coupon boolis beiug arranged upon methods which have been 



206 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

approved by experience and are recognized as the best devices of their 
kind. The demand for them has not only extended all over the United 
States but practically all over the vi'orld with an extensive foreign de- 
mand. 

Indianapolis Electrotype Foundry, 341 to 349 E. Market Street, 
was established in 1875. In 1888 it was incorporated under the laws 
of Indiana with a paid capital of $15,000, A. W. Marshall being the 
president ; Geo. L. Davis, vice-president ; D. G. Wiley, secretary and 
treasurer. The officers are thoroughly practical and able business men, 
fully conversant with every detail of this industry. They have recently 
removed to their new building located at the corner of Market and 
New Jersey Streets, where they have a model plant, well lighted, well 
ventilated and equipped with the latest improved machinery and appli- 
ances. They do a general line of electrotypiug and nickeltyping and 
make a specialty of high grade work. Their long experience and mod- 
ern equipment and the special methods they employ place them in the 
front ranks in their line. As evidence of this, they have a large trade 
among the consumers of their product who appreciate quality. Their 
nickeltypes from halftones are far above the average and are as 
nearly perfect as can be made. In addition to their electrotyping and 
nickeltyping business they carry a line of printers' supplies, consisting 
of cabinets, cases, stones, leads, slugs, brass rule, etc. They carry 
only the best grades, each article being made by the' leading manufac- 
turer in the line. The goods in this department are sold at manufac- 
turers' prices and satisfaction guaranteed. The policy of this company 
is that every customer must have full value for his money, prompt 
service and courteous treatment, and a conscientious effort is made by 
the management to see that this policy is carried out. 

The Indianapolis Engraving and Electrotyping Co. was estab- 
lished in 1804. About two years ago the company was completely 
reorganized. The quality of the output they insisted upon demanded a 
plant strictly up to date in every particular. To meet this demand the 
building at New Jersey and Market streets, in which they are now 
located, was erected, planned to meet every requirement for quality, 
speed and economy; the equipment installed containing every modern 
device to aid in achieving the best results. Operating this they have 
a force of skilled workmen with the knowledge, taste and training 
which fits them to utilize their plant and equipment to its utmost 
capacity. Probably the greatest factor in the remarkable success of this 
concern, which in the last two years has more than doubled its business, 
is found in the fact that in direct control of each department is one of 
the proprietors, each of whom is a progressive, thoroughly competent 
man in his line who insists that what should be done done must be 
done. As a direct result of this arrangement very superior results have 



ETMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 




INDIANAPOLIS ELECTROTYPE FOUNDRY. 



been attained, together with the greatest ecououiy iu the production of 
the worli ; also a promptness in handling work which is responsible in 
a very large measure for the satisfaction they are giving their custom- 
ers. It is generally conceded that they occupy the foremost position in 
their line of work, which includes the making of printing plates by all 
methods — halftones, zinc etchings, wood engravings, duotones, three- 
color halftones, etc. They are leaders in illustrating, designing, me- 
chanical retouching, wash drawing, pen drawing, etc., having in their 
employ a large number of talented and capable artists, each of whom is 
a specialist in some particular line. Jlr. H. W. Ballard is president ; 
E. C. Ropkey, secretary, and W. S. Allen, treasurer. 

F. E. Quick, Photographer — Photography is a many-sided art, and 
there are few among the professional classes that have brought their 
work up to that point where it is looked upon as art. It is for this 
reason that the work of the genuine artist is notable. Mr. Quick is an 
artist photographer. Many examples of his work abound in this city 
and they are all easily recognized by the character he gives his pic- 
tures. Mr. Quick was for a number of years the staff photographer of 
the Indiana Sentinel. He has in his possession a fine collection of the 
notable views in and about Indianapolis, copies of which he has sent 
to many countries. Many of the views on foreign postals of Indian- 
apolis are from his camera. Those wanting work of this character in 
view or commercial photography should correspond with him. Many 
of the views in Hyman's Handbook were made by Mr. Quick. Address 
229 Massachusetts avenue, or 'phone Main 827. 



HlJ/.l.V.S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXM'OLIS. 



Indiana Electrotype Company— This company was established in 
1S93, and is one of the largest concerns in the state engaged in the 
production of electrotyijes, stereotypes, wood- and process engi-aving. A 
special feature of this concern is the production of "niclile-types," an 

advanced 
method fov 
diiplicatini; 
half-tones and 
other engi'av- 
ing. The coni- 
p a u y is lo- 
cated at 2;'. 
and 25 West 
Pearl street. 
The CO m - 




IS eijuipped 
with the lat- 
est and most 
modern appli- 
ances, enabl- 
ing it to han- 
dle the larg- 
est contract 
with speed 
and economy 
and guaran- 
teeing the 
best of worli- 

manship. The members of the company are C. A. Patterson, John B. 
Fleck and Joseph E. Fleck. 

H. C. Bauer Engraving Company, 107-109 South Pennsylvania 
street, designers, engravers, electrotypers and printing plate manufac- 
turers, established iu 1SS9, is one of the most extensive concerns of its 
kind in the state, where printing plates by every known process are 
manufactured with rare skill and excellence. Many of the engravings 
used in Hyman's Handbook of Indianapolis are the products of this 
institution. A large force of skilled and experienced artists are em- 
ployed in the various departments. Designs are furnished for cata- 
logues and all kinds of book illustrations, requiring wood, zinc or half- 
tone engraving, whicli is a leading specialty of this house, and the 
ample facilities which it commands enables it to handle the largest 
contracts with promptness and at prices as low as is consistent with 
high grade workmanship. The was process is employed in the produc- 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



tion of map work, charts, diagrams, etc., which produces results not 
attainable in any other method. The trade of this firm extends through- 
out this state and adjoining territory, where it enjoys an established 
reputation for first-class workmanship. 

Wm. B. Burford, Printer, Lithographer and Binder, 38 South 
Meridian street and 17, 19, 21 and 23 West Pearl street— This is one of 
the oldest and largest general printing establishments in the city. It 
was founded in 1802 by Wm. Braden, with Jliles W. Burford as silent 
partner. In 1871 Mr. M. W. Burford retivod fi-nni tlie firm and turned 
his interest ovei to his 

son, Wm. 6. Buifoid .^fc,^£=!isji5= 

and in 1875 Mr. Wm B 

Burford purchased AIi — _^ 

Braden's interest in T i 

has continued as '=.nl ^ 

proprietor since 1 
present plant is in 
tensive one, eml 1 1 
printing, binding Iith 
graphing, blank I 1 
manufacturing, s t e 1 1 
copper and photo en 
graving departments 
Each department is fit 
ted with the very litest 
improved machineiv m 
surlng speed and econ- 
omy in the production of work, and are the largest and most complete in 
their various lines in the state. The printing department is equipped with 
typesetting machines and fifteen cylinder presses and automatic feed- 
ers ; one Harris automatic envelope press, with a capacity of more 
than 15,000 envelopes per hour ; a steam steel die press, with a capacity 
of 5,400 per hour. In the lithograph printing department are five steam 
lithographic presses. This is undoubtedly one of the largest and 
best equipped plants for printing of all kinds in the west. For over 
twenty years Mr. Burford has had the contract for furnishing all the 
lithographing, blank books, stationery, printing and binding for the 
State of Indiana ; also for more than forty counties in the state. The 
stationery department and ofiices are located at 38 South Meridian 
street, where a complete line of stationery and cabinet index filing de- 
vices are carried, and the factory is situated in the rear, a large six- 
story structure, burlt specially for its jiurpose, at 17, 19, 21 and 23 West 
Pearl street. Over 250 people are emi)loyed in the various departments, 
and the trade extends throughout the central west. 




210 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




The W. H. Bass Photo Co., Commercial Photographers, located at 
308-310 South New Jersey street, was established by the James Bayne 
Co. in 1897 and was bought by W. H. Bass, the present owner, in 1899. 
The building they occupy, which is also owned by Mr. Bass, was de- 
signed and erected especially for this business. It has a floor space of 
3,000 square feet and the largest skylight and operating-room in the 
state. Their equipment of lenses and photo-apparatus is the best for 
the purpose the market affords. The day of sunlight printing is a p 

process and this firm is fully 
equipped for doing all ki 
of work by artificial light 
apparatus, especially designed 
for the purpose. While the 
photographing of furniture, 
beds and machinery is their 
main liue, they do a large 
general photographic busi- 
ness and have probably more 
negatives of Indianapolis than 
all of the other photographers 
of the city, and are the only 
ones who have a full photo- 
graphic representation of 
Crown Hill Cemetery-. 

The Quick Photo & En= 
graving Co. — An advanced 
step in the art of making 
printing plates was taken by 
this firm when photography 
and photo-engraving was combined in one business. As in all things 
American, a constantly improved standard is demanded in the printer's 
art, highly efficient illustrations is the order of the day in all business. 
Our plan embraces the delivery of the finished product, keeping the 
entire process of photography, retouching, etching, half-toning and 
printing constantly before the observation of artists and experts 
the various departments. This makes one concern responsible for per- 
fect results, and the old-time comedy farce between the printer and the 
engraver and the photographer in shifting responsibility for error and 
bad results upon each other has been swept away. Our photographic 
department is complete in every detail, equipped for all kinds of com- 
mercial and view photography, enlargements and view photography. 
We are specialists in supplying and photographing models for general 
illustrating purposes and have in stock over 4,000 stock *egatives of 
parks, public buildings and beautiful scenery about Indianapolis. The 



212 HYMAN'8 HANDBOOK OF lyDIANAPOLIS. 

art department is prepared to make all kinds of illustrations, designs 
and drawings, to retouch and prepare machinery and other copy for 
the engraver. Our engraving department is equipped for the making 
of the highest quality in one, two, three and four-color half-tones, zinc 
etchings and embossing dies. We are not printers, but knowing the 
quality of our printing plates, we are in a position to demand and get 
the best quality from the printer. We shoulder this responsibility for 
our customers at no greater cost to them, making ourselves responsible 
for results. Our location is 77 North New Jersey street. Both phones. 
Stafford Engraving Company— Among the country's leading en- 
graving and illustrating houses may be placed the StafE6r.d Engraving 
Company, Century Building, Indianapolis. The policy of the firm is to 
do the verj- highest grade of work in all departments, equal to any 
that can be procured in any establishment in the east. This has necessi- 
tated the employment of very high salaried men, many of whom are 
induced to leave lucrative positions in leading New York, Philadelphia 
and Chicago houses. The merit of the output is evidenced by the 
character of the customers, being a class that demand the best to be 
had, and the constantly gro^^■ing business. It is probable that no house 
in New York can show a more satisfactory line of samples of mechanical 
work than this concern now has on exhibition. Each artist employed 
is a specialist in some one particular line, and to this may be as- 
cribed much of the firm's success. Anything that a catalogue, maga- 
zine, book, hanger, label or poster may require in the way of an artistic 
creation this firm is prepared to do and guarantee satisfaction. The 
plates turned cut by the Stafford Engraving Company are always clean, 
bright, brilliant and possess unsurpassed printing qualities. A printer 
can do a good .iob from this firm's plates for less money than he can an 
ordinary job from inferior plates, as less make-ready and washing-up 
is required. Six competent men with assistants are employed in the 
office and every detail of each order is carefully watched from the 
time an order is entered until finished. A new department has been in- 
stalled for color work, three and four color halftone plates being pro- 
duced by color experts from New York and Chicago. It is expected 
that the conceni will stand alongside the best houses in the country in 
this line of work. It is safe to say that no house of the kind gives 
more uniform satisfaction to its customers than the Stafford Engraving 
Company. Its president, E. E. Stafford, established the business in 1890. 





Financial Insurance and 
Commercial 1n3titution3 



BANKS, BROKERS, CLEARING-HOUSE, TRUST AND SECURITY COMPANIES, 
SAFETV DEPOSIT, INSURANCE COMPANIES, REAL ESTATE, ETC. 

Banking in Indianapolis— The history of banking in Indianapolis 
dates back to the early days of the city, when a private bank was started: 
but the first chartered bank was the State Bank of Indiana, which 
was chartered in 1834 with a capital of $1,600,000. The charter was to 
run twenty-five years and half of the capital stock was to be taken by 
the state, which raised the money by the sale of bonds. The state's 
share of the dividends, after paying the bonds, was to go to the estali- 
lishment of a general school fund, and this was the foundation of the 
excellent endowment of Indiana's public schools. The investment ulti- 
mately yielded to the state .^.3,700,000 after the payment of the bank 
bonds. The main hank and one of its branches were located in Indian- 
apolis, beginning business November 20, 1832. The first president of 
this bank was Samuel Merrill, with whom were associated Calvin 
Fletcher, Seaton W. Non-is, Robert Jlorrison and Thomas R. Scott as 
directors. In 1840 the bank removed to its new building at Kentucky 
avenue and Illinois street. The Indianapolis branch was organized 
with Hervey Bates, president, and B. F. Morris, cashier. After the 
charter expired, the Bank of the State of Indiana was chartered, the 
interest of the state being withdrawn and Hugh MeCulloch, who was 
later secretary of the treasury of the United States, became president of 
the bank, which remained in business, with seventeen branches, UTitil 
the inauguration of the national banking system, when the various 
branches were merged into different national banks in their respec;ive 
localities. The bank facilities of Indianapolis are furnished by six 
national banks, with resources of more than .$34,000,000, and si.^ 
trust companies, with capital and resources in excess of more than 
$14,000,000, in addition to private banks, most of which are devoted 
more especially to investment banking and the loaning of money on 
mortgages for clients. There is no city in the country where the banks 
are of higher standing than in Indianapolis. 

The Indianapolis Clearing-house Association, which is composed 
of the leading banks of the city, showed bank clearings for twelve months 
ending September .30, 1007, auiountiug to .$411,412,111.20 from all of the 
banks. 



214 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF lyoiAXAPOLIS. 

Fletcher National Bank — The oldest bank in the city and the one 
carrying the largest deposits, commemorates by its name the connection 
with the institution of one of Indiana's pioneer financiers, Stoughton A. 
Fletcher. It was organized as a private bank in 1S39 by the firm of 
S. A. Fletcher & Co., and has ever been recognized throughout Indiana 
for its high eflicienc.y and strength, and no other institution in the state 
has more fully enjoyed the confidence of the people. 

The history of the "Fletcher Bank," as it is familiarly called, is 
inseparably identified with the history of the city itself. The few con- 
temporary institutions of its earlier days are remembered only by the 
oldest citizen of Indianapolis, and it has witnessed the growth of the 
small community of sixty-eight years ago into the largest inland city 
in America. During all these years it has constantly enjoyed the fullest 
measure of public confidence, passing through every period of general 
financial stringency with stability unshaken and credit unimpaired. 

On jNIarch 2S, 1808, the bank was reorganized under the national 
banking act as the Fletcher National Bank, but the personnel of the 
management under which it has remained is such that it retains the 
peculiar individuality which attaches to the pioneer hanks of the state. 
Its statement dated May 20, 1907. showed capital stock of $500,000; and 
the bank had accumulated a surplus fund of $500,000, while it held de- 
posits of over $8,000,000 and had total resources of a little less than 
$10,000,000. The bank is located iu East Washington street, in the 
stone structure known as the Fletcher Bank building. It is a five- 
story and basement building, of which the bank occupies the ground 
floor and basement for banking otfices and safety deposit vaults. The 
bank conducts all of the departments of commercial banking, making 
loans and discounts, buying and selling government bonds and exchange, 
issuing foreign drafts and letters of credit and making commercial loans. 
The safe deposit vaults are equipped in the most approved and modern 
manner and afford excellent facilities for the safe-keeping of paperf. 
and valuables. The otticers of the bank are : Stoughton J. Fletcher, 
president; Stoughton A. Fletcher, vice-president; William A. Hughes, 
vice-president ; Charles Latham, cashier ; Ralph K. Smith, assistant cash- 
ier, and G. H. Mueller, assistant cashier. 

Indiana National Bank of Indianapolis, Indiana — It is of great 
importance to a business center to have banking facilities adequate for 
the requirements of its business. One of the leading banks iu the state 
of Indiana is the Indiana National Bank, which dates its inception back 
to 3SG5. It is the direct descendant of an honorable ancestry, the State 
Bank of Indiana, one of the earliest and most widely known banks of 
the west, which was chartered by special act of the legislature in 1834. 
At this time, when the state was being slowly settled with hardy toilers 
from the East and South, and when currency was scarce, an institu- 




FLETCHErt NATIONAL BANK. 



216 HYMAy'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

tion of sueh strength and character was a great aid in marketing the 
rich products of these new and distant settlements. Upon the expira- 
tion of its charter, in 1S56, this hauls was succeeded by the Bank of the 
State of Indiana, with branches in Lawrenceburg, Madison, Terre Haute, 
Lafayette, Port Wayne, Richmond and other places. In an address 
before the American Bankers' Association at Detroit, Mr. William C. 
Cornnell, an eminent linancial writer, said: "It was one of the best 
banks the world has ever known," it lived through two terrible panics, 
never suspending specie payments. It is a matter of history that the 
Chemical Bank of New York, the State Bank of Kentucky at Frankfort, 
and the Bank of the State of Indiana, were actually the only banks in 
the United States that did not suspend payment during the panic of 
1857. 

When the civil war had reached its height, the government pro- 
posed the organization of national banks, and the directors of the local 
branch of the Bank of the State of Indiana organized the Indiana Na- 
tional Bank, with George Tousey, president, and David E. Snyder, 
cashier. I'rom the beginning it greatly prospered. Mr. Volney T. Ma- 
lott bought the controlling interest in the Indiana National Bank in the 
year 1S82, and has been the president for over twenty-five years. He, 
however, has been engaged in the banking business for fifty years, 
starting as teller in AVooley's bank at the age of seventeen. Mr. Malott 
is a shrewd and farseeing financier, Iieing progressive and conservative, 
and has had for oflieers men of the highest integrity and business abil- 
ity. Mr. Wm. Coughleu was vice-president from 1882 to 1894, Mr. 
George B. Yandes from 1894 to 1896, and Mr. Edward L. McKee from 
1806 to 1904. Mr. McKee was succeeded by Mr. Henry Eitel, who is 
now vice-president. Mr. Edward B. Porter, cashier, has been with the 
bank t\venty-two years. 

The grovith of the bank since Mr. Malott bought control has been 
phenomenal. The capital stock in 1882 was .?300.000 and surplus .^70,000. 
In August, 1901, the capital stock was increased from earnings to 
$1,000,000, and surplus !i!250,000. The board of directors for a number 
of years was composed of Volney 1. Malott, Wm. Coughlen, R. S. Mc- 
Kee, George Merritt, ^\'. .1. Holliday, George B. Yandes, Chas. H. Brow- 
nell and George T. Porter, and they all gave valuable assistance to the 
growth and prosperity of the bank and guided it safely through panics 
.and financial disturliances. 

On January 12. 1897, the Indiana National Bank moved into its 
new home, the present magnificent building, which was erected at a 
cost of §300,000. The building is of classic architecture, somewhat 
resembling the Bank of England, It is conveniently located and is one 
of the very few fireproof structures of this kind in Indiana. Its im- 
mense vaults are Imilt of laminated chrome steel overlapping plates, no 
cast steel or chilled steel entering into their construction. 



218 BYMATfi HANDBOOK OF INDIAWAPOLIS. 

The officers of the bauk are Jlr. Voluey T. Malott, i)resident ; Mr. 
Henry Eitel, vice-president; Mr. Edward B. Torter, cashier, and 'Mr. Ed- 
ward D. Jloore, assistant cashier. The present board of directors is 
coiuposed of Volney T. Malott, George B. Yaudes, W. J. Ilolliday, Chas. 
H. Brownell, .Tohu H. Holliday. Hiram T. Wasson, Edward L. McKee 
and Artiiur V. BroM-n. The capital stoclc is |1,000.000 ; surplus and un- 
divided profits, $900,000, all from earnings, besides paying dividends; 
deposits, ■?7,000,000; loans. ?4..i00,000, and resources about .?10,000,000. 

The Merchants' National Bank was established in 1865. A dis- 
tinction this banli enjoys that is, perhaps, without parallel in the annals 
of banking in this country is the fact that its present chief officers en- 
tered the services of the bank as messenger boys, and worked up through 
various capacities to their present positions. John P. Frenzel has served 
the bank forty years, twenty years of which has been as president. Dur- 
ing that period lie has srood out as one of the prominent figures in na- 
tional, state and local financial movements and through whose instru- 
mentality much of the city's progress in this direction is due. He was 
the pioneer in tlie movement that has given Indianapolis its splendid 
trust companies, having l)een conspicuous in the work that secured the 
passage of the law under which all of the fiduciary institutions are in- 
corporated, particularly tlie Indiana Trust Company, of which he is 
president. Jlr. Otto N. Frenzel has seen thirty-eight years' service with 
the bank, and Oscar F. Frenzel thirty-four years. Under their admin- 
istration the bank has become one of the largest and most influential 
financial institutions in the state. I'lie Merchants' National Bank be- 
gan witli a capital of .^l 00.000. Its first cashier was Volney T. Malott. 
Its first charter expired in 1885, but was extended twenty years, and 
again extended for twenty years in 1005. During the period of the first 
charter, $279,000 in dividends were declared and $20,000 was set aside 
as a surplus fund with which the bank started upon its new lease. Its 
capital stock now is $1,000,000: surplus and undivided profits, $839,- 
255.71 ; total resources, $9,391,264.63, and a deposit line in excess of 
$6,000,000 — a large proportion of which represents individual and mer- 
cantile deposits. The policy of the bauk is conservative and its business 
is confined strictly to commercial banking. On October 1, 1907, the 
ninetieth dividend was declared, making the total amount of dividends 
paid $1. . 386,724.13 ; in addition ■S.'iOO.OOO has been added to the surplus 
of the bank, showing an accumulation of profits during the forty-two 
years of its existence of $2,225,000. on an average capital of $310,000. 
The officers of the bauk are O. N. Frenzel, president ; .1. P. Frenzel, first 
vice-president : Fred Fahnley, second vice-president ; O. F. Frenzel, 
cashier ; J. P. Frenzel, Jr., assistant cashier. The directors are J. F. 
Failey, Fred Fahnley, Albert Lieber, Paul 11. Krauss, J. P. Frenzel, O. N. 
Frenzel and Henry Wetzel. 




THE MERCHANTS NATIONAL 



220 HYAIAN'S HANDBOOK OF JXDIAXAPOLIS. 

The Merchants' National Bank is most fittingly emphasizing its long 
and successful career in the erection of its new bank and office building 
at the comer of Washington and Meridian streets. When completed it 
will not only contain the finest and best appointed banking rooms, but 
will be the most eonsi)icuous business and office structure in tlie city. 
It will be a sixteen-story building, and the structure lias been designed 
in accordance with the latest practice in the matter of office buildings 
and will include all of the very latest improvements. One half of the 
ground floor and the second floor will be given over entirely to the use 
of a monumental banking room for the use of the Merchants' National 
Bank. In the treatment of the banking room, which is 66 feet wide by 
90 feet long, nothing has been spared in the use of space or the employ- 
ment of sumptuous materials to make this apartment one of the no- 
table banking rooms of the country. 

The safety deposit department, which will be complete In Its equip- 
ment, will occupy the basement. It will be reached by a marble stair- 
case leading from the ground tioor lobby immediately next the bank 
entrance and descending directly to a public lobby in the basement. Next 
to the public lobby will be the office of the manager of the safety de- 
posit department. Passing through a massive grille the spectator will 
find himself in the customers' lobby with coupon rooms at either end 
and the bank vault immediately in front of him. The bank vault will 
be cased in marble and will be 31 feet long by 12 feet wide. The public 
lohby will be 20 feet wide and 56 feet long and will have in connection 
with it an ample trunk vault, and the usual conveniences, including a 
retiring room for women. 

The vault front will be a formidable one, with a massive circular 
door. The interior will be lined witli boxes of polished bronze on two 
sides. The safety deposit vault will be opened with 1.400 boxes, but 
with a capacity for 2,900. which will have every protection against inva- 
sion by fire, mobs or .anything that the ingenuity of man can devise. The 
funds of the bank are to be deposited in wall safes, which will occupy 
a part of one side of the vault. These safes belonging to the bank will 
be in nowise distinguished from the boxes in the safetj- deposit section 
except by their size. The bank's safes are placed in the customers' 
vault, witli the idea that what constitutes safety for the customer will 
constitute safety for the bank itself. 

In the basement and sub-basement at the Pearl street end of the 
building will be placed the mechanical plant, which has been provided 
at this point at the expense of heavy concrete and steel retaining walls. 

The entrance to both the banking room and the offices will be by 
means of a single doorway placed at the center of the Meridian street 
frontage. This doorway opens into a vestibule from which one passes 
immediately into the main lobby. Immediately in front are the ele- 




COMMERCIAL CLUB BUILDIN3. 



222 



HYMAy'S HANDBOOK OF lyOIANAPOLIS. 



vators, to the left inside entrances to the shops and to the right the main 
doorway to the banlc itself. 

The Capital National Bank was incorporated in 1S80, and from its 
establishment has been recognized as one of the most progressive finan- 
cial institutions in the state. Its statement August 22. 1907, showed 
capital stock of $500,000, surplus fund $200,000, and undivided profits 
of $08,082.02, and total resources of $6,954,336.81. The bank occupies, 
the entire lower floor of the Commercial Club building, which is situated 
in the heart of the wholesale and retail district. Accounts of banks, 
bankers, firms, corporations and individuals are respectfully solicited. 
Reliable information regarding Indianapolis cheerfully furnished, and 
visitors are invited to call. This b.-xnk is especially prepared to furnisk 
letters of credit and bankers' checks available in all countries. 

The officers of the bank are Frank D. Stalnaker, president ; Andrew 
Smith, vice-president, John J. Appel, vice-president ; E. I. Fisher, vice- 
president; Hiram W. Jloore. cashier; Gwynn F. Patterson, assistant 
cashier. Board of directors are William C. Bobbs, president Bobbs- 
Merrill Co. ; Aquilla Q. .Jones, Lawyer, Ayres, Jones & Hollett ; Emanuel 
1. Fisher, treasurer Capital Paper Co.; Ilarrj- J. Milligan. law.ver and 
capitalist; John J. Appel, real estate. Gregory & Appel; Ambrose G. 




irrTERIOR COLUMBIA NATIONAL BANK. 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



223 



Lupton, cashier Blackford County Bank, Hartford City, Ind. ; Crawford 
Fairbanks, capitalist; W. H. Powell, president National Branch Bank, 
Madison, Ind.; Frank D. Stalnaker, president; Andrew Smith, vice- 
president ; Hiram W. Moore, cashier. 

The Columbia National Bank opened for business June 3, 1901, 
with a capital of three hundred thousand dollars ; it occupied temporary- 
quarters until January 11, 1902, when it moved into its present splendid 
offices. No. 14-10 Bast Washington street, in a building erected specially 
for it. The Qrst officers of the bank were Mortimer Levering, presi- 
dent; A. A. Barnes, vice-pregident ; W. F. C. Golt, cashier; W. K. 
Sproule, Jr., assistant cashier. In December, 1903, Mr. Levering resigned 
as president, and was succeeded by Mr. M. B. Wilson, who had been for 
many years president of the Capital National Bank, a man well and fa- 
vorably known, and of wide banking experience. The present board of 
directors are A. A. Barnes, proprietor of the Udell Works; T. B. Lay- 
cock, president of the T. B. liaycock Manufacturing Co. ; H. W. Miller, 




.ItRICAN NATIONAL BANK BUILDING, 



i!24 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

formerly treasurer of Marion county; L. P. Newby, president Citizens' 
State Bank, Knightstown, Ind. ; E. H. Tripp, Union Storage and Trans- 
fer Company: R. i:". Van Camp, Van Camp Hardware and Iron Com- 
pany ; C. E. Coffin, president Central Trust Company ; M. B. Wilson, 
president Columbia National Banls. The officers and directors of tlie 
bank are men who stand foremost in the commercial, manufacturing 
and financial circles of the citj' and state, and while the bank enjoys 
a reputation of conservatism, it is regarded as one of the progressive 
financial institutions of the city. 

The American National Bank has had an interesting history. It 
was organized by John Peri'in and began business February 4, 1901, 
with $250,000 capital, and the first day's deposits amounted to ?366,- 
371.75. The capital and surplus have been increased from time to time 
until they are now two millions. The deposits at the statements to the 
comptroller in August, 1907, were $7,30.3,187.68. 

The building that the bank is now occupying was formerly the Fed- 
eral building and postoffice. 

The bank uses the first floor and the basement. The three rental 
floors (the \\indows of the fourth story open only on the court) give 
such an income as to render the bank's occupation quite inexpensive. 
Courtesy and consideration to every depositor, whether his business be 
large or small, have been imi»rtant elements in the rapid upbuilding 
of the bank. Indeed, the keynote of the bank's advertising (of which 
it has done much) is "No account too small to receive courteous wel- 
come." The carrying out of this policy accounts for a larger than usual 
official staff. The officers are : John Perrin, president ; Evans Woollen, 
vice-president and counsel ; H. A. Schlotzhauer, cashier ; Theo. Stempfel, 
assistant cashier ; C. W. Minesinger, assistant cashier ; Brandt C. Dow- 
ney, assistant cashier : Oscar P. Welborn, auditor. 

The Union National Bank— Apart from the commercial motive Of 
this chronicle there is a peculiar pleasure in noting the growth of this 
latest comer among our national banks, because it has so signally illus- 
trated the fundamentals of sound banking. There was no sounding of 
its own trumpet when its doors opened five years ago. No loud or gar- 
ish advertising spreads ; no rich quids methods. Its policies evinced 
due deference to old banking houses and a close study of the interests 
■ind prosperity of those who confided their accounts to the Union Na- 
tional. Rare prescience was shown in the location of the bank, corner 
of Court and Pennsylvania streets, one-half block north from Wash- 
ington. The earnest, helpful and conservative character of the bank 
was promptly recognized by the comuumitj-. Its only misjudgment 
seems to have been the space accommodation for increasing patrons. ' 
which has literally pushed through the south walls, carrying the hall j 
and stairs adjoining to the south limits of the building, and claiming the i 
entire ground floor, making their pre.sent quarters a model banking house ' 




UNION NATIONAL BANK. 



with safe deposit vaults of most modern pattern. In February, 1907, 
Vir-ePresideut Morrison having passed away, President Ricliards, the 
founder and chief investor, announced to the directors his purpose to 
relinquish the presidency for the less exacting duties of vice-president. 
This action, together with an increase of fifty per cent, in the bank's 
capital, was well timed. Mr. .James M. Jlclntosh was the fortunate se- 
lection for president. A man of fine legal attainments, was a national 
bank cashier and eight years bank examiner, and was special examiner 
for the government. This proved the master stroke of all. The stock 
of the bank was bid up on the stock exchange eleven points against the 
well-known efforts of the bank orficials to prevent anything which might 
have the appearance of a speculative tendency, but every effort upon 
the stock exchange failed to secure a dollar from any holder of the 
bank's stock. 

The officers and directors of the bank are as follows : Officers : J. M. 
Mcintosh, president; W. J. Richards, vice-president; Fred N. Smith, 
cashier ; John A. Ridgeway, assistant cashier ; Wm. F. Fox, second as- 
sistant cashier. Directors : U. G. Baker, glass manufacturer ; Dr. J. M. 
Berauer, physician and surgeon ; G. A. Efroymson, Efroymson & Wolf, 
Star Store, wholesale and retail di'y goods; J. M. Mcintosh, president; 



226 HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

W. J. Richards, vice-president, and partner Noellie-Ricliards Iron Works ; 
W. C. Van Arsdel, capitalist; John R. Welch, real estate and secretary 
Celtic Saving and Loan Association ; Geo. Wolf, real estate ; L. C. Walk- 
er, attorney, ex-judge Superior Court; W. 0. Zaring, president A. P. 
Hendrickson Hat Co. 

J. F. Wild & Co., Bankers — Indianapolis is well and favorably 
known as cue of the most active financial centers in the country and 
is tlie home of a number of prominent and successful firms devoting their 
attention to all of the various departnients of banking business. 

J. F. Wild & Co. was established as a firm in 1891, and incorpo- 
rated as a state bank in 1905. This bank, in connection with its busi- 
ness as heretofore, makes a leading specialty of handling high-class mu- 
nicipal, railroad and imlustrial dividend paying securities. This bank 
has taken an mportimt part in financing some of the largest industrial 
enterprises in the city and state, and has handled some of the largest 
issues of state, city and county bonds. The oflicers of the bank are: 
J. F. Wild, president ; E. M. Johnson, vice-president ; L. G. Wild, cashier ; 
C. F. Siegrist, assistant cashier. The bank is located at 123 East Mar- 
ket street. 

Richcreek Bank, 106 North Delaware Street — Indianapolis has 
made distmct progress in her hanking business during the past few years, 
more emphatic perhaps than in any other line. Not only has there been 
a splendid increase in the number of banking institutions, but there 
has also been a remarkable growth in the resources of the different 
banks. The Richcreek Bank is one of the later additions to the city's 
banking facilities, and was established in 1904 by S. M. Richcreek as a 
private bank, operating under the state law regulating the banking 
business of Indiana, with resources amounting to $1,000,000. In the 
near future the bank will bo located in its new building at the north- 
west corner of Market and Delaware streets, which will be one of the 
finest oflice and banking structures in the city. It will be eleven stories 
high, modern in every respect, with a frontage on Market street of 671.2 
feet, and 78 feet I iuchea on the Delaware street side. Richcreek's bank 
pays 4 per cent, iuterest on deposits. 

The Indiana Trust Company was incorporated May 1. 1893, being 
the first trust conippry in Indiana to incorporate under an act author- 
iziTig the organization of trust companies, passed by the General Assem- 
bly of Indiana, March 4, 1893. The company occupies the entire ground 
floor of its handsome six-story oolitic limestone building, located at the 
intersection of Washington and Pennsylvania streets with Virginia ave- 
nue. Although there hnve been a number of new office buildings erected 
in the last few years, this company's building remains one of the most 
striking and imposing office structures in the city. "The capital stock of 
the company is one million dollars, with a surplus and undivided profitSj 



22S EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

exceeding four hundred thousand dollars, while its assets at the pres- 
ent time exceed eight million seven hundred thousand dollars. Its heavy 
capitalization and the high character of its directors and officers, "each 
one a tried and experienced man in the particular position which he 
fills," enables it to discharge with signal ability the manifold functions 
that a trust company is called upon to execute and insure it the great 
success enjoyed since its organization in 1903, it being by far the largest 
and strongest trust company in the state. The most important depart- 
ment of this successful company is its savings department, where depos- 
its are leceived in amounts from one dollar upward and interest al- 
lowed. The deposits of this department at the present time exceed 
seven and one-half million dollars. At the date of the last published 
statement by all banks and trust companies its deposits were exceeded 
by but one national bank in the state, while they largely exceeded the 
combined deposits of all the other trust companies of Indianapolis. The 
accounts, which number many thousand, are rapidly growing. In its 
trust department, the company is authorized by law to act as executor, 
administrator, guardian, trustee, assignee, receiver, etc. It assumes 
the management of estates, giving personal attention to the collection 
of funds, payment of rents, collection of taxes, together with the ad- 
ministration of the property. It is a legal depository for court and 
trust funds as well as for funds of every character and description. It 
buys and sells municipal and county bonds and loans money on first 
mortgage and collateral securities. The liability of the stockholders 
of the company, added to its capital and surplus, makes a sum in excess 
of two million four hundred thousand dollars, pledged for the faithful 
discharge of its trusts. Tbe company's safety vault department has 
ne;'.rly four tbousaud safety deposit boxes, which are at the disposal 
of the public for a yearly rental of five dollars. These vaults are among 
the handsomest and most complete in the West, are situated on the 
ground tioor and are immediately available from the streets. They fur- 
nish a!)si)Iute protection against fire, burglary or wafer. Commodiously 
arranged in the rear of the vaults are pleasant coupon booths or apart- 
ments \^ith all the conveniences necessary for a patron to examine the 
contents of his box in the strictest privacy and securitj-, two of the 
apartments being large enough to admit of committee meetings, etc. 
The real estate department of this company gives evidence of being a 
very busy department. It employs a large working force and transacts 
a voluminous real estate, rental and insurance business. The officer 
m charge of this department is a man of wide experience and excel- 
lent judgment. The officers of the company are : J. P. Frenzel, presi- 
dent ; Frederick Fahnley, vice-president ; J. F. Falley, second vice- 
president ; Frank Martin, treasurer; Bement Lyman, secretary; John 
E. Casey, auditor; C. H, Adam, assistant secretary; H. B. HoUoway, 




INDIANA TRUST COMPANY BUILDING. 



230 HYMAS'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

assistant secretary ; H. S. Frank, trust officer. The directors are Fred- 
erick Fabniey, of the Fahnley & McCrea Millinery Company; Albert 
Lieber, president Indianapolis Brewing Company ; James F. Failey. capi- 
talist ; O. N. Frenzel, president Merchants' National Bank ; H. W. Law- 
rence, president Indiana Hotel Company ; Bement Lyman, secretary ; 
James I'roctor, capitalist ; Edward Hawkins, president Indiana School 
Book Company ; Henry Jameson, physician ; Henry Wetzel, capitalist, 
and J. r. Frenzel, president of the company. 

The Union Trust Company of Indianapolis, Ind. — ^To no other cus- 
todians are such important interests confided as to the tnist companies 
which exert such a power in the financial affairs of all our leading 
and most progressive cities. The scope and aim of these institutions 
is primarily the safe keeping and management of funds for heirs, ab- 
sentees, non-residents and all those whose circumstances do not permit 
their own personal administration of their affairs. The moral, as well 
as the material obligations, assumed by a trust company are, therefore, 
more weighty than those imposed upon any other manner of financial 
institutions, and it is manifest that their operations should be distin- 
guished by the utmost conservatism and guided by a management qual- 
ified by long and active experience and a I)road and comprehensive knowl- 
edge of all matters embraced in the realm of legitimate financiering. An 
institution which is managed upon the principles above expressed is the 
Union Trust Company of Indianapolis, Ind., which dates its incorpora- 
tion back to 1S93. The well understood resources, experience in finan- 
cial affairs and high standing of those to whose enterprise its inception 
was due, at once placed it among the strongest and most influential 
institutions of its kind in the west, in fact, in the country, and it has 
steadily maintained this high position, some of the largest estates in 
Indiana having been entrusted to it foi- settlement, including that of the 
lato ex-I'resident Harrison. Its stock is held by leading capitalists and 
business men to be an investment of the soundest and most remunera- 
t'ne character. Its presiding olHcers and its directors are men whose 
names are synonymous with all that guarantees financial stability and 
an energetic, yet conservative management. The officers are: John H. 
Hclliday, president : Henry Eitel, vice-president ; H. M. Foltz, second 
vice-president and treasurer ; Charles S. JIcBride, secretary ; Ross H. 
Wallace, assistant secretary ; George A. Buskirk, probate oflicer. The 
directors are: A. A. Barnes, C. H. Brownoll, Thomas C. Day, Henry 
Eitei, I. C. Elston, William A. Guthrie, Addison C. Harris, John H. Hol- 
lidsy, Volney T. Maiott, Augustus L. Mason, Edward L. McKee, Samuel 
E. Rauh. The company has a paid up capital of $600,000, with a sur- 
plus and undivided profits of over $.500,000. If the volume of business 
and the magnitude of the interests confided to its care in the varied 
relations v.hicU it holds with its patrons in its capacity as a trust 



232 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

company are any criterion of tlie confidence reposed in the manage- 
ment of the Union Trust Company by the surrounding community and 
non-resident clients, tliere nre no similar organizations anywhere which 
can make a better showing. As a matter of fact, this company's sers'- 
ices are held ;n the same high estimation by the people of Indianapolis 
as are those of the old established and influential eastern trust com- 
panies by the people of New York, Philadelphia and Boston. The opera- 
tions of the company cover a very wide field : they give special atten- 
tion to the settlement of estates, acting as executor, administrator, 
guardian, assignee, trustee and agent. They assume entire charge of 
property and estates for heirs and absentees, paying taxes, collecting 
rents, interest, dividends, etc., writing insurance, etc., and they also 
make a feature of the investment of funds for individuals and corpora- 
tions. A general financial business is transacted in negotiating first mort- 
gage loans on farm and city property in the best counties in Indiana, and 
in handling high-grade investment securities, and in this connection their 
services are invaluable to non-residents seeking investments combining 
as high a rale of interest as is consistent with absolute safety. A sav- 
ings department is also maintained. The company have their offices in 
their own building, Xos. IIC and 118 East Market street, Indianapolis. 

The Security Trust Company, Nos. 142 to 148 East Market street, 
began business in June, 1901. The capital stock is $325,000. From its 
very inception the company has enjoyed a prosperous business, and its 
growth has kept pace with the remarkable development in other lines. 
While transactmg ail the departments of a trust company business, the 
company has made a feature of the little steel savings banks which it 
loans to depositors, requiring an initial deposit of only one dollar to 
secure one of these safes. The safes are of strong steel and contain a 
patent device which makes it impossible to shake money out of them. 
The keys to these safes are kept at the trust company's offices, and 
there only can the safes be opened. Several thousands of the safes 
have been taken out by depositors. The building of the Security Trust 
Company is located in what is known as the financial district, and has 
been rebuilt to suit the conveniences of the company ; the entire ground 
floor and basement js used for that purpose, which includes the sa'fety 
deposit department. The company loans on real estate and approved 
stocks and bonds. It acts as trustee under mortgages securing bond 
issues, and registers stock of corporations. Tlie company also acts as 
administrator, executor, and in many other capacities. To its clients 
it offers investments in bonds and Indianapolis mortgage securities. 
Advice is freely and gladly given by officers of the company in respect 
to f.ny investments of money, and consultations are invited. 

The officers of the company are: Bert McBride. president; George 
J. Marott, first vice-president; Frank M. Millikau, second vice-president; 



! ■ ' 

M ' ■ ■ - ■ 


i 
- _ '1 i. 










SECURITY TRUST COMPANY BUILDING. 



2&i HYM.ITS HANDBOOK OF lyDIANAPOLIS. 

A. SI. Ogle, treasurer ; IJalph A. Yonng, secretary. The directors are • 
George J. Marott, merchant and capitalist: Frank M. Millikan, special 
loan agent Nortliwe.stern aiutual Life Insurance Company; Alfred M. 
Ogle, president Tandalia Coal Company ; George T. Dinwiddle, of Frank- 
fort. Ind., merciiaut and capitalist : .Tames P. Goodrich, president Peoples 
Loan and Trust Companj. Winchester. Ind.; A. A. Young, secretary and 
treasurer Bedford Stone and Construction Company; Louis E. Lathrop, 
Lathrop & Haueisen. bankers and investment securities ; W. L. Taylor, 
attorney at law; Giafton Johnson, packer of peas, sugar corn and to- 
matoes ; Bert McBride, president. 

Farmers Trust Company, 10 East Market street, was organized 
July 1, 1905, and succeeded C. N. Williams & Co., hankers, who had 
been extensive dealer;, in farn, and city mortgage loans since 1879. The 
loan business of this company has increased very rapidly since its or- 
ganization and it has recently tiled for record the largest real estate 
mortgage ever recorded in Marion county, being a mortgage for four 
huuflred seventy-five thousand dollars, which the company is furnishing 
through its eastern connections to erect the fourteen story office building 
and lodge rooms that the Grand Lodge, I. O. O. F., of Indiana, is build- 
ing at the corner of Pennsyhania and Washington streets. No client 
of this company since the organization of C. N. Williams & Co., in 1879, 
has lost a single dolhr of principal or interest or taken a foot of land in 
any loan made by it. The company also does a general trust company 
business. It has a well equipped real estate department where rents 
are collected, properties bought and sold on commission and the holdings 
of non-resident owners lookeij after with careful attention. It also has 
an insurance department in which fire, casualty and burglary insurance 
and surety, fidelity and judicial bends are written. This company acts 
as administrator, executor, guardian and trustee, and executes trasts 
of every nature at the minimum of cost and expense. It accepts de- 
posits subject to check, and in its savings department receives deposits 
of one dollar or more and allo\^•s interest at the rate of 4 per cent, per 
annum, compounded twice a year. 

The Marion Trust Company was incorporated December 10, 1895, 
with a capital of ¥300,000, $150,000 paid up; undivided profits, July 1, 
1907, $:i09,137.01. and has all the powers granted to trust companies. 
Is authorized by law to act as executor, administrator, guardian, as- 
signee, receiver, depository of money, ti-ustee under wills or by appoint- 
ment of court, and agent for individuals and corporations. It acts as 
trustee in cases as designated by court and in deeds, mortgages, or 
trusts given by persons or corporations ; as agent for the management 
of property of corpoiations or persons; as a financial depository for 
corporations; as agent in issuing, registering, transferring or counter- 
signing stocks, bonds and debentures; as custodian of wills, and con- 



EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 235 

suits as to tliem and otijer trust matters, and receives money in small 
or large sums as time deposits and pays interest thereon. It thus offers 
a profitable and secure investment for savings, inheritances and other 
funds. A special department of the Marion Trust Company is its sav- 
ings departmeut, in which savings deposits of one dollar and upwards 
are received and on which interest is allowed, compounded semi-an- 
nually. Demand and time certificates of deposit are also issued on 
which special rates of interest are allowed. The advantages possessed 
by the savings department of the Marion Trust Company over the ordi- 
nary savings banli is that it has safely invested a large capital that 
stands as security to its depositors and interest is paid at a fixed rate 
and not dependent on the earnings of the institution. The officers are 
Hugh Dougherty, president : Stoughton A. Fletcher, vice-president ; Fer- 
dinand Winter, second vice-president; Fred K. Shepard, secretary and 
treasurer. The board of directors are Stoughton J. Fletcher, Wra. A. 
Hughes, Stoughton A. Fletcher, Hugh Dougherty, Ferdinand Winter, 
Charles Latham, Julius A. Lemcke, Chas. N. Thompson, W. H. H. Mil- 
ler. A. W. Conduit, r. K. Shepard. 

Home Life Insurance Companies— The paramount question with 
the insurer in any life insurance company is that of security. A life 
insurance company is the creature of law, and may be secure or inse- 
cure as the law is measurably perfect or defective that created it. The 
chief points to be considered in detennining the relative superiority of 
one company to another as regards securitj' are, first, the requirements 
of the law under which it is organized as to the character of its invest- 
ments, and secondly, the custody of the net cost value of its policies. 
Assets of great size (oflset by liabilities of great size), attractive ratios, 
etc., are relatively unimportant considerations. The stability of a com- 
pany must depend upon the character of its investments and the safe- 
keeping of its net cash value of the policies by the state. 

The Indiana companies, which do business under the Indiana com- 
pulsory deposit law of 1899, afford the insured and the company a great- 
er degree of protection than is furnished by the laws of any other state. 
This law rigidly forbids the investment otherwise than in certain stipu- 
lated high-class securities, namely government bonds, state bonds if at 
or above par, first mortgage loans on real estate worth at least twice 
as much as the amount loaned thereon, municipal and school bonds, 
where issued in accordance with the law upon which interest has never 
been defaulted, in loans on pledges of stocks, bonds or mortgages of 
par value, if current value of same is at least twenty-five per cent 
more than the amount loaned thereon, and loans upon its own policies 
not exceeding the reserve thereon. If the laws of Indiana provided the 
same safeguards for its citizens insuring in outside companies in the 
matter of investments that they do for those insuring in home com- 



236 UYMAX'i? HANDBOOK OF lyDlAyAPOLlS. 

panies, not more thr.n four or five foieiuin coiunauies would be per- 
mitted to do business in the state. In relation to the custody of the 
n?t cash value of all policies each year, the auditor of state is required 
to ascertain the net cash value of outstaudiug policies, and the company 
must deposit in his office such a sum in the before-mentioned securities, 
together with trevious deposits, as shall equal such cash value. A some- 
what similar provision secures our national bank circulation. The dif- 
ference between a policy holder in a company depositing the net cash 
value of ail poliiies with the state and one that does not is practically 
the difference between a man holding a national bank note and the 
depositor in such a bank. The depositor may lose his money, but no 
holder o° a national bank note has ever lost a cent on such a note. 

The State Life Insurance Company was organized iu 1894 and was 
the outgrowtli of a popular demand in Indiana for a home insurance 
company that would meet all modern requirements as to the scientific 
soundness of its basis and the equity of its plans. So well hais the 
company and Hs plans mer the approval of the most conservative busi- 
ness and professional men of the state, tiiat they have, in an intelli- 
gent self-interest and srate pride, given it a support unparalleled iu 
the history of life insurance. For its age its record is greater than that 
ever made by any insurance company in the world measured by the 
very large premium income, the high character of its business, the low 
expense ratio and the large reserve accumulated. The State Life Insur- 
ance Company does business under the Indiana compulsory reserve de- 
posit law of 1899, which furnishes the insured and the company a 
greater degree of protection tlian is furnished by the laws of any other 
state. Under the provisions of this law the net cash value of each policy 
must be deposited with the auditor of state, and tbe company has now 
on deposit in his department five million dollars for the protection of its 
policy-holders, which is an amount in excess of that required by law. 
The State Life Insurance Company is looked upon not only as the great- 
est fiduciaiy iiistitution in Indiana, but in thirty-five other states and 
Canada its soundness and strength is recognized and it is receiving the 
patronage of the discriminating insuring public who are api3reciatf\-e 
of the unbounded indorsement the company is receiving at the hands 
of the people m its home state who have watched Its splendid develop- 
ment. 

While the flattering array of figures now speak volumes for the 
financial strength of the company, sight should not be lost of the man- 
agement which inspired confidence in the beginning and has since dem- 
onstrated that it was well merited. The home offices are located in its 
own building on AVashington street, which is one of .the most conspicu- 
ous office structures in the city. 




STATE LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY BUILDING. 



233 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAyAPOLIS. 

COMPABATIVE STATEMENT STATE LIFE IKSURANCE COMPANY. 

Insurance Admitted Admitted 

in Force. Income. Assets. Surplus. 

1895 $3,548,500 ?G0,022 $18,000 $2,432 

1807 11 ,S85,500 204,983 150,890 62,615 

1S09 22,208,470 467,225 417,781 161,345 

1901 33,615,056 901,728 1,015,072 315,654 

1903 49,713,796 1 .748,490 2,205,636 390,577 

1904 60,148,994 2.244,033 3,160,083 544.585 

1905 74,440,588 2,729,911 4.126,682 605,317 

1906 -81,047,860 3,005,629 5,353,744 679,626 

The officers of the company are : Henry W. Bennett, president ; 

\\'ilbur S. Wynu, first vice-prt-sident and secretary ; Albert Sahm, treas- 
urer ; Charles F. Coffin, second vice-president ; Walter Howe, auditor ; 
Aliison Maxwell, M. D., medical director. The directors are : H. W. 
Bennett, Wm. C. Bobbs, W. S. ^\'j'nn, Char.es F. Coffiu, R. W. JIcBride, 
Albert fiahni, James I. Dissette, AVra. J. Mooney, Hiram P. Wasson. 

The Interstate Life Assurance Company \^as incorporated in 1897, 
and in January, 1900, «as reorganized under the legal reserve law of 
Indiana. II; has on deposit in the state insurance department of Indi- 
ana over $1,100 000 in securities for the protection of its policy holders — 
an additional factor of seouritj- that must be appreciated. It has its 
home offices in its own property situated at 4.30 North Pennsylvania 
street, a former residence property which has been improved and adapt- 
ed to the company's uses in a manner resulting in great convenience and 
economy and safety through the building of large fireproof safety vaults, 
the purchase of the property bchig also a most escelleut investment. 

The board of directors is made up of the following well-known con- 
servative and successful business and professional men: Thos. H. 
Spann, William E. Kurtz, Cortland ^'an Camp, Harry J. Milligan, Dr. 
E. F. Hodges, M. B. A\ilson, Cliarles E. Coffin. A. A. Barnes, E. I. 
Fisher, John B. Cockrum, Rear Admiral George Brown, William For- 
tiuie, August M. ICuhn, Dr. O. S. Runnels, John T. Martindale and F. B. 
Davenport, all of Indianajiolis, and James P. Goodrich of Winchester, 
Ind., Colonel D. N. Foster of Fort Wayne, Ind„ and M. L. Finckel of 
Germantown, Pa. The officers are F. B. Davenport, president ; John T. 
Martindale, vice-president and superintendent of agencies ; M. S. Thayer, 
secretary ; Charles E. Coffin, treasurer ; Dr. E. F. Hodges, medical di- 
rector ; Harry J. Milligan, general counsel, with Thos. H. Spann, Cort- 
land Van Camp and Charles E. Coffin members of the executive com- 
mittee. 

The officers of the company have bad years of practical experience 
in life insurance, qualifying them as experts in their respective positions. 
Through its board of directors, officers and committees the company is 
equipped with the very best of expert ability in all of its branches. 



|B^^||^||^ 




l^f^' 




Hh^^ '' 


^'v-'-'*- "^ 


[''■HI 


^^r 






— "^1 


^ 


1 it — ,;., 


lO 


If 


^Si 




1 


^^^K^^^^^^M '''1 '1^1 




w^ 


•M l^ssv-* V— -Tl 


SP^ 


W^M 


lif^ . .._. ^^^^^^^^^^?* 




^^M 



240 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

The policies issued by tlie company are most equitable aa* at- 
tractive, including notably limited payment life and endowment policies 
witli return cash value in event of death during the premium paying 
period, giving increased insurance value for the overpayment necessary 
to accumulate and maintain the required reserve. 

The guaranteed decreasing premium plan of life insurance, original 
with and peculiar to the Interstate Life, is an ideal insurance contract, 
under which the average premium is lower and paid-up, extended iu- 
■ surance and cash values are greater than other forms, and security en- 
hanced. The guaranteed decreasing premium plan accords with natural 
requirements of life insurance, guaranteeing as it does the decreasing 
of the burden of premium payments with advancing years and decreas- 
ing ability to pay. 

With an established business in its home state and in the states 
of Ohio, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Illinois and Missouri, under most con- 
servative and economical management, the company is developing along 
lines designed to constantly widen its field of usefulness-- and to make it 
an institution of great service and a source of just pride to its city and 
state. 

The American Central Life Insurance Company of Indianapolis, 
Ind., its home olEces being in its own building, the northeast corner of 
Market street and Monument place, was organized by Charles E. Dark, 
who has been its vice-president ever since its organization. The com- 
pany was incorporated February 23, 1S99, and commenced business April 
10, 1899, having been organized under the compulsory legal reserve de- 
posit law of Indiana, which requires the company to at all times have 
on deposit with the state of Indiana approved non-speculative securities 
in an amount equal to its entire liability to policy holders. The com- 
pany has met with continuous success since its organization. It is now 
transacting business in and is licensed by the insurance departments of 
those states : Indiana, Michigan, Pennsylvania, Missouri, Arkansas, Illi- 
nois, Tennessee, Texas, Kansas and Alabama, and has in contemplation 
the establishment of a Pacific coast depaitment and entering the states 
of California, Oregon and Washington. The company has a paid-up 
capital stock of $137,000, and at the present time has assets of over 
)|!1,T50,000, of which $350,000 is surplus security to policy holders. The 
company has life insurance in force of over $20,000,000. The 
last certificate of deposit from the state of Indiana shows the company 
to have legally prescribed securities amounting to $1,300,000 on deposit 
with the state, being over $51,000 more than the legal requirement. The 
company has one of the finest and most centrully located office buildings 
in the city of Indianapolis, the sixth floor of which is occupied by the 
company with its home offices, and the balance of the building is leased 



242 HYMAy-S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

to high-grade tenants, producing a handsome income for the company on 
the investment. The company's officers at the present time are : 

Milton A. Woollen, president; Charles E. Dark, vice-president; W. 
W. Dark, secretary; George E. Hume, treasurer; Russell T. Byers, gen- 
eral counsel; Carroll B. Carr, actuary; Edward A. Meyer, comptroller; 
D. A. Coulter, Frankfort, Ind., auditor; Frank W. Morrison, director; 
Dr Greene V. Woollen, medical director. 

The A.mericau Central Life Insurance Company operates on strictly 
old line legal reserve plans. It has become one of the largest life insur- 
ance companies of the West and South, and at its present rate of prog- 
ress wHl soon become one of the largest financial institutions in the state 
of Indiana. 

Reserve Loan Life Insurance Company-Life insurance is no 
lon-er a matter of sentiment. It has become a business proposition. 
Business and professional men to a man surround their business and 
families with life insurance protection, and every day thousands in other 
walks of life are following this example. The insecurity of human life 
obligates everv conscientious man when taking upon himself the care and 
rearing of a family to so dispose his arrangements that the event of 
death will not bring want to his dependents. The only question that 
presents itself is the amount of insurance he can carry and pay for, and 
the company in which he will place it. Indiana has within recent years 
placed herself in the lead of other states in the security of her insurance 
laws The companies organized under the existing laws of the state 
present greater security to their policy holders than companies in other 
states The limitation of authority of the officers of its insurance com- 
panies in the investment of funds is a superior requirement to that made 
by any state in the TTuited States. State loyalty and state pride should 
lead our people to give their full support and co-operation to the ad- 
vancement of home life insurance companies, among which is the Re- 
serve Loan Life Insurance Company of this city. On December 31, 1906, 
this company's admitted assets amounted to $1,082,566 and its surplus 
$r'1619. With such satisfactory financial conditions and $14,631,621 
insurance in force, this company is making rapid strides and is a credit 
to our state. The officers of the company are as follows: Chalmers 
Brown president ; William R. Zulich, vice-president ; William K. Bellis, 
secretary and treasurer; SI. M. Crabill, superintendent of agencies; W. 
A Ketcham and Guilford A. Deitch. counsel ; J. L. Larway, M. D., med- 
ical director. The home offices are located in the Ingalls building, south- 
west corner of Wasliington and I'ennsylvania streets. 

The Meridian Life and Trust Company-This successful and 
healthy young life insurance company is organized and incorporated 
under the Indiana legal reserve compulsory deposit law of 1S99, and 
has bad a marvelous growth from its very start At the close of its 



BYMAX'S UAXDBOOK OF IXDIAy.iPOLIS. 243 

first year the iusurance in force amouuted to .$607,800, with assets of 
$107,452.68, and on December 31, 1906, the insurance in force amounted 
to $8,296,391 and the assets to ¥932,189.72. Results up to the present 
writing show a corresponding increase for 1907. The insurance investi- 
gations of 190r>-06 that wrought such havoc to many of the Gibraltars 
of life insurance, resulting in a heavy decrease along all lines, seems to 
have had the opposite effect on the Meridian Life, judging from its heavy 
increase of new business produced during that period, and the corre- 
sponding increase in assets and surplus. The funds of the company are 
invested in the highest possible class of securities, the company confining 
itself strictly to that class of securities recommended and endorsed by 
the laws of the state of Indiana. The confidence placed in the Meridian 
Life by the public has been justified and merited in every sense. Its 
continued success is an assured fact, as it is built on a solid foundation 
and is managed in a conservative and strictly businesslike manner. The 
company issues all forms of life and endowment policies. The oflicers 
of the company are : Arthur Jordan, president ; Everett Wagner, vice- 
president ; T. J. Owens, secretary ; Orlando B. lies, treasurer, and Wil- 
mer Christian, medical director. The offices of the company are located 
on the fifth floor of the Lemcke building. 

The Indianapolis Life Insurance Company was chartered by the 
state of Indiana and began issuing policies November 20, 1905. It was 
organized under the legal reserve compulsory deposit law of Indiana. 
This law requires the company to deposit with the state in high class 
interest bearing securities the full net cash value of each policy in force, 
thus furnishing the best possible security for the policy holders. The 
company was organized primarily to furnish its members safe Legal Re- 
serve Life and Endowment insurance at cost. This means a material 
reduction in premiums as compared with those charged by most other 
companies. It is not making any experiments. It is adhering strictly 
to the course tested and followed by all of the companies during their 
time of greatest good to their membership — before tlie coming of the 
mad, wild scramble for mere bigness, with the resulting twin evils — graft 
and waste. The officers and incorporators are men of high character, 
experienced and successful in business. At the close of 1005 the books 
showed $.325,000 of business written. During 1906 applications were re- 
ceived for $1,268,250, with annual premiums aggregating $39,384.08. De- 
ducting rejections, not placed and lapsed policies there was in force De- 
cember 31, 1006, $1,280,067, with annual premiums aggregating $40,498. 
Tlie company issues only annual dividend policies, and never issued any 
deferred dividend, dated back or special contract policies. The company 
will not enter any race for size. It is essentially a policy holders' com- 
pany. Anything that does not make for their benefit is condemned. 
The company believes that heavy expenditures merely for increasing 



244 HyMAS-S HAXnBOOK OF IXUIASAPOLIS. 

business are wasteful, and a normal, healthy growth is all that the In- 
dianapolis Life Insurance Company desires. The officers of the com- 
pany are: Albert Goslee, president; Frank P. Manly, vice-president 
and general manager ; Joseph R. Raub, secretary ; Dr. Frank A. Morrison, 
medical director ; Edward B. Raub, counsel. 

Indiana National Life Insurance Company— This company was or- 
ganized under the legal reserve deposit law of Indiana, and was incor- 
porated June 28, 1006, and commenced business in November, 1900. 
The company has on deposit with the state insurance department of In- 
diana for the protection of all its policy holders the sum of $110,000, an 
amount far in excess of the law's requirement, and as an extra factor 
of safety should be appreciated, as it makes the company impregnable 
from every point of view. The company has its home offices in~ the In- 
diana P.vthian building, and it includes among its directors many of the 
foremost business men of Indiana. The officers of the company are: 
M. D. Butler, president; J. E. Killen. vice-president and general man- 
ager ; U. Z. Wiley, second vice-president and general counsel ; Frank W. 
Killen, secretary and superintendent of agents ; Asher B. Evans, treas- 
urer, and S. P. Woodard, medical director. The company is capitalized 
at $200,000, $150,000 of which has been paid in in cash, and the stock is 
scattered over the state of Indiana among the most prominent bankers 
and merchants. The company is now doing business in four states and 
has written five millions of insurance. The company is one of the most 
conservatively managed companies doing business in the state, and its 
management has had years of experience in the insurance field. The 
company issues all forms of life and endowment policies, all of which 
provide for guaranteed annual dividends, and judging from the com- 
pany's success its policy forms are meeting with the entire ai^proval of 
the insuring public. 

The Indianapolis Fire Insurance Company was organized in 1S99 
and began doing business September 1st of that year. The capital stock 
is $200,000, fully paid up. The assets on January 1, 1907, were $.536,- 
369.89 and the surplus to policy holders $247,679.36. The company 
ti-ansacts a general fire insurance business, having agents in all the 
principal cities and towns in Indiana, and also is doing business in fif- ^ 
teen other states. The company is conservatively managed, seeking 
quality rather than quantity, adequate rates on risks well scattered ^ 
rather than rapid growth at the expense of security. Therefore, while 
its growth has not been rapid, it has been of that shbstantial character 
which commends itself to the most particular insurer. Its assets are 
kept safely invested in interest bearing securities, and its premium in- 
come for 1907 will approximate a half million dollars. Its loss by the 
San Francisco conflagration, through reinsurance for another company, 
was near $60,000. These losses were all promptly paid without dis- , 

J 



n'MAX'S UAXDHOOK UF I X Dl.lXAPOLlii. 



245 



count. Its officers are as follows : Dauiol A. Rudy, president; Sol 
Jleyer, first vice-president *and treasurer; Wiufield Miller, second vice- 
president ; John T. Hinderks, seeretai"y ; John R. Engle, superintendent 
of agencies. 

The Qerinan Fire Insurance Company of Indiana is the outgi'owth 
of the German Mutual Insurance Conipanj-, organized April 1, 1854, 
and which, during the long period it operated as such, gained a tore- 
most position among the leading mutual fire associations of the coun- 
try. After conducting business for over forty years on the mutual sys- 
tem, it was decided to incorporate as a joint stock company, and this 




change was effected March 11. 189G, under the title of the German Fire 
Insurance Company cf Indiana, with a paid-up capital stock of $100,000. 
The last statement submitted by the company to the auditor of state 
showed actual resources of .fr)87,44t).70, and a surplus to policy holders 
of ?243,890.0S, thus making it the largest and strongest fire insurance 
company in the state. The management comprises Theodore Stein, 
president; Wm. F. Kuhn, first vice-president; Ferd A. Mueller, second 
vice-president; Loreuz Schmidt, secretary, and Theodore Reyer, treas- 
urer. These five gentlemen, together with Messrs. Frederick Schrader 
and Wm. Kohlstaedt, compose the directory, and are among the best 
known business men in Indianapolis. 



2iC UYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 

The Indiana State Fire Insurance Company was organized and be- 
gan business in May, 1907, as a mutual company designated especially 
for tlie benefit of manufacturers. Its officers and directors are: Presi- 
dent, Jos. L. Ebner, Viueennes, Ind., president of the Ebner Ice and Cold 
Storage Company, a syndicate owning and operating numerous ice and 
cold storage plants ; vice-president, John E. Fredericks, KoUomo, Ind., 
secretary of the Kokomo Steel and Wire Company, owning and operat- 
ing three separate plants for the manufacture of wire, nails, wire fences 
and fence materials, etc. ; treasurer, John II. Furnas, Indianapolis, Ind., 
president of the Furnas Office and Bank Furniture Company, a plant 
which is having a constant and marked growth ; secretary, Alvin T. 
Coate, Indianapolis, Ind., formerly pi-esident of the Insurance Audit 
Company, and a man of long insurance experience. The company has 
already taken its place among recognized factory mutual companies, has 
at this time more than i5130,000 in assets, has a dividend ratio of 25 per 
cent, and more than 325 policy holders. Its offices are on the fifth floor 
of the American Cenrral Life building. 

Indiana Millers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company is a purely 
mutual company established in 1SS9 and organized and conducted under 
the mill mutual plan, affording the most economical and safest fire in- 
surance- system given to the public. The management is vested in a 
board of directors chosen from its members and elected annually by the 
policy holders of the company. No agency business is done, and no 
commissions are paid for obtaining business as all trJtnsactions are 
made directly with its members. The company writes no general, mer- 
cantile or promiscuous business, but is confined to a selected class of 
isolated risks. The result of conducting the business of insurance upon 
the well-established principles of this company has reduced the cost of 
operation from 40 per cent, to 15 per cent, over the stock company plan 
and a reduction of the loss ratio from 58 per cent, to 30 per cent, of 
the premium income. The company has paid claims for loss aggregating 
nearly $000,000 and has never resorted to the courts in a single settle- 
ment, and has never had a law suit of any kind for or against it The 
officers of the company are M. S. Blish, president, and E. E. Perry, sec- 
retary and treasurer ; F. E. C. Hawks, vice-president. 

Newton Todd, investment broker, fire insurance and rental agent, 
whose offices are in the Fletcher National P.ank building, is the lead- 
ing broker and dealer in local securities in the city, buying and. selling 
bank, trust company. Belt railroad and other high-class securities. Mr. 
Todd does bond and mortgage loan business for local individuals and 
eastern corporations. He is the sole Indianapolis representative of the 
Fire Association of Philadelphia, one of the leading fire insurance com- 
panies in the United States. Mr. Todd also does a rental business, hav- 
ing charge of some of the largest buildings In the cit}% 



ifr.l/.LV.S' IIAXDBOOK OF INDIAyAPOLIi- 



^^ 


■■nwiiiiiiii.iMLs,*^"^ 


1 


B ^M^ 1 


r^ J 


J^A 


li 


JHB iL I' jj^n 




^ 


■a 


^^^^K^^Si rS * 


M 


^ 


^iO^^^^^^I 


H 



V EW OF GREGORY & APPEL S OFFICE 

Gregory & Appel, iusurauce, real estate, rental aud loan agents, 
12.1 East Market street, have been engaged in business since ISSl, and 
rank among the most important in their line in the city. The firm rep- 
resents several of the best known and most reliable fire iusurauce com- 
panies. The members of the firm are Fred A. Gregorj' aud John J. 
Appel. 

Joseph T. Elliott & Sons, stock and bond dealers, Nos. 222 aud 
223 American National Bank Building — This firm was organized in 1904. 
The individual members of the firm are Joseph T. Elliott, formei'ly 
president of the Marion Trust Company, and his two sons, George B. 
Elliott, formerly clerk of Jlarion county, and C. Edgar Elliott. Tbu 
firm makes a specialty of dealing in muuicipal and corporation bonds. 

W. E. Stevenson & Company — This business was established in 
1S87 by W. E. Stevenson, who is recognized as one of the most pro- 
gressive and energetic men in the real estate business in the state. 
Indianapolis owes much to his enterprise. He personally promoted the 
erection of the first great 'ofifice building that was built on Washington 
street, formerly known as the Stevenson building, now the State Life 
building; the Indianapolis Cold Storage Company plant, and was promi- 
nently associated with the work of building the Indianapolis Southern 



248 



HYMAN'.S HAXDBOOK OF INDIAXAPOLIS. 



railroad and the Indianapolis, New Castle & Toledo Electric Railway 
Company. This firm occupies commodious quarters in the Union Trust 
building, 126 East Market street. 

John M. Todd, established in 1861, is the oldest real estate broker 
now engaged in the real estate business in this city. Todd's first sub- 
division, at the comer of Gregg and East streets, one of the original 
subdivisions to the city, was made in 1S64. This property at that time 
was in the suburbs. Mr. Todd has been identified with many other 
subdivisions during the growth of the city, and has also been promi- 
nently identified with the promotion and building of our railroads and 
manufacturing enterprises, and in later days took an active interest in 
establishing our present park system. Mr. Todd and his son, Newton 
Todd, occupy rooms in Fletcher's National Bank building. 




DAM ON WHITE RIVER AT RIVERSIDE PARK. 




CONCERNS WHOSE TRANSACTIONS INVOLVE MILLIONS OP DOLLARS. 

Situated at the center of a fertile, extensive and cultivated territory 
of densely populated area, with which her means of communication 
keep her in the closest touch, Indianapolis possesses advantages 
surpassed by no other city in the country for carrying- on exten- 
sive interests in wholesale distribution. The home demand in all prin- 
cipal lines of merchandise is a large and active one, and Indianapolis 
enjoys a position of special prominence as a supply point for the entire 
state of which it is the center and capital. Beyond this, the trade of 
Indianapolis as a distributing point has extended into portions of Illi- 
nois, Ohio, Michigan, Kentucliy, and in numerous lines as far south as 
Tennessee, while in a number of specialties the business of the city 
extends to all parts of this country. 

Early Wholesale Trade— In the early days of Indianapolis there was 
not much expectation that it would ever become important as a dis- 
tributing center in wholesale trade. Even when the Madison railroad 
came into the city, in 1S47, it was regarded as more important for the 
shipment of agi-icultural products to a river port and for the receipt 
of outside products for local consumption than as a means of estalilish- 
ing a business interest for supplying at wholesale the merchants of 
outside communities. It was only after railroads began to multiply, and 
the city was placed in communication with many of the surrounding 
towns through Indiana, that the idea of a possibility of success in 
wholesaling began to be entertained by local merchants. In the decade 
between 1850 and ISliO the first regular wholesale houses made their 
appearance, although it is probable that some of the larger retailers 
had before that sold occasional bills at wholesale. In 1857 A. & H. 
Schnull had become regular wholesale dealers in groceries, and in 18"9 
the dry goods jobbing business was established in the city. During the 
war a few other wholesale houses appeared, and after the war was over 
Indianapolis began to take a position as an important jobbing center, 
which she has ever since retained, and in which today tliis city ranks 
as one of the leading cities in the country, there being, perhaps, no city 
anywhere in the United States not on a navigalile waterway which is 
at all equal to Indianapolis in the volume of its joi^bmg business. 



250 i/yj/.-iX'S HANDBOOK OF IKDIANAPOLIS. 

Hibben, Hollweg & Co., Importers and Jobbers : Di-y Goods, No- 
tions, Woolens, etc. (at wholesale only), 131 to 141 South Meridian 
Street — This, the oldest and largest jobbing dry goods and notion house 
in the state, had as founders in the early "sixties" J. S. Hibben and C. 
B. Pattison, through \Yhose untiring energy and aggressive, upright 
business methods a leading place in the esteem and confidence of the 
trade tributary to this market was quickly assured. Since their retire- 
ment from the business and subsequent decease, a period of approxi- 
mately thirty years, the active management has developed upon H. B. 
and T. E. Hibben, who, together with Louis Hollweg, constitute the pres- 
ent firm of Hibben, Hollweg & Co. Under their efficient management, 
aided by employes long associated in the conduct of the business, the 
lX)Sition early acquired has been sti-engthened and continuously main- 
tained throughout the various changes of firm title and partnership in- 
terests occurring in tliis interval. The wide acquaintance of the house 
and its established reputation for solidity and fair dealing place it as 
representative of the best elements of commercial character and activity, 
and the firm is conceded to stand at the head of its own line and among 
the foremost of the strictly jobbing interests of the state. The members 
of the firm are prominently identified with all movements tending to the 
city's welfare and advancement and have investment interests in several 
lines other than those to which they devote their personal time and 
attention. Mr. Hollweg is one of the pioneer Indiana glass manufac- 
turers and is largely interested in this and other enterprises located 
both in this city and elsewhere in the state; 

Hibben, Hollweg & Co. occupy the building at the corner of Meridian 
and Georgia streets, which they have recently enlarged by addition of 
building adjoining on the north, affording a frontage of 100 feet ou 
Meridian street by 205 feet on Georgia street, which, together with the 
premises of 2G to 30 East Georgia street, annexed by bridges and tunnels, 
affords the firm in excess of 125,000 square feet of floor space in their 
salesrooms, exclusive of the premises at 211 to 215 South Meridian 
street, a building 35,x205 feet, six floors, which is used for storage. 
In their entirety, the buildings occupied comprise approximatel.y 200,- 
000 square feet of floor space, being larger than is employed in any 
similar jobbing business in the state. The merchandise offered in vari- 
ous departments Includes air desirable lines required in a first-class, 
modern store, and covers a wide range of foreign and domestic "Dry 
Goods," "Notions," "Hosiery," "White Goods," "Linens," "Woolens," 
"House Furnishings," "Floor Oil Cloths," "Linoleums," "Mattings," 
"Rugs," "Curtains," "Window Shades," "Knit Woolens," "Men's • Fur- 
nishings," etc., also a veiy extended line of "Overalls," "Work Shirts," 
"Laundered" and "Soft Shirts," "Lined Coats," etc., largely of their own 
manufactiire. 



^Y^IA^"s handbook of ixnrAXAPorjs. 



Liberal use has been made by this firm of the facilities for direct 
importation. Especial attention has been given to products of Western 
,and Southern mills with most encouraging results, as both the trade and 
consumer hold this class of goods iu constantly increasing favor to the 
extent that many of the larger mills have found it advantageous to make 
Messrs. Hibben, Hollweg & Co. their agents in this territory for general 
ar,d special lines, including certain favorably known brands of Brown 
and Colored Cottons, Plaids and Warps manufactured to their order. 
Griffith Brothers, 24 to 32 
West Maryland street, manufac- 
turers, importers and wholesale 
dealers in millinery, began busi- 
ness at Dayton, Ohio, in 18G3, 
and established themselves in 
this city in 1876. The market 
in millineiy from this point at 
that time was very limited and 
did not extend beyond a radius 
of one hundred miles. Their en- 
tei-prise and ability has contrib- 
uted to make Indianapolis one 
of the most conspicuous mil- 
linery markets in the country to- 
day. The growth of this busi- 
ness has demonstrated that this 
city is specially favored in its 
location, for the firm finds it 
natural and easy to do business 
with all the trade in the central, 
western and southern states. 
The stock carried by this firm 
comprehends everything in millinery, and no concern in the country has 
a better understanding of the wants of the trade nor has better facili- 
ties to meet them. Griffith Brothers' store rooms, yvhich comprise two 
large, adjoining buildings, six and seven stories each, handsomely ap- 
pointed throughout for the accommodation of their large business, is 
located in the heart of the wholesale district. They are the largest 
manufacturers of ladies" and children's straw and felt hats in the state. 
Hollweg & Reese, wholesale china and glassware. A recognized 
leader in the wholesale china and glassware trade is the firm of Holl- 
weg & Reese, who arc located at 130-130 South Meridian street. The 
business was established in ISfiS and the present firm name is still con- 
tinued, although Mr. Louis Hollweg is now and has been sole proprietor 
since the death of Oias- E, Iiee.e/^ in 1888. The business of the firm 




GRIFFITH BROTHERS. 



HYllAX'S HAXUBOOK OF INDIAXAPOLIS. 










HOLLWEG & REESE. 



is that of direct importers and jobbers, the trade reaching out through 
Indiana, Illinois, Ohio and the South. The most favorable and direct 
relations are maintained with manufacturing centers in Europe and 
America, and the stock carried is constantly complete in the finest 
grades and qualities of china, including the best productions of Limoges, 
Sevres and other art centers in fine ware, as well as queensware and 
all standard grades of crockery, cut, pressed and blown glassware, 
lamps and lamp goods, fancy goods, bric-a-brac, etc., and a prominent 
specialty is made of fruit jars, of which the firm are large manufac- 
turers, having a factory located at Greenfield, Ind. The premises in 
the city comprise two four-story and basement buildings, 100x180 feet 
in dimensions, and is stocked heavily at all seasons with the best and 
finest goods in the line. 

Fahnley & McCrea Millinery Company — This house was founded 
in 18C5 and was the first to engage in the wholesale millinery trade in 
this city. In January, ISOS, the firm changed to a corporation by taking 
in old employes who had been with the concern from boyhood. Since 
the establishment of this house this branch of trade has become one 
of the most important and largest in the wholesale business of Indian- 



254 



HYlISy'8 HANDBOOK OF nOIAXAPOLIS. 



apolis, and the prestige it secured as pioneers has been maintained 
and it is recognized today as one of the leading and most important 
millinery houses in the west. The buildings occupied are located at 
240 and 242 South Meridian street, 237 and 2o9 McOrea street, and S 
West Louisiana street. The stocli is one of the heaviest in the country 
and as complete as can be found in New Torli or Chicago, and is ex- 
celled by none in either city. Sixteen travelers are employed and the 




territory covered embraces Indiana, Illinois, Iowa. Ohio, Kentucky, 
Tennessee, Georgia and Alabama. About fifty hands are employed in 
the store and from 150 to 200 in the manufacturing department. The 
officers of the company are: Fred. Fahnley, president; William H. 
Cook, vice-president; A. E. Dietrichs, secretary, and A. A. Barnes, 
treasurer. 

Mooney=Mueller Drug Co., 101 and 103 S. Meridian St— Among 
the important branches of the jobbing business this city is better repi^e- 
sented in the drug line than, perhaps, in any other, and no city in 
the United States of the size of Indianapolis affords as good a market 
or is as well represented. The Mooney-Mueller Drug Co. was established 
in September, 1902, by W. J. Jloouey and J. George Mueller, succeeding 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



255 



the Indianapolis Drug Co., and both gentlemen have been prominently 
identified with the wholesale drug trade of Indianapolis for many years. 
The firm does a general wholesale drug business and in addition con- 
ducts an extensive cigar department, being the state disti'ibuting agents 
for the Yocum Bros." famous "Y. B." brand and Davis's "El Sidello" 




ELLER DRUG COMPANY 



cigars; also state distributers for the famous "Green River" brand of 
whisky. The firm is represented by fifteen men on the road, who cover 
all of Indiana and central Ohio and Illinois. Mr. Mooney is the presi- 
dent of Indianapolis Board of Trade and Mr. Mueller is an active mem- 
ber of the prominent German organizations of this city, and both have 
always been associated with all movements looknig to the extension of 
the city's welfare. 



BYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAA^APOLIS. 



Kipp Brothers Company, wholesale fancy goods, druggists' and sta- 
tioners' sundries, etc. The jobbing interests of Indianapolis cover all 
departments of wholesale trade 
with much completeness, and in 
certain lines the city is a par- 
ticularly important center, with 
sales covering the West and 
South. A particularly note- 
worthy business enterprise is 
that conducted by the Kipp 
Brothers Company, importers 
and jobbers, at 37 to 41 South 
Meridian street. The business 
was established in 1880 by Al- 
brecht and Robert Kipp. under 
the style of Kipp Brothers, al- 
though Albrecht Kipp had been 
identified with the line since 
ISO", and so continued until 
1893, when the entire business 
was incorporated with a capital 
stock of $100,000, with A. Kipp, 
president; Chas. F. Giel. vice- 
president, and Robert Kipp, sec- 
retary and treasurer. The of- 
fice and warerooms occupy two 
five-stoiy and basement build- 
ings, 45x202 feet in dimensions, 
affording every advantage and 
facility for the storage and 
handling of their large, com- 
plete and diversified stock, di- 
vided into eighteen separate de- 
partments. In these depart- 
ments are included all kinds of 
fancy goods, druggists' and sta- 
tioners' sundries, toys, musical 
instruments, cutlery, smokers' articles, sporting goods, notions, leather 
goods, chinaware and pottery, fireworks, etc. The trade of this house 
embraces Indiana, Illinois. Missouri, Kansas, Texas, Iowa, Oklahoma 
and Indian Territory, Nebraska, Kentucky, Tennessee, Ohio, Alabama 
and Georgia. The company operates branches at Louisville, Ky., and 
Pallas, Tex, 




BTYAIAXS HANDBOOK OF INDIAXAPOLIS. 257 

The Standard Metal Company— In the metal lines Indianapolis 
shown manned improvement in the jobbing and manufacturing de- 
partments in recent years and it extends a market to buyers that is 
as complete and attractive as any in the Central West. A notable and 
extensive addition to this particular branch of the city's manufacturing 
md jobbing business is the Standard Metal Company. 

The Standard Metal Company, incorporated, began business in 
March, 1906, as jobbers of tin plate, sheet iron, metals and all kinds of 
inners' and sheet metal workers' supplies and manufacturers of pieced 




THE STANDARD METAL COMPANY. 



inware. The concern carries in addition to the above an extensive 
ne of stamped and japanned tinware, enameled wares and kitchen 
urnishings. The trade of the house extends throughout Indiana and 
Ilinois. The company occupies a commodious three-story brick struc- 
are at the southeast corner of Illinois and South streets. The mem- 
ers of the company are all of long experience iu the metal lines, having 
een actively identified with the trade in this territory for periods 
mging from fifteen to thirty years. The officers and directors of the 
jmpany are: Wm. J. Elder, president and general manager; Wm. M. 
[usbands, vice-president; F. A. Wilkening, secretary and ti-easurer; 
OS. F. Jowar and A. L. Henry. 



258 HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Crescent Paper Co. — Prominent among the large and growing in- 
dustries of tlie city is the wholesale paper business. Only fifteen or 
twenty years ago there was not a wholesale paper house in the city, 
all goods of this nature being shipped in here from Chicago, St. Louis, 
or Cincinnati. Today we have six jobbing houses selling paper exclu- 
sively and covering with their salesmen not only the local field but 
spreading over all the states surrounding us, and even into Missouri, 
Iowa and Texas. Of these six concerns the Crescent Paper Company 
is the only one that carries both coarse and fine papers, meaning papers 
for wrapping purposes and those for printing purposes. In connection 




CRESCENT PAPER COMPANY 



with their wrapping paper business they have a very large sale on 
such lines as building and roofing papers, paper bags, and cordage of 
every description, while the fine-grade department carries a complete 
line of printers' supplies and is well equipped for paper ruling, punch- 
ing, padding, perforating, etc. The above is a cut of the building now 
occupied by the Crescent Paper Company, located on We?t Georgia 
street, and gives an idea of their storage capacity. One of the great 
advantages this concern enjoys is the fact that the rear of the build- 
ing backs right up to the union traclis and into the building is a pri- 
vate switch accommodating six cars at a time. It can be readily seen 
they are well equipped with modem and up-to-date facilities for handling 
their large and increasing business. 



HYMAN',)i HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



259 



Standard Paper Co., HI to 117 East South street, manufacturers 
and manufacturers' agents, was incorporated in November, 1903, and 
from its inception lias been a notable factor in the paper trade of the 
city, and is one of the recognized leaders in the wrapping paper, paper 
bags and roofing paper lines. A spirit of progressiveness has marked 
the administration of its business from the beginning and its trade ex- 
tends wherever paper is used in the United States. Here will be found 
one of the largest and most complete lines of wrapping papers and 
liMjii'i- lia-s of all kinds and one of the lin-.sest stocks of roofing papers 




STANDARD PAPER COMPANY. 



in the Central West. The promptness with which this house has on 
this account been able to fill all demands made upon it has been one 
of the leading elements in its rapid growth and the extension of its vast 
business. The building occupied by this concern was built especially 
for it and is the largest in the state devoted to their line. The location, 
alongside the Pennsylvania tracks and in close proximitj- to all freight 
houses, affords especial facilities for the convenient handling of large 
shipments, which are made direct from the building to the cars. The 
officers of the company are A. M. Rosenthal, president, and Chas. W. 
.Nfisou, secretary. 



HYMAy-S UAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



The E. C. Dolmetsch Co., incorporatefl. importers and jobbers of 
druggists' and stationers' sundries, toys and fancy goods, 122 South 
Jleridian street — For nearly a 
half of a century this city has 
been famed as a center and 
as a notable market for the 
class of wares handled by this 
concern, and no other line has 
done as much to extend the 
reputation of Indianapolis as 
a jobbing center throughout 
the territory tributary to it. 
The E. C. Dolmetsch Co. was 
established in April, 1003, 
and while the house is of 
comparatively recent origin, 
yet all of the members that 
comprise it have been identi- 
fied with the line for over 
thirty years, having been 
formerly connected with the 
old established firm of Chas. 
Mayer & Co., which retired 
from the wholesale trade in 
1903, and who were the rec- 
ognized leaders up to that 
period. The firm occupies a four-story and basement building at 122 
South Meridian street, in the center of the wholesale district. The stock 
is an extensive one and embraces evei'ything in druggists' sundries, sta- 
tionery, toys (of which they make direct importations), athletic goods, 
fi.shing tackle, fireworks, flags, leather goods (such as ladies' purses and 
pocketbooks), pipes, pocket cutlery, fancy goods, holiday goods, etc. The 
territory covered by this house extends throughout Indiana, Ohio. Illi- 
nois. Missouri and Iowa. The officers and members of the company are : 
Eugene C. Dolmetsch, president ; Herman 11. Sielken, vice-president ; 
John G. Ohleyer, secretary and treasurer ; Otto Keller and George Hof- 
mann, 

Indianapolis Book and Stationery Company — -^ house which 
operates upon an extensive scale and under most favorable conditions 
is that of the Indianapolis Book and Stationery Compan.v, which is en- 
gaged in exclusively wholesale business iu the line of books and sta- 
tionery. The company was incorporated in 1S9G with a capital stock 




HYMAN'S HA^'DBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



of $40,000, as successors to 
the wholesale department of 
the Bowen-Merrill Company, 
booksellers, publishers, etc. 
The office and salesrooms oc- 
cupy a three-story and base- 
ment building, 25x200 feet in 
dimensions, at 121 South Jle- 
ridian street, and there the 
company carries a complete 
and well assorted stock of 
standard publications and the 
latest and most popular issues 
of books of every kind. They 
also handle full lines of of- 
fice and fancy stationery, 
with an especially complete 
line of supplies for office use, 
the products of the leading 
mills and factories of tlie 
country. School supplies and 
holiday goods are ^specially 
prominent in their lines. The 

trade of the company is very large through Indiana. Illi 
Kentucky. The president is W. H. Elvin; Thos. Dunn, 
and James H. Wilson, secretary. 




Ohio and 
-president. 





VIEW ON FALL CREEK. 



//I )/.l.V,v HAND HOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

Tanner & Co., wholesale tinplate, sheet-iron metal, etc. One of 
promineut iiraiK-lies of tratle in Indianapolis is that of tinplate, 
sheet metals and tinners' supplies, and 
in connection with this trade there is 
also an extensive manufacturing tin- 
ware industry. A leading house in the 
tinplate and tinners' supply trade is 
that of Tanner & Co., who are also 
manufacturers of tinware, and conduct 
business at 216-218 South Meridian 
street. The business was established 
in 1878 by George G. Tanner, who has 
since conducted it with marked success. 
They utilize for salesrooms and fac- 
tory purposes a four-story and base- 
ment building, 50x125 feet in dimen- 
sions, and in addition they have ample 
warehouse facilities. They carry a very 
large wholesale stock of tinplate, sheet 
iron and metals, and full lines of tin- 
ners' supplies, and they manufacture 
high-grade tinware and carry these 
goods in large quantities to meet the 
demands of a heavy trade covering all of the central and western states. 



—————— ——TrMBMKlnn 




SHELTER HOUSE IN BROOKSIDE PARK. 




The beginnings of trade in Indianapolis were entirely retail. Dan- 
iel Shaffer, the first merchant of the city, did not carry a vei'y large 
stock. The wants of the earlier settlers were as modest as their purses. 
They needed gunpowder and shot, iron and nails, salt and some dye- 
stuffs to color the homespun fabrics which furnished the material for 
their wardrobes, and a few other articles of prime necessity— among 
which they included whisky and tobacco. After the first winter there 
was competition in the store business. Mr. Shaffer, the pioneer store- 
keeper, was the first of the settlers to die. The merchants who fol- 
lowed him carried stocks which were a little more diversified, and sold 
coffee, tea, muslin and other staple goods. Most of their freight came 
by pack-horse, though some was brought up by keelboat. After roads 
were built, supplies were brought by wagon. The stores were all of the 
general variety, keeping a little of everything, until 1847, when the 
Madison railroad was completed to the city, but after that lines were 
divided and there were stores for dry goods and stores for groceries. 
It was four or five years later before there was any closer division. 
The grocery store sold articles of hardware and many miscellaneous 
lines, and the dry goods stores handled shoes, hats, c;ips and all kind^- 
of wearing apparel. In a few years special stores devoted to other 
lines of trade were established, and quite a number of the successful 
stores of today are the successors of enterprises inaugurated in the. 
early fifties. 

The Shopping District— The shopping district of Indianapolis tc- 
day shows that the people of the city have cultured and artistic tastes. 
The jewelry displays indicate a demand for a distinctively high grade 
of articles for personal adornment. The wall-paper and other displnys 
of decorative goods indicate an elevated artistic standard in the homes 
of Indianapolis and contiguous territory. Music stores show instru- 
ments and publications which give indisputal)le evidence that musical 
culture in the city and its surroundings has reached an advanced stage. 
So it is in all lines of retail business. The tastes to which they cater 
are those of a metropolitan, a progressive and a prosperous people. 



264 



UYMAya aAyDBf of rS-.iANAPOLIS. 



Charles Mayer & C»" ^ ^* We . Washington Street, Importers 
and Dealer'5 in Art 'VW , x.hm-x iss, Silver. Jewelry, Toys, etc. — A 

"i le\oted exclusively to gift things. 

HB^^^^ '^ j> ^! '11'* buMness was established by the late 
r wg^^^^.J-- ^ii t liiiles Jlayer, Sr., in ISiO. He was 

1 piDueei citizen who contributed much 
to ihe citj s advancement. In 1865 Mr. 
\\illnm Haueisen was admitted to an In- 
tel est In 1S88 the last-named geutle- 
luaii letiied md four new members were 
tikoii into pirtnership and the firm thus 
(ontiniied consisting of Charles Mayer, 
Sr Ins t\\ o '!ons, Ferdinand L. Mayer and 
Ch iilf^ AI ivei, Jr., Fred Berger and Louis 

Muu In ISOl the worthy founder of the 

ll IIHKS|I r~^ house died and in January of the current 

|i IfBPwSHJ I year, Messrs Berger and Murr retiring, 

. I [(< ■"''' 8^B I the business has since been conducted by 

*, I VI '^ *|^ ' Messis r L and Charles Mayer under 

' ^1 - '^^!^ _ I the oii-'iual hrm style. The premises oc- 

cupied It til It time consisted of a spacious 
1840 and lommodius five-story and basement 

buiIJiug. iwth frontage and depth of 34x 
warehouse in rear of the above, on Pearl street, five 




CHAS MAYER, 



195 feet, 

stories and basement, 34x80 feet. 

In 1903 Charles JIayer & Company gave up the large wholesale 
trade to give exclusive attention to the retail business and the Wash- 
ington street building was remodeled and improved for a retail store. 
The first floor shows a magnificent display of jewelry, watches, clocliS. 
silver, bronzes, fans, opera glasses, leather goods, perfumeiy and toilet 
articles, cutlery, smokers' articles, stationery, etc. The second floor 
contains fine china, ornaments, pottery, dinner and toilet ware, cut 
glass, art wares, beautiful lamps and electroliers, marble statuary, etc. 
The third floor is occupied with athletic and sporting goods, leather 
goods, traveling bags, satchels, suit cases and trunks, baskets, house- 
hold furnishings, bird cages, and baby carriages and go carts. The 
fourth floor is given over to toys, dolls, books, games and novelties for 
children. Importations of wares are made direct from France, Ger- 
many, Austria, Bohemia, England, Russia, Japan, etc. An average 
force of from one hundred to one hundred and fifty experienced clerks 
are employed in various capacities. The firm is a member of the Mer- 
chants' Association. 




CHAS. MAYER & CO. 



HYMAN'tJ HANDBOOK OF I^^DIAXAPOLIS. 



Vonnegut Hardware Company— The Vonnegut Hardware Company, 
wholesale and retail dealers, 120-124 East Washington street, is the 
development of a business that was established originally In 1851 by 
Mr. Clemens Vonnegut, sr., and in 1898 assumed the present style, with 
Mr. Clemens Vonnegut and his three sons, Clemens Vonnegut, jr., 

Franklin Von- 
negut and Geo. 
Vonnegut. as 
partners. Their 
five -story and 
basement 
building, 4 5 x 
200 feet, eon- 
tains a very 
large and com- 
•nBHi^^' >«Asi i^H " I P'ete stock, in- 

£i iBHlSilMl,i«H..:?W-' SIHwL. eluding the 

I •.'.MkJ*^^ ?'^ ^iiri 1 BIHhI!^ '-'^®'' ^""^ finest 

" ' productions of 

r" ^ "^IB' iKt l^8!8Hi i JiMII^. ^i^^^^^^^Bt^ leading Ameri- 
m " ffi'<B9S^^^^'^^'^'~!I^^**'I^^^^^^^^^^H can manufac- 

turers and the 
finest imported 
articles, the as- 
sortment e m - 
bracing build- 
ers' and cab- 
inet hardware, 
machinery, 
tools, manufac- 
1 11 r e r s' sup- 
It 1 i e s. meat 
market outfits. 

imported and domestic cutlery, household hardware, etc. Besides their 
large retail trade, they have a heavy wholesale business covering In- 
diana, Illinois, Ohio and the South, and employ six traveling sales- 
men. Mr. Clemens Vonnegut, Sr., died December 13, 190G, and the 
business is now conducted by his sons. 

The Pettis Dry Goods Co., better known as the "Greater New 
York Store," 25 to 41 East Washington street, is one of the attractions 
of the city. It is the oldest and largest and undoubtedl.v one of the 
best-knowu mercantile establishments in the state. Beginning in 1853 
with a small single room in the old Bates House, the Pettis Dry Goods 
Co. represents fifty-four years of progressive development. As season 




26S HYMAys HANDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 

after season passe^^, tlie ever increasing popularity as the shoppinj 
center necessitated the enlargement of the store so that now it require: 
250,000 square feet of floor space to accommodate the increased busi 
ness. The store is one of the best planned and finest arranged In thi 
West, containing all the most up-to-date methods of store service, an( 
the equal of any either in Chicago or New York. There are sixt} 
departments, each a complete store in itself, embracing almost every 
thing needed to supply the wants of the public, each under the direc 
tion of a department manager. The main building fronting on Wash 
insrton street^ is of imposing appearance, 125x200 feet in dimensions 
six stories high, with basement underneath the entire building 
connecting with a tunnel to the basement of the State Life Building 
which contains the sto^e and house furnishing departments. 

The annex on Pearl street is a solid structure, 67x67 feet, with fiv€ 
floors OTid basement. It is connected with the !uaiu building by a tunue 
beneath and a bridge on the third floor. In the basement of this build 
ing is installed one of the most' complete heating and lighting jjlants 
in the city. The Pettis Dry Goods Co. is in close touch at all times witl! 
the markets of two continents, having its own resident buyers in tht 
leading countries of Europe, from whom the latest and richest novelties 
that European manufacturers produce are received weekly. 

Mr. George A. Gay is president and general manager. 

Saks and Company — On one of the most prominent corners in the 
city, in a building bearing its own name, is located one of the most 
complete men's and boys" outfitting establishments in the country. Saks 
and Company have been a factor in commercial Indianapolis just 
decade and have kept pace in their enterprise with the rapid growth of 
the city. This is one of three stores owned and operated by this firm., 
The' parent store is the most extensive establishment of the kind in 
Washington, D. C, while in busy Herald Square, New York City, stands 
the seven-story, country-wide famous building of Saks and Company. 
In addition to these retail entenirises the firm operates a manufacturing 
plant in which is made the men's clothing sold in its chain of stores. 
The members of the firm are practical clothing men, and to them, per- 
haps more than to any one else, is due the almost phenomenal jjerfec- 
tion to which clothing ready for wear has attained. Under their sys- 
tem of designing and making it is no longer necessary for the man to 
seek his individual tailor that his clothes may fit properly or have the 
latest features of fashion intelligently and consistently embodied. Saks 
and Company's "Distinctive Clothes for Men" have become famous 
among the best dressers of the three important centers where they are 
obtainable. 

Interiorly the Saks and Company store is a thoroughly moderuly 
appointed store. Its equipment is of the latest pattern, while its sphere 





IBhW Wfcq^^— 3!b-3' _;:; ^3 




n 


^a» Is 


IIS 






llfS 




i 


^ 


BP"* "&ir'--'ii 



270 HYMAN'S HAXDBOOK OF IXDIAyAFOLIS. 

of service extends to every feature of men's and boys' wearing ai>- 
parel, with a department of sporting and athletic goods, for which the 
public of today is an enthusiastic votary. 

The policy which governs this big business Is laid upon the most 
advanced commercial ethics. It is a one-price store in fact as well 
as name. Its announcements and its merchandise command implicit 
confidence by its unbroken career of liberal and straightforward deal- 
ings. 

L. S. Ayres & Co., one of Indiana's leading dry goods stores, occu- 
pies the very prominent southwest corner of Meridian and Washington 
streets, extending through to Pearl street. This business, established 
thirty-eight years ago, has long held an enviable position among the 
high-class retail forces of the city. 

Its present location, dates from October, 1905, when the beautiful 
eight-story fireproof structure of brick and steel at that point was com- 
pleted and furnished. For its purpose no more modern building exists, 
expense being lightly considered where perfection of detail and retail 
conveniences were concerned. 

Four passenger elevators of the largest capacity enable customers 
to reach any floor iiuickly ; a balcony rest room provides a highly ap- 
preciated rendezvous for shoppers, while such modern conveniences as 
postoffice, express otRce, telegraph and telephone stations are providec 
in connection with a free checking desk. 

Much patronized are the fifth floor tea and grill room and the 
basement quick lunch tables, the former elegant and excellent in service 
and cuisine, the latter popular in price and patronage. The tea rooms 
of the big stores are appreciated by womankind. Hotels and other 
restaurants have always catered to men because their best patrons were 
men. The tea room of the Ayres store has more women patrons than 
men and its service is designed to please them particularly. 

In its high-grade stocks of merchandise, however, lies the acknowl- 
edged charm of the Ayres store. Better goods are to be found nowhere 
in the country. The choicest products of the loom — silks, woolens and 
cottons — are shown in prodigal profusion ; ready-made garments crowd 
one whole floor; headwear and footwear take up a considerable sec- 
tion of another floor, while rugs, draperies and art wares overflow 
another. 

The basement is a store in itself, featuring popular-priced dry goods 
and household necessities. While these features are comparatively new 
they have proved their worth and are still proving it by a constantly 
inijreasing patronage. 

Two entire floors are given over to manufacturing — the sixth and 
seventh. Dressmakers and women's tailors occupy the sixth floor in 
its entirety — the largest shop for high-grade custom work in the state 




L. S. AYRES & CO. 



HYMAWS HANDBOOK OF I2iDIANAP0LIS. 



Upholsterers, cabinet makers, picture framers and makers of draperies 
aud carpets tax the capacity of tlie seventh. These artisans are- occu- ■ 
pied altogether with to-order work. 

The reputation of the Ayres store as a fashion exponent Is well 
known, and this position it maintains by efforts not considered essen- 
tial by many merchants. A resident Paris buyer, frequent trips to New 
Xork and abroad by dressmakers and department managers are con- 
sidered well worth the expense. In no other way can a store know 
that its ^oods are just right. Ayres merchandise is right ; a fast-grow- 
ing patronage proclaims the fact. 

C. W. Craig, Confectioner, No. 6 East Washington street — For 
more than a quarter of a century the name of "Craig's" has been asso- 
ciated in Indianapolis with the best place to get 
the best in confections, and the fame of his prod- 
ucts has extended beyond the boundaries of the 
state. The business was established in 1873, and 
the motto of the house, "Not how cheap, but how 
good," that was adopted at its inception to mark 
its goods, has become familiar to all those who, 
visit the city who appreciate excellence of quality 
more than cheapness in candies. Craig's candies 
have the well-earned reputation of being as good 
as the products of the most famous candy makers 
of this country. A notable feature of this estab- 
lishment and one that has met the hearty favor 
'A the lady visitors to this place are the dainty 
huiches that are served here daily. The service 
is excellent, the prices moderate and the bill-of- 
fare embraces, in addition to the light lunches, all 
the best in ice cream sodas, which are served in 
endless variety and which have made t the most 
popular place in the city for "after-matinee" 
parties and gatherings. Craig's establishment is 
located in the heart of tiie shopping district, and 
visitors to the city should not fail to take home 
c. w. CRAIG, a box of Craig's delicious confections as a sweet 

reminder of their visit to the Hoosier capital. 
H. P. Wasson & Co., West Washington Street — This is one of the 
greatest establishments in the Central West and one of the prominent 
features to which all visitors to the city are directed. Established a 
little over 25 years ago by H. P. Wasson, this store has been kept 
abreast of the development of Indianapolis as a retail market, pre- 
senting at all times the choicest of merchandise from the best-known 
makers in the world for the selection of those living in the territory 



^ 



274 BYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

tributary to this city. This great store occupies one of the most promi- 
nent locations in the heart of the shopping district ; it consists of sixty- 
sis departments, each a complete store within itself and each pre- 
senting a more complete line than is usually found in stores devoted 
exclusively to that particular business, and employing over 600 persons. 
The merchandise sold here is the best that money can buy, which car- 
ries with it the guarantee that the money will be returned on any pur- 
chase proven to be not as represented. The stores that are embraced in 
this establishment are as follows : Silks, velvets, robes, black dress 
goods, colored dress goods, wash goods, linings, domestics, beddings, 
notions, linens, china, glassware, trunks, toys, gloves, hosiery, women's, 
children's and men's underwear, men's furnishings, jewelry, cut glass, 
leather goods, toilet articles, trimmings and braids, umbrellas, silver- 
ware, ribbons, laces, embroideries, white goods, aprons, handkerchiefs, 
women's neckwear, veilings, feather boas, millinery, kimonas, corsets, 
muslin underwear, infants' wear, waists, furs, women's cloaks and suits, 
children's cloaks and suits, curtains, draperies, carpets, linoleums, 
mattings, rugs, house furnishings, wall paper, shoes, McCall patterns, 
soda fountain, grocery department, stationery, art goods, .restaurant and 
the notable dressmaking department. 

The dressmaking department of ^^'■asson's consists of three distinct 
establishments, occupying the entire fifth and sixth floors, employing 
nearly 250 people, and each in charge of an expert modiste who visits 
Europe twice a year, thus keeping in touch with the creations of the 
most notable European artist-modistes. 

The Badger Furniture Company was incorporated on March 4, 
1896. • It is one of the leading house-furnishing and decorating estab- 
lishments of the city. It carries a large stock of furniture of medium 
and better grade, with Oriental and domestic rugs and draperies. The 
store has been named the "Plainfigureshop" because all goods . are 
marked in plain figures with the lowest price. This plan was an untried 
one among the furniture dealers of Indianapolis until its introduction 
by the Badger Furniture Company. Under it the most easy-going buyer 
stands on a precisely equal footing with the most zealous bargain 
hunter. The same spirit of frankness which prompted the adoption of 
the one-price plan has characterized all the dealings of this firm with 
the public. The company has rapidly risen to a position second to none 
in the state, largely because of its consistent adherence to this policy. 
The Badger Furniture Company occupies a large double building, consist- 
ing of eight floors on each side, located at 14-20 E. Washington street, in 
the heart of the business district of the city. Visitors are always made 
to feel at home. The officers of the company are : C. H. Badger, presi- 
dent ; T. R. Rainey, vice-president ; F. R. Kautz, treasurer ; H. H. Had- 
ley, secretary. This firm is a member of the Merchants' Association, 





^.^^A. 


I 


^^.^^■'^^=^^ 


^BB 


-til 




1 


il<^ I 



BADGER FURNITURE COMPANY, 



276 EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

George J. Marott, who has been engaged in the retail shoe trade in 
this citj' on his own accoimt since 1885, now conducts one of the largest 
and handsomest shoe emporiums in the United States at 20 aud 28 East 
Washington street. This establishment is not only the pride of our citi- 
zens, but is a point of attraction to thousands who visit our city annu- 
ally. The ground floor and basement are utilized for business purposes 
and the splendid appearance of the former with its tv\-enty-foot ceiling, 
and maguifleent appointments, impress the visitor with the spirit of 




INTERIOR GEORGE J. MAROTT'S SHOE STORE. 



enterprise everywhere apparent. The furniture is of the richest and 
most comfortable character, and everything that can add to the at- 
tractiveness of the establishment and facilitate business has been in- 
stalled. It is not only one of the largest retail shoe emporiums in the 
United States, but ranks as one of the largest in the world. In every 
way Mr. Marott has been foremost in inaugurating modern methods 
in his business, and has always co-operated with other merchants in 
making Indianapolis attractive as a retail market for the citizens of 
the state. The establishment is located in the Lombard building, in the 
Jif^art of the shopping district, on East Washington street. 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF IXDfAXAPOLIS. 



277 



----SiiiS^' 



Wulschner=Stewart Music Company — The oldest and leading 
piano honse in Indianapolis is that, of the Wulsehner-Stewart Music 
Company, manufacturers of 
and dealers in pianos and 
musical instruments of all 
kinds. The business was es- 
tablished thirty years ago by 
the late Emil Wulschner, who 
afterward took into partnership 
his stepson, A. M. Stewart, the 
firm becoming Wulschner & 
Son, and in May, 1900, after 
the death of Mr. Emil Wulsch- 
ner, the present company was 
incorporated, the business now 
being officially supervised by 
Mr. A. M. Stewart as vice- 
president and manager. The 
company occupies a prominent 
position as leading manufac- 
turers of pianos, besides which 
they are representatives of 
other leading manufacturers, 
and they have built up a very 
large trade at wholesale in In- 
dianapolis and vicinity. The 
company have an interest in a 
well-kpown piano factory and' 
have jnit on the market two' 
grades of pianos of unsurpassed 
quality, one known as the 
Wulschner piano and the other 
as the Stewart piano, and both 
being made in accordance with 
the highest ideals of piano 

manufacturing. Through the medium of this house the company is 
thus enabled to offer to Indiana purchasers the opportunity to buy at 
retail the highest grade of pianos at strictly factory prices. A notable 
feature of this house is its Player piano department, one whole floor 
of their large building being devoted to a display of these popular in- 
struments. In connection with these instruments they carry in their 
library over 15,000 rolls to be used on the Player pianos, embracing all 
the latest popular music as well as all the works of the most noted com- 
posers. These rolls are sold on the exchange plan at ten cents each. 




278 



HYM.WS HAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



Concerts are given daily in this department and every one is cordiall: 

invited to listen to these wonderful instruments. 

The stock at this store includes a large number of the representative 

makes of the eastern market — pianos that have a world-wide reputation 

for standards of excellence, also organs, orchestra and band instruments. 

In addition to this the sheet music department is one of the largest in 

the Middle "\Vest. 

The Taggart Baking Co.— It was in 3869 that the original Taggart 

balcery began business. Alexander Taggart began business here in a 
small way, baking bread, crack- 
ers and cakes. He gave his per- 
sonal attention to all work at 
that time, as he has done since 
as far as is possible in a large 
concern like the present factory. 
Later on he gradually worked up 
a wholesale business, and sold 
his product through the grocers 
over the city. At the formation 
of the National Biscuit Company 
Mr. Taggart took charge of the 
Indianapolis plant, and con- 
tinued in that position until a 
few years ago, when he severed 
his connection there and became 
a party to the org.anization of 
his brother, Joseph Taggart, and 
capitalized at $250,000.00. 




TAGGART BAKING 



the Taggart Baking Company, with 
his son, A. L. Taggart. The company 

The present building at 18-28 Xorth Xew Jersey street is the largest 
breiid bakery in the state, running 19 ovens, with a capacity of some 
thing more than 300,000 loaves of bread a week, in addition to cracker,-', 
cakes, pastry, etc. Taggarfs bread is shipped to the various parts oi 
Indiana, and into adjoining states. Besides making many special kinds 
of bread, the Taggart company devotes its attention to "Puritan," 
"Home-JIade" and "Golden Cream," the wrapped loaf. Jersey Butter 
Crackers, made to be eaten with oysters, are a Taggart product. The 
butter crackers enjoy an unusual popularity in Indianapolis, though in 
other cities over the United States similar crackers have been put on 
the market with little or no success. 

The Taggart Baking Company conducts nine retail stores in Indian- 
apolis for the sale of its wares. The largest of these, at 233-239 Massa- 
chusetts avenue, has a lunch room in connection, as also has the one 
at 49-51 Virginia avenue. 



HYAIAX'S HAXDBOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 







. 






—■ .,r- ,riir".ii' 


f 


P u.^-, , \ 




■W»y.£.:..*^r^ 


"f 


-Sr ^s^... 




TAGGART BAKING CO.— MASSACHUSETTS AVE. STORE. 



The Scofield=Pierson Company h:ive an up-to-date book and sta- 
tionery store just south of the new Federal building in 140 North Penn- 
sylvania street. As successors to a former enterprising firm, they have 
a business of fifteen years' popular success. Here are the latest copy- 
right and gift boolvs ; poetry, history and the great standard books ; 
boys', girls' and school books ; Bibles and prayer books. Besides books, 
the public will find first-class stationery of newest designs and finest 
quality, both for society and the office. Engraving and embossing is a 
leading feature, and special attention is given to wedding invitations, 
announcements and calling cards. Fountain pens, letter flies and filing 
devices, blank books, ink and all stationery requisites are always in 
stock. Nowhere else in the city can be found so complete retail lines of 
souvenir post cards and novelties. In their basement are Indiana head- 
quarters of all kinds of religious books, church and Sunday school song 
books, cards, class-books, records, envelopes, maps, blackboards, badges, 
pins, marriage certificates, etc. They issue a neat S. S. catalogue and 
meet the lowest prices. 

Beginning with the popular demand for souvenir post cards, the 
Scofield-Pierson Company wholesaled them to other city dealers, and 



HYMAX-Fi HAyDBOOK CF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 



'^ 






fe'^'^ls 


'' ^i'v- 


..ffl^f' 



THE SCOFIELD-PIERSON CO. 



of 
their "Riley 
Roses" card, 
which they 
published i n 
D e c e m b e r, 
19 0, encour- 
aged them to 
organize a 
stock company 
for manufac- 
turing and im- 
porting post 
cards and 
other paper 
goods. In 
March, 190 7, 
they incorpo- 
rated the Im- 
port Post Card Company, with E. B. Scofield, president; A. S. Pierson, 
vice-president; C. W. Pierson, secretary -treasurer, and J. W. Parker, 
manager. They have quarters in tlie Pembroke Arcade. The com- 
pany soon put four salesmen in the field and orders came from all sec- 
tions of the country, requiring a good force to care for them. Mr. 
Parker is an experienced post card man, and he and Mr. C. W. Pierson 
give their entire time to the business. While many of their fine cards 
are made in Germany, the cards made in this city from plates engraved 
here are the very best and the most popular. New cards, and new series 
of cards, done from paintings by the special artists of the company in 
the "Arcade'- rooms, are coming out frequently, and the Import Post 
Card Coniiiany is a live enterprise. 

The Marott Building — The most remarkable improvement in In- 
dianapolis in recent years has been made in the territory embraced 
north of Ohio street on Massachusetts avenue. This avenue is the 
great artery that taps the most i)opulous section of the city and sur- 
rounding territory, and more people travel this thoroughfare than any 
other. Realizing the needs of a suitable building for department store 
purposes and one that would meet the growing demands of this busy 
avenue, Mr. George J. Marott erected in 1900 one of the largest and 
most commodious buildings in the city at Nos. 342 to 358 Massachusetts 
avenue. It is a five-stoiy and basement structure with all the latest 
improvements necessary to modern store construction, and its great ex- 
panse of front is the largest in the city for the display of merchandise. 



282 HYMAyi^ H.WDBOOK OF IXDIANAPOLIS. 



r . 



'^. 



*?*. 



1 



Ml 



THE MAROTT BUILDING. 



To enable one to gel a proper estimate of the value of the location 
of the Marott building, whieh marks the heart of the new shopi)ing dis- 
trict of Indianapolis, consideration must be given to the enonnous tratBe 
that passes its doors. Seven of the most important street car lines, 
tapping the most populous section of the cit.* to the nortli and uortheast 
and five interurban lines bring their passeuger.s to this building. 



2//N0TADLE MANUrACTURER5 



■^^ 




It is in the field of manufactures tliat Indianapolis has achieved its 
highest distinction among the cities of the AVest. The rapid increase 
of its industries forms the most interesting chapter in its material de- 
velopment. During the past decade its manufacturers have more than 
doubled the value of their plants and products. According to the cen- 
sus bulletin on manufacturing and mechanical industry, issued by the 
United States Census Bureau, for 1905, shows that Indianapolis has 
810 manufacturing and mechanical industries, VFhich employ 26,725 per- 
sons and pay out annually to employes ^12,(i20,443. The value of the 
annual product of these concerns is $82,227,950. Among its many and 
varied enterprises it numbers the largest carriage factory, the largest 
exclusive engine and boiler plant, saw works, and mill machinery fac- 
tory in the world. It has many others, notably in furniture, veneers, 
garments, pharmaceutical goods, that rank among the foremost In their 
particular branches in the country. 

Indianapolis has become a manufacturing center because of its 
unexcelled railway facilities, its nearness to the center of population 
in the United States, and its inexhaustible supply of cheap fuel, brought 
from the great coal fields but fifty miles away. Its position is inviting 
for the location of manufacturers and its future development along this 
line will undoubtedly surpass its wonderful record in the past. 

Nordyke & Marmon Company (incorporated). Flour Mill Engi- 
neers, Founders and JIachinists, Manufacturers of Motor Cars — ^The 
business of this institution since its beginning, over fifty years ago, has 
been confined chiefly to the manufacture of flour mill and cereal mill 
machinery and to building complete mills for the manufacture of flour 
and cereal products. In 1904 it added the manufacture of motor cars, 
equipping separate departments for this branch of work. Its founda- 
tion was laid by Mr. Ellis Nordyke, of Richmond, Ind., who for many 
years prior to 1851 was a prominent millwright engaged in building 
flour mills, the machinery being made by hand in the buildings in which 
it was to be used. Mr. Nordyke, having invented an improved flour bolt, 
began preparations for the manufacture of this machine and other 



284 UYMAW^ HAyDBOOK OF IXDIAXAI'OLIS. 

devices used iu flour mills. Under the firm uame of Nordyke, Haul 
& Co., the manufacture of milling machinery was first begun in the 
year 1851 in a small shop in Richmond, Ind. Iu the year 1858 Mr. 
Addison H. Nordylce was taken into the business, it being carried o.i 
as E. & A. H. NordyUe until 18GG, at which time Mr. Daniel W. Marmo:i 
entered the firm, which then became Nordyke, Marmon & Co. In 1871 
the business was incorporated under the laws of Indiana as Nordyke. 
Marmon & Co. The businese had prospered and by this time had be- 
come one of the most prominent concerns in its field, occupying sub- 
stantial brick factory buildings, constituting what was then considere'' 
quite a large plant. Mn Amos K. Hollowell entered the company in 
1875 and continued with it iu an offlcial capacity until 1895. Owing to 
a wide extension oi: trade and to the rapid growth of the business, the 
company, in 1875, found its manufacturing facilities limited, necessitat- 
ing a change in location. Desiring to make ample provision for further 
expansion, and requiring better shipping facilities and better advan- 
tages than Richmond possessed, it was decided to move to Indianapolis. 
The "Quaker City" works, located in West Indianapolis, and bounded 
by Morris street, Kentucky avenue, the I. & V. and Belt railroads, was 
purchased in 1876, in which year the present company was incorporated. 
The factory plant above mentioned, and which the company still occu- 
pier:, has from time to time been improved and enlarged until today it 
assumes pretentious proportions. It is recognized as being the largest 
ra^ory in the world devoted to the milling machinery and mill build- 
ing business, and the company is widely known as "America's leading 
mill builders." The story of the progress of this enterprising concern 
is best told by the accompanying illustrations, which indicate its gradual 
development and substantial advancement. The factory is syste- 
matically arranged, with the woodworking department on one side 
and the irouworking on the opposite side, with the finishing, storage 
and shipping department connecting the two at the north end. The 
lumber yard and the storage for raw materials, supplies, etc., for the 
irouworking dt'partment are located at the south end, where facilities 
are provided for handling materials expeditiously from cars. Between 
the two wings are located the boiler house, the buhr stone mill de- 
partment and the storage building for finished and unfinished iron parts 
of the machines manufactured. A private switch, connecting with the 
Belt railway, extends nearly the entire length of the property and into 
the shipping department building. The plant is organized into various 
departments, each one being thoroughly equipped with improved ma- 
chinery and tools and many labor saving devices, excelling in facilities 
any other similar institution in this country. The products of the Nor- 
dyke & Marmon Company enjoy a world-wide reputation, Being con- 
sidered iu point of mechanical excellence, durability and efficiency the 



286 HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

best that the market affords. The company, in its worlv of mill build- 
ing, is noted for thoroughness and close attention to details aud for 
the high-class milling results invariably obtained. Its machinery is to 
be found in the representative mills of the United States, Mexico and 
Canada and much of it is exported to Central and South American 
countries and to nearly every country of the eastern hemisphere. The 
line of machinery embraces the following: Flour, corn, rice and other 
cereal milling machinery ; grain elevator machinery, roller mills, port- 
able buhr stone mills, gyratory sieve bolters, reels, centrifugals, mid- 
dlings purifiers, bran dusters, dust collectors, flour, bran and feed pack- 
ers, degermiuators, meal driers, aspirators, shellers, cleaners and many 
other machines ; power connections, gearing, rope drives, mill supplies, 
etc. The regular work of this company has been accompanied by con- 
stant and close observance of the needs of practical milling from the 
operative miller's standpoint. It has facilities for developing and per- 
fecting, in an operating flour mill, improvements in machinery and in 
milling methods, thus assuring the success of all improvements before 
being introduced on the market. In 1002 the first double side entrance 
touring motor ear made in this country was built by the company for 
private use. This motor car contained a number of very important 
improvements and attracted a great deal of attention. In 1903 a second 
motor car was built and in 1904 a number of the cars were made and 
sold. The following year the company formally placed the Marmon 
Motor Car on the market, aud today it is known far and wide, having 
gained a reputation second to none. The Marmon car is noted for being 
the easiest riding car in the world, due to the patented system of double 
three-point suspension, which provides a perfectly flexible running gear. 
The manufacture of the Marmon car is conducted in specially equipped 
departments on the premises of the mill machinery works. Nordyke & 
Marmon Company gives steady employment to a large force of men 
and is rated among the most prominent manufacturing institutions of 
Indianapolis. The officers of the company are Daniel W. Marmon, 
president, and Walter C. Marmon, secretary and treasurer. 

E. C. Atkins & Co. — Indianapolis is very proud of her big saw 
manufactory. The institution of E. C. Atkins & Co., beginning in a 
small way, in 1856, has constantly grown until now at the end of fifty 
years it has become the largest plant in the world devoted exclusively 
to the manufacture of saws and kindred wares. Silver steel, of which 
all Atkins saws are made, is a product manufactured under the com- 
pany's own secret formula. It is acknowledged to be the finest crucible 
steel that has ever been put into saw blades. Atkins silver steel saws 
are known the world over for their quality, durability and excellence 
Of manufacture, and this product has done much to familiarize the 
world at large with the greatness of Indianapolis. The manufacturing 



288 HYMAX'S MAXDHOOK OF IXDIAXAPOLIS. 

department is under the direction of the president, Mr. Henry C. 
Atlvins, son of the founder of tlie institution. The sales department 
Is in charge of the vice-president and secretary. Mr. Nelson A. Glad- 
diiig. Atliins saws are for sale by the largest and most reliable agencies 
all over the globe, including Canada, South America, Japan. Germany, 
England, France and Austria. In order to facilitate deliveries, ten 
branches have been established covering principal points throughout 
the country. These are located at Atlanta, Chicago. Memphis, Minne- 
apolis, New Orleans, New York, Portland, Ore., San Francisco, Seattle 
and Toronto, where complete stocks are carried for immediate delivery. 
Foieign agencies, Wolverhampton, England, Yokohama, Melbourne. 
Mr. M. A. Potter looks after the financial end of the business, in the 
capacity of treasurer, and through his hands passes the enormous sums 
of money repi'esenting the income and outgo of the great corporation. 
The works cover over five city blocks, besides maintaining its o\^ti 
pri^ate gas plant, which product is used in all its tempering processes. 
Over 1,200 men are employed in Indianapolis alone, to say nothing of 
those at its various branches, which all maintain fully-equipped shops 
for repair work. 

The company also operates a plant for the manufacture of ma- 
chine knives of all kinds, which is located at Lancaster, N. Y. 

Atlas Engine Works — Like nearly all the great industries of Indi- 
anapolis, the Atlas Engine Works have grown from small beginnings. 
The plant is devoted to the manufacture of engines and boilers exclu- 
sively, and its product is sold wherever human industry has progressed 
beyond primitive handicraft. In 1872 the beginnings of the plant were 
made by the Indianapolis Car Manufacturing Company. In 1878 the 
property was taken over by the Atlas Engine Works, incorporated for 
this purpose. In ISSO the policy of miscellaneous manufacturing on 
orders was abandoned and the company determined to devote itself 
exclusively to the manufacture of steam engines and boilers of stand- 
ard types and sizes. This meant repetitive construction, with inter- 
changeable parts ; the manufacture of engines and boilers in lots, in- 
stead of one at a time, and the carrying of large stocks of manufac- 
tured merchandise, not only in Indianapolis, but in various distributing ; 
points. These methods of production and distribution, so common to- 
day, were then new in heavy machinery and they were supplemented 
by constant effort to produce better goods, to sell them for less money, 
and to increase the volume of business. In less than a decade this 
aggressive policy gave the Atlas Engine Worlis a supremacy in the 
trade, a supremacy which has been steadily maintained by the con- 
stant improvement of the product and the widening of markets. The 
grounds of the company, for the most part covered with substantial 
brick and stone buildings, now include not only the original tract o£ 
twenty acres at Nineteenth street and Martindale" avenue, but stretcb 



290 HYMAWil HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

along the Belt railroad from the L. E. & W. tracks on the west to Hill- 
side avenue on the east, the total real estate amounting to about forty 
acres. The growth of the business has required frequent extensions, 
and building operations during the past two years have almost doubled 
the capacity of the plant, which was already one of the largest of its 
kind in the world. The emnloyes now number about 1,800, and the 
efficiency of the force is greatly enhanced by the thoroughly modern and 
complete equipment of the shops. This equipment includes not only 
every labor-saving and cost-saving device that can be applied to the man- 
ufacture of engines and boilers, but also very complete arrangements 
for the health and safety of the men employed. 

The Indiana Veneer and Lumber Co. is generally recognized as 
being the leading enterprise of its kind in this country. This company 
bought out the business of the Indiana Lumber and Veneer Co. in 1905, 
the latter company having been established in 1892. Its officers are O. M. 
Pruitt, president and treasurer ; C. L. Goodwin, vice-president, and M. 
L. Hovey, secretary. The Indianapolis plant covers over five (5) acres. 
The equipment is of the best and the company enjoys the distinction of 
being the largest exclusive manufacturer of quartered oak veneer in the 
world. The company has a large plant for the manufacture of lumber 
in Mississippi, and has a wareroom in New York City, comer First 
avenue and 31st street, as well as carrying a large stock at High Point, 
North Carolina. The company employs from one hundred and twenty- 
five to one hundred and fifty men. The rapid increase in the business 
of the company is a natural result of its long experience and its ambi- 
tion to stand at the head of the industry, especially in the quality of its 
sawed and sliced quartered oak veneer, and in its ability from its un- 
equaled facilities to give its customers large stocks from which to 
select for any customer's particular needs together with prompt serv- 
ice. Its motto is "Quality, promptness and courtesy." 

Indianapolis Brewing Company — It may not be uninteresting to 
know that of all the manufacturing industries of this city, the particu- 
lar one that gives to us the widest advertising is the Indianapolis Brew- 
ing Company, which sends its product not only to all parts of the United 
States but also to Cuba, Porto Rico, the Philippines, China, the Argen- 
tine Republic and other South American states, to Centi'al America and 
to Africa. 

There is a reason for this widespread popularity and that reason 
lies in the fact that one of the leading brands of its manufacture, in 
competition with the highest-class beers on earth, has earned the name 
'•Gold Medal Duesseldorfer," having won gi-and prizes at the Paris Ex- 
position in 1900, at the St. Louis World's Fair in 1904 and at subsequent 
expositions held at Liege in 1905 and in Paris (hygienic exposition) in 
1906, and Milan, Italy, 1906. 

This great brewing industry, of which the general offices and bot- 



292 HYAIAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAFOLIS. 

tling department are located at the Schmidt brewery on High street, 
grew out of three small breweries established in the earlier history of 
Indianapolis, respectively hy C. F. Schmidt. Peter Lieber and C. Maus, 
which were consolidated in the present company in 1889. 

The various plants now give employment to 1,200 persons, the note- 
worthy brands being "Progress," "Tafel," "Special Brew" and "Duessel- 
dorfer," which are sold both in barrels and in bottles. Beside these, 
the company bottles other brands which have become famous, and a 
number of ales which equal any that may be imported. The output of 
this great brewing establishment now exceeds 1,000,000 barrels a year. 

The bottling department is always on show to visitors to the city 
and is seen every year by thousands of persons, who can but admire 
its wonderful facilities for caring for business and the absolute clean- 
liness that marks every detail of manipulation. The processes from 
start to finish are strictly hygienic. Scientists and physicians always 
find a cordial welcome here, as -the management desires full publicity 
as to its methods in preparing a health-giving beverage. 

The officers of the company are: President and manager, Albert 
Lieber, son of Peter Lieber, founder of the Lieber Brewery, who man 
and boy has been in the business for 28 years ; vice-president, Frederic 
Francke ; secretary, John P. Frenzel ; treasurer. Otto N. Frenzel. 

What this brewery means to the industrial life of Indianapolis is 
not measured alone by its regiment of employes. The employment it 
gives directly and indirectly to all classes of mechanics and the market 
it affords to the farmer are likewise to be taken into consideration. 

The Home Brewing Company was organized in 1891, and its officers 
and stockholders, nearly ninety in number, are all residents of Indian- 
apolis. The brewery, bottling house, offices and outbuildings are hand- 
some and complete in all their appointments. The brewery is of the 
most modern construction, and the best equipped plant of its character in 
the state. The company has an incorporated capital of $400,000, and its 
investment now exceeds $650,000. The officers are all well-known citi- 
zens: President, Chris. W. Waterman; Vice-President, August Hook; 
secretary and treasurer, Andrew Hagen. The quality of the output is 
the best and continually growing in favor. Twenty-five wagons are re- 
quired to make distribution to the city trade and over 60 men are em- 
ployed. The sales now amount to between 50.000 and 60,000 barrels 
annually. The brands are "Home Brew," "Columbia," and "Indiana," 
ale and porter. In connection with the brewery is their large bottling 
house with a capacity of 60 barrels daily, used entirely for home con- 
sumption. 

Capital City Brewing Company plant was built in 1905. This is 
the latest addition to brewing industry in this cit.v, and the plant it has 
erected is of the highest efficiency and is e<iuipped throughout with the 



294 



EYMA^^'S HANDBOOK OF IXDIAyjjPOLIS. 



vei-y latest and best machinery. The buildings are located on the cor- 
ner of West and Kansas streets and are of exceptionally handsome 
style of architecture. From the tapping of the first barrel the product 
of this brewery sprang into immediate favor with the public who apprc- 




CAPITAL CITY BREWING COMPANY. 



elate a good article. Their well-known brands are "TT" (Taste Tells) 
light beer, and "Frauenlob," dark beer. This company makes a specialty 
of family trade. The officers of the company are: Charles Krause, 
president ; John J. Giesen, vice-president, and Victor Jose, secretary 
and treasurer. 

F. J. Mack & Co., house, sign and fresco painters, 26 Kentucky 
avenue — This business was established in 1ST7 by Fred J. Mack, and is 
one of the largest and most important contracting painting cohcems in 



HYUAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



295 



the city, aud the reputation for excellence in all branches of work done 
by it has been maintained since its inception. The members of the 
firm are F. J. Mack, C. W. Beck aud F. L. JIack. Mr. F. J. Mack, the 
head of the firm, has been prominently identified with city affairs for 
many years. He was a member of the board of safety from 1S9.5 to 
1899, member of the park board in 1903 and was appointed a member 
of the board of works in 1906 under the present administration. 




JILLSON COMPANY. 



Knight & Jillson Company, manufacturers and wholesale dealers 
in steam, water, gas, plumbers', natural gas and oil well supplies is 
the oldest and largest concern in this line in the state and one of the 
most extensive in the West. The offices aud manufacturing plant are 
located in the company's building at 121 to 133 South Pennsylvania 



fl.WDBOOK OF IXDIAKAP0LI8. 



p^Tm^-^n 






L 




^- -^-: 


.£■1 


mk 


i 


P 




^^ 












•i i<: 


|. 


^^HIk 








4iMl^4i 


IS^::^ 








lR!|iffl 




iSii 


■ 'iji^^^^H 






!A 


^fll 




-wist >ARfl 'NOI- 


•\ 




!^ 


i 


1 




""v 





MIGHT & JILLSON COMPANY'S PIPE YARDS. 



Street. The company operates in addition two large pipe yards where 
an extensive stock of blacli and galvanized iron tubing and oil well 
casing is carried. Xard No. 1 is located at the east end of the Union 
Railway station and Yard No. 2 in the block directly south of the 
office and factory on South Pennsylvania street. 

The J. C. Hirschman Company, Manufacturers of Mattresses and 
Bedding — This concern was founded over a quarter of a century ago 
by J. C. Hirschman, and has always 
maintained its position as the leading 
factory in its line in the state. The 
business was incorporated in 1898, and 
is managed by F. H. Hirschman, sec- 
retary and treasurer. The product of 
the company consists of upholstered 
bos springs, cotton felt mattresses, 
all other kinds of mattresses, feathers, 
J. c. HIRSCHMAN COMPANY. feather pillows, down and down cush- 

ions and everything in the bedding 
line. Over forty people are employed in the factory and the trade ex- 
tends throughout the United States. 




HYMAN'S HAyDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 




ANAPOLIS ABATTO 



required in 



HeniT 
AxT, secretary. 



Indianapolis Abattoir Company, wholesale butchers, located cor- 
uer Morris street and White river. The business was originally estab- 
lished in 1SS2 for 
the purpose of fur- 
nishing slaughter- 
ing facilities for 
wholesale and re- 
tail butchers, but 
iu 1892 the com- 
pany extended its 
operations by en- 
gaging in the sale 
of meat as well. 
The present plant 
is a thoroughly up- 
to-date institution 

and one of the finest in the west, affording every faci 
the business. The plant embraces fourteen acres covered with substan- 
tial brick buildings, with a capacity for killing from 300 to .50O^hogs 
and 2.50 cattle daily. The officers are: Jos. AUerdice. president; " 

Rauh, vice-president ; V>\ A. Mooney, treasurer ; Wra. G. 

Andrew Steffen, Cigar Manufacturer— Mr. Steffen began his career 

as a cigar man- 
ufacturer a t 
Madison. Ind., 
in 1SG4. Since 
1ST5 he has 
lieen located iu 
this city and is 
now operating 
the largest un- 
ion cigar fac- 
tory in the 
state. He em- 
ploys between 
forty and fifty 
people. a n d 
some of his 
brands are 



a m o n g the 
most popular 
the state, notably the "Tish-I-Miugo," which has a sale of more than 




two million a year. 



IIYMAyS IlAyDBOOK OF /XDIAXAPOLIS. 



Klee & Coleman — 

apolis is that of Klee 




pi-oininent bottling establishment of Indian- 
Coleiuau at 421-425 South Delaware street. 
The busiuess was established ia 
1878 by John Klee and Henry 
Coleuian, of Dayton, Ohio, who 
conduct a bottling establishment | 
there and at Piqua, Ohio, and 
Louisville, Ky. The business in 
Indianapolis is under active di- i 
rection of JI. R. Styer, manager, j 
The office and works have a com- ' 
plete equipment of bottling ma- 
chinery and a fifteen-horse-power 
steam engine, and twenty hands 
are employed in bottling mineral 
waters, soda waters, pops and all 
kinds of "soft drinks." The trade of the Indianapolis establishment 
covers a radius of ICO miles. The local trade is especially large and 
keeps seven teams busy. Sir. Styer has been with the concern since 
1881, during different periods. 

Eli Lilly & Company, Incorporated, Manufacturers of Pharma- 
ceutical and Chemical Preparations — Home office and laboratories, In- 
dianapolis, with branch houses in the fol- 
lowing cities: New York, Chicago, Kan- 
sas Citj', St. Louis and New Orleans, La. 
This concern is one of the old and sub- 
stantial industi'ies of Indianapolis, en- 
joying the reputation of marketing goods 
of the highest quality. The line of goods 
manufactured consists of general phar- 
maceuticals prescribed by physicians and 
dispensed by druggists. The house was 
organized in 1876 by the late Col. Ell 
Lilly and occupied the very modest quar- 
ters shown in the accompanying' sketch. 
The present plant, recently enlarged 
and equipped, is not excelled by any in existence for the scientific and 
economic production of pharmaceuticals. 

George J. Mayer, manufacturer of seals, stencils, rubber stamps, 
etc.. No. 36 South Meridian street, is one of the best-known and most 
successful manufacturers of these goods in the United States, who has 
been in the business for many years and whose trade covers fhe United 
States from Maine to California and extends into Canada. The busi- 
ness was started in 1884. The product of the factory includes seals 




300 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OP IXDIAyAJPOLIS. 



and stamps of every description, stencils, rubber stamps, steel stamps 
checks, badges, burning brands, etc. A large stock of these goods is al 
ways kept on hand and special designs are made to order at shor 
notice. 

Indianapolis Manufacturers' and Carpenters' Union— The Indi; 
apolis Manufacturers' and Cai-penters' Union, located at 201-205 Soutl 
New Jersey street, was incorporated thirty years ago with $70,000 cap 
ital stock, llr. Val Schaaf is president, Herman F. Sprandel secretai-j 
and treasurer and Albert F. Meyer superintendent. The present plant 
which is located at 201 to 205 South New Jersey street, was erected 




INDIANAPOLIS MANUFACTURERS' AND CARPENTERS' UNION. 

especially for the company and was occupied in January, 1S99. The 
plant is a model one and occupies a space 60x195 feet, equipped with 
the latest appliances and machinery, and having private switches c 
necting with all the railroads entering the city. It is one of the largest 
and most important concerns in the state engaged in the manufacture 
of doors, sash and blinds and fine interior wood finishing and manufac- 
tures everything embraced in planing mill work. 

The Marietta QJass and Refrigerator Co., Sixteenth street and 
Sherman Drive — Indianapolis is especially favored in its number and 
variety of its manufactures and its ample and excellent shipping facili- 
ties ; its central location and its access to a limitless supply of cheap 
fue! has attracted many new industries in recent years. The Marietta 
Glass and Refrigerator Company is one of its most recent important 
acquisitions in the manufacturing line. The glass works moved to 



HTMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 301 

is city from Red Key, Indiana, in 1904, and maintains, just east of 
•ooljside parli, one of the finest plants in tlie city, covering sixty-four 
Ires and giving employment to more than 225 persons. The buildings 
'e among the most attractive in the city devoted to manufacturing 




MARIETTA GLASS AND REFRIGERATOR CO. 

lurposes. The company mauufaetureres cathedral glass, fancy figured 
ind colored glass, sUy light and wire glass. They also manufacture the 
'amous Eureka Opal Glass refrigerators, Opal Glass cigar and store 
ixtures and Opal Glass Humigars. for which this company is particu- 
arly noted. The oflicers of the company are: Wm. Butler, president; 
3arl J. Pringler, vice-president; Albert E. Einstein, secretary, and 
ilartin L. Burgess, treasurer. 

Lewis Meier & Co., manufacturers of "Auto-Brand" union-made 
fvorking men's garments, overalls, pants, shirts and fine corduroys, 
1002^-6 Central avenue and 950 to 960 Fort Wayne avenuf^-This busi- 
ness was established in 1883 by Lewis Meier, who began business by 
making a few overalls to measure for his customers. In a short while 
1 larger demand sprang up for these overalls and a small factory was 
started to meet the demand. From this humble beginning during 
twenty-five years a business has been established that represents a sale 
of more than a million garments a year. The output of this factory 
is known as the "Auto-Brand"' and it bears the highest reputation among 



BYJIANS HAMIBOOK OF 7A7)M Y.tPOL/,9. 




^^^^^^^^.S^^ 



the trade throughoLit the eouutrj. The "Aiito-Braud" overalls have all 
the good points of all other overalls and some special features of their 
owu. They are made of The best materials, pure indigo dyes, a perfect 
fit and by skilled union labor, which make them the best in the world. 
The officers of the company are : Henry Sevcriu, president ; C. L. Busch- 
maun, vice-president and manager; Theo. Seuel. secretary -treasurer. 

Bee Hive Paper Box Co., 615-()1T South Delaware Street— This i 
prosperous industry was established in 1893 and incorporated in 1896. t 
The company manufactures ex- 
tensively all kinfis of folding 
boxes. In the lines of list goods, J 
^uch as clothing, millinery, flor- 
ist, laundry and cake boxes, they 
taiiy m stock a large quantity of 
the various grades and si: 
uidv to print. On the line of 
1 < 1 1 il w ork they have been do- 
in-c 1 gieat deal of color work 
{ n eeieal boxes and similar 
I uuN) and have recently added 
1 1 ii4e amount of the latest im-' 
] u \ ed machinery for doing rapid 
md high class work. Their de- 
paitmeut lor the manufacture of 
all kinds of set up boxes is fully 
equipped for making hardware, 
fancy candy, shelf, file and druggist boxes. Their varied equipment 
places them in a posili.m to till orders for any kind of paper 




.^'fg^^^'~^-^^t^ '^ " 



; HIVE PAPER BOX < 



EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF ISDIASAPOLIk 



303 



boxes, and their trade has steadily iiv-reased throughout Indiana 
and adjacent states, with some trade in the extreme east and west. The 
company's boxes are unrivaled for quality, finish and uniform excel- 




CENTRAL SUPPLY COMPANY. 

leme. and are offered at prices that can not be discounted by any other 
reliable house in the trade. A large force of skilled hands is constantly 
employed. The officers of the company are: C. F. Moffit, president 
and treasurer ; Leslie L. Say. secretary, and Geo. H. Stubbs, vice-presi- 
dent and superintendent. 

The Central Supply Company is engaged in the general jobbing of 
gas, water and steam supplies, also supplies for plumbers, iron and 



30J 



HYMAX'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



wood pumps and gas fitters' tools. Located at 209-217 West Washington 
street, opposite State Capitol ; pipe yards and warehouses are located 
at the corner of ilurriil and Delaware streets ; pipe and machine shops 
located on Pearl street, right in the rear ot their store building, and are 
prepared to cut all sizes of pipe up to and including 21 inch; also to 
handle promi.itiy all cut length jobs that may be entrusted to their 




THE HOME STOVE COMPANY 



The Home Stove Company, manufacturers of Jlodel Stoves and 
Ranges, was organized June 1, 1893. The manufacturing plant, which 
is one of the most complete and up-to-date in the counti-y, is bounded 
by Henry, Merrill, Rose and Eckert streets in this city. This concern 
employs more than 250 hands and is represented by seven traveling 
salesmen, who sell the product throughout the United States. The out- 
let for 1906 exceeded 36,000 stoves and ranges. The officers of the com- 
pany are George Alig, president, and George Alig, Jr., seeretai-y and 
treasurer. 

Barry Saw Company was established by W. B. Barry in 1874, and 
for thirty-five years has maintained a foremost position as one of the 
leading industrial establishments of the city. The product consists of 
all kinds of circular saws, both solid and inserted tooth, and band saws, 
and has an established reputation among consumers throughout the 
United States for excellence of quality. In 189.'. at the Atlanta Exposi- 
tion, the productions of this concern were awarded a diploma aud gold 
medal for superiority. The plant is located at 228 and 230 South I'eun- 
sylvania street. The officers of the company are Henry Schurmanu, 
president, and Howard Schurmann, secretary. 



UYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF 1XU1ANAF0LI8. 



The Parry Manufacturing 
Company, owing to its rapid 
growtli, has attracted, perhaps, 
more and wider attention than 
any other industrial institution in 
the western country. The founda- 
tion of this magnificent and enor- 
mous business was laid twenty- 
four years ago at Rushville, lud., 
by David M. and Thomas H. Parry. 
At that point they began the man- 
ufacture of road cai-ts. The road 
cart up to this time had hot fully 
found favor with the agricultur- 
ists of America as a general util- 
ity vehicle, but the Pari-ys saw 
the "ear marks" of popularity in 
the ''two-wheeler." Firmly con- 
vinced that the world could be con- 
verted to their use and with "the 
faith that was in them" and the 
aid of forty employes, but limited 
facilities, they began the worli. 
In 1884 their factory was de- 
stroyed by fire and they immedi- 
ately sought new quarters and con- 
tinued the work on a larger scale. 
By 1SS6 the road cart had estab- 
lished a reputation, and the Parrys 
were compelled to seek larger and 
better quarters for the production 
of their popular vehicle. In this 
year they moved to Indianapolis. 
From this tme forth the business 
grew by leaps and bounds, and 
from an output of 100 carts a day 
in a short space of time the fac- 
tory began to turn out 1,000 carts 
daily, sending them to all quarters 
of the globe. In 1890 the com- 
pany began the manufacture of 
four-wheel vehicles on a large 
scale, such as surreys, piano-box 
buggies, phaetons, road and spring wagons, etc. 




With the wide trade 



306 HlMAN'iS HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

connections secured by this time in tlie sale of carts and the established 
reputation for making the very best goods for the smallest amount of 
money, they invaded the field occupied by the oldest and strongest car- 
riage manufacturers. The plant was enlarged and equipped throughout 
with everj' modern appliance necessary to bring down the cost of pro- 
duction to the minimum. How well the Parry Manufacturing Company 
has succeeded in the manufacture of carriages is attested in the enor- 
mous plant, covering sixty-eight acres of ground — in which every por- 
tion of a buggy, with the exception of the cloth and leather, is manu- 
factured from the raw material. In all there are nineteen buildings, 
connected with railroad switches running into the factory grounds. Two 
independent electric plants are used for lighting the factory, and all the 
machinery is operated by electricity. Over 350 four-wheel jobs are 
turned out daily, and thirty-two traveling men are constantly employed, 
visiting the trade in everj- state and territory in the Union. To pack 
the goods requires 15,000 feet of lumber daily for crating and seventy- 
five persons are employed in the office department. The officers of the 
company are : David M. Parry, president ; E. R. Parry, vice-president ; 
S. C. Parry, treasurer; L. D. Guffin, secretary, and Thomas H. Parry, 
general superintendent. . 

Wm. Langsenkamp & Son, coppersmiths, 130 to 138 East Georgia 
street. This business was established in 1868 by Mr. Wm. Langsen- 
kamp. It is one of the oldest established manufacturing concerns in 
the city and has a substantial business throughout the central west. 
Mr. Langsenkamp and his son are both practical and expert copper- 
smiths, fully conversant with every detail of this important industry. 
The works are 75x80 feet in dimension, only first class workmen are 
employed and the workshops are e<]uipped with modern machinery and 
appliances. The product consists of all kinds of copper work for dis- 
tillers, brewers, and other uses, embracing brew kettles, beer coolers, 
gas generators, jacket and candy kettles, soda fountains, false bottoms, 
dyers, cylinders, etc., and also deal in sheet brass and copper, and copper 
and brass tubing and rods, sheet aluminum and phosphor-bronze ; also 
do brass finishing. The firm is composed of Mr. Wm. Langsenkamp, 
who has had nearly fifty years' experience in the trade and who has 
resided in this city since 1S54, and who is most highly regarded in 
business circles, and his son Frank Langsenkamp. 

The Standard Dry Kiln Company manufacture (under their own 
patents) "The Standard" Steam Drier, a successful process (or drying 
lumber, staves, shingles, brick, tiles, terra-cotta, etc. First established 
at Louisville, Ky., in 1887, the business of the company quickly and 
naturally expanded ; and in 1894 their headquarters were removed to 
this city, occupying for several years thereafter the building at 352 
South Meridian street, For twenty years "The Standard" Moist Air 



HXMAy-S UASUBOOh ^^ ,^,ji, ^^-., Al'OLIS. 



-m4^ 




THE STANDARD DRY MLN COMPANY. 



system has beeu considered by manufacturers of lumber and clay 
products tlie most practical and effective method of brick and lumber 
drying on the marlvet. The importance of such a device as tliis can 
not be overestimated, since all of the immense quantities of building 
brick used throughout the world must, of course, undergo the drying 
process before being burned ; and all lumber, no matter what its quality 
and purpose, must be rightly seasoned to reach a condition of full worth 
and usefulness. ''I'he Standard" Moist Air Drier is now in operation 
in nearly every state of the Union, in Canada, in South America, in 
many of the countries of Europe, and even so far away as the Orient. 
The remarkable success of the "Standard" drying system is due, in good 
part, to continual and indefatigable efforts at improvement, the present 
drier being in many respects superior to the original model of two dec- 
ades ago. Robert Elliott is the president and W. P. Hussey the secretary 
and treasurer of the Standard Dry Kiln Company, whose offices and 
shops are now located at G2'J-G:i3 South Pennsylvania street. Both are 
men of life-long experience in their business, and combine with this 
knowledge the hapijy spirit of progressiveness, which is one of the most 
necessary qualities of the modern day manufacturer. 

Dean Brothers Steam Pump Works, established in 1870, one of the 
best planned industrial establishments in the country engaged in the 
manufacture of steam pumps for all purposes, is now located on Tenth 
street and Big Four railroad. The shops are fitted with new and mod- 
ern designed tools and machinery for manufacturing pumping machin- 
ery with accuracy and economy. The buildings have a width on the 



^YMA^''S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 309 

ground of 60 feet, by 1,000 feet in length. The different departments 
are the pattern shop, blacljsniith shop, iron foundry, brass foundi-y and 
machine s'aop. Every part of the pumps are made by the company. 
The list of pumps comprise over 300 different stjies and kinds. In 
addition to Dean's patent single pumps, a full line of duplex pumps are 
manufactured. More than fifty sizes and combinations of cylinders in 
this stylo of pump are made. The officers of the company are: Edward 
H. Dean, president; Wilfred R. Dean, vice-president; John C. Dean, 
secretary and treasurer. 

Bemis Indianapolis Bag Company, manuafcturers of bags of every 
description. This is one of eleven factories owned and operated by the 
Bemis Bro. Bag Co. of St. Louis. The Indianapolis business was estab- 
lished in 1900. and has grown rapidly. It employs about 400 hands, 
and is probably the largest bag factory in the United States. The large 




BEMIS INDIANAPOLIS BAG COMPANY. 



buildings are cquipptd throughout with modern machinery for the man- 
ufacture of cotton, paper and burlap bags, A large part of the machin- 
ery used by the company, as well as all the ink used by the various 
plants, is manufactured by the Indianapolis factoi"y. A dining room and 
library is maintained by the company for the benefit of the employes. 
W.irren H. Simmons is manager. 

Pioneer Brass Works, 418-424 South Pennsylvania street, was in- 
corporated in 1874 and is the largest brass foundry in the state. In 



310 



HYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 



January, 1901, the company moved into its own building, which was 
built and designed specially for its purposes. The building is a substan- 
tial brick structure SOxlOO feet. Over fifty hands are employed and the 
business of the company, which extends throughout the United States 
and Canada, has increased o\'er fifty per cent, within the past few years. 
The output of the company consists of castings from brass, almninum, 
manganese-bronze, phosphor-bronze and aluminum bronze; bronze, bell 
metal, white metal, babbitt metal, brass rod, sheet and wire; fittings 
for water, gas and steam. The company is sole owner and manufac- 
turer of Deed's metallic pacljing and Rice patent hose coupling; also 
manufacture carbureters and automobile accessories. The ofiicers are 
J. H. Brinlcmeyer, president, and Charles C. Miller, vice-president 

Western Furniture Company — The Western Furniture Company, 
manufacturers of bedsteads and bedroom suites at 1034 Madison 
avenue, was established in 1S73 and reincorporated in 1898. The offi- 
cers are : W. L. Hiigedon, president ; Charles Feamaught, secretary, 
and George Herman, superintendent. The plant im-Iuiles a four-story- 



.^ 


'4^^0 


i^ 


i 




WtSlERHFURMITURECO 


1 


pisr"^^^^^^^ 



WESTERN FURNITURE COMPANY. 



and-basement brick building, a large dry kiln, a warehouse and lumber 
yard, covering altogether four acres, and having a complete factory 
equipment. I'hey employ 90 to 100 hands and 15 traveling 



312 EYMAN'S HANDBOOK OF INDIANAPOLIS. 

to visit tlie trade througlioiit the United States and Mexico. The man- 
ufactures include ruediuui and high grades of bedsteads, bedroom suites 
and chiffoniers, and dressing tables in oak and mahogany, principally 
from oak, and these they make in many attractive designs. 

Citizens' Gas Conrpany — After the failure of the supply of natural 
gas, the work of forming an organization was begun in the summer of 
1905 to take over the property of the Consumers' Gas Trust Company, 
which was organized November 5, 1887, and had supplied the city with 
natural gas at almost nominal prices. Millions of dollars had been 
saved to the citizens through the agency of this company. In order 
that the people might in a measure again ejijoy the benefits of a cheap 
fuel gas, on August 25, 1905, a franchise was granted to Alfred F. 
Potts, President of the Commercial Club ; Frank D. Stalnaker, President 
Board of Trade, and Lorenz Schmidt, who were to assign it to the 
Citizens' Gas Company, pledged to sell gas at a maximum of 60 cents 
per thousand feet, and on December 13, 1905, the city, under the admin- 
istration of John W. 1-Ioltzman, contracted to assign its option in the 
Consumers' Gas Trust Company to the Citizens' Gas Company, which 
was incorporated May 23, 1906. After harassing litigation the prop- 
erty was appraised and the work o'f raising a million dollars by popular 
subscription to the stock of the company was begun. The people of 
Indianapolis rallied to the support of the company, and on October 31, 
1907, one day before the expiration of the option, the necessary amount 
to pay for the mains, $409,061.00, was paid to the directors of the Con- 
sumers' Gas Trust Company for their property. Nearly three thousand 
subscriplions, ranging from $25 to many thousand dollars, were se- 
cured to make up this amount. Indianapolis has done many things in 
a large way for the common good, and the year 1907 will be memorable 
in this respect, as the people of Indianapolis had donated over a half 
million dollars to different institutions before the work of financing the 
Citizens' Gas Company was begun. The officers of the company are ; 
Franklin Vonnegut, president : Alfred F. Potts, vice-president, and J. D. 
Forrest, secretary. 

Capital Machine Works, Nos. 502-504 South Pennsylvania street— 
This important concern was founded in 1SS9 by Louis Koss, who is now 
at the head of the business. It is located in its own building, a commodi- 
ous brick structure. Having outgrown the present facilities a new 
plant is being erected at Roosevelt avenue and Rural street, which will 
Increase the floor space about five times over the present plant. All the 
latest and most improved machinery and appliances are employed, and 
from 18 to 23 skilled workmen are given steady employment, their 
products being sold in all parts of the United States. The line of man- 
ufacture embraces all the latest improved vee'^er cutting machinery. 



HYMiN'S ^A^'DBOOK OF IXDIA\APOLIS. 313 

automatic improved kuife grinflers, and all machinery for worliing 
veneer products, etc. Mr. Koss has had a long and valuable experience 
in the business, and was connected with the same line many years 
previous to entering this enterprise. 

Wm. L. Baker & Co., Manufacturers of Road Machinery — Orig- 
inally this firm for many years was stationers, printers and binders. 
More recently the firm has been engaged in the manufacture of the Great 
Western Road Drag, which is a patented appliance and which meets the 
approval of the National Good Roads Association for the improvement 
of the public highways. The office is at 22 West Maryland street. The 
shops; ar: located in the Fisher building on Kentucky avenue. 




SCENE ON WHITE RIVER. 



INDEX. 



Page 

AEricultural Library 108 

Allison Coupon Co 205 

Alpha Home 85 

American Central Life Insurance 

Co 240, 241, 242 

American District Telegraph Co 176 

American National Bank 223, 224 

Amusements 152 

Aqueduct 153, 154 

Area 35 

Armory, Battery "A" 40 

Art Association of Indianapolis 146 

Art Institute, John Herron 107 , 119 

Asylum for the BUnd 90 

Asylum for Deaf and Dumb 91 

Asylum for Incurable Insane 92 

Atkins, E. C. & Co 286, 288 

Atlas Engine Works 2S8, 290 

Ayres, L. S. Co 270, 271 

Badger Furniture Co 274, 275 

Baker. Wm. L. & Co 312 

Ballard, Bertha, The 142 

Banking in Indianapolis 213 

Barry Saw Co 304 

Bass, W. H., Photo Co 210 

Bates House, 1854 127 

Bauer, H. C. Engraving Co 209 

Bee Hive Paper Box Co 302 , 303 

Beginning of Indianapolis 6 

Belt Railway and Stock Yards Co. 

SO, 185, 186, 187, 188 

Bemis Indianapolis Bag Co 309 

Bismarck Cafe 142 

Blind Institute 90 

Board of Children's Guardians 85 

Board of Trade 147 , 150 

Bobbs-Merrill Co 19S 

Boulevard, Riverside Park 70 

Boys' Club 144 

Bridges 155, 16U, 163, 166 

Brookside Park 66, 262 

Building Permit Ordinance 34 

Burford, Wm. B 209 

Burial of General Harrison at Crown 

Hill 25 

Butler CoUege 109, 111 

Canoe Club, Riverside Park 148, 149 

Capital City Brewing Co 292, 294 

Capital Machine Works. 312 

Capital National Bank 221 , 222 

Capital, Removal of IS 

Capitol Avenue, North 72 

Catholic Churches 80 

Cemeteries 88 

Central Avenue M. E. Church 80 

Central Indiana Hospital for Insane. . . 91 

Central States Bridge Co 161 

Central Supply Co 303 , 304 

Central Union Telephone Co 164 , 165 



Page 

Century Building 311 

Charities 75, 84 

Charity Organization Society 84 

Chicago, Indianapolis & Louisville Rail- 
way 178 

Christ Church 57 , 76 

Churches and Charity '/.'.'/.'/.'/.'.'.'.'.'.'. 75 

Churches, Eariiest, 1854 77 

Cincinnati, Hamilton tt Davtoh Rail- 
way " 178 

Circle Park Hotel 132 

Citizens' Gas Co 312 

City Building 40, 42 

City Charter 36 

City Dispensary 92 

City Finances 36 

City Hospital 90, 93 

City. Incorporation of 26 

Clark, George Rogers 56 

Claypool Hotel 128, 129, 131 

Clay-Worker, The 197 

Clearing-house Association 213 

Cleveland. Cincinnati, Chicago Sc St. 

Louis Railway 178 

Clubs 142 

Colfax. Sc-liiiylor 62 

CluniLia null 57, 135, 138 

C"lu.:,ti.a XatiMiial Hani; 222, 223 

Conimerrial Club Building. ..149, 151, 221 

Conduit S.vstem 154 

Consumers' Gas Trust Co 312 

Country Club 148 , 149 

County Court, First Session 14 

County Heating and Lighting Plant. . . 153 

County Jail 42 

Cnimty Poor Asylum 85 

Count v Seminarv, 1832 27 

CraiK. C. W 272 

Crescent Paper Co 258 

Crown Hill Cemetery. 88 

Culture, General 103 

Custom-house 51 

Cycle Path and Canal 67 , 69 

Cycle Path, Road to Millersville 74 

Dam on White River at Riverside Park. 248 
Deaconess Home and Hospital, Protes- 
tant 90, 91 

Deaf and Dumb Asylum 87 , 91 

Dean Bros.' Steam Pump Works. 307, 308 

Denison Hotel 130, 133 

Delaware Street 72, 175 

Department of Finance 38 

Department of Health and Charities . . 89 

Department of Law 38 

Department of Parks 38 

Department of Public Works 38 

Deutsche Haus 137, 140 

Dispensaries 92, 93 

Dolmetseh, E. C. Co 260 



Page 

Dramatic Club 146 

Eastman's, Dr. Joseph, Hospital 102 

Edward Hotel 136 

Educational Institutions 102 

Eleanor Hospital 90 

Elks' Club Building 152 

English Hotel 57, 130 

Executive Department .... 38 

Express Companies 177, 184 

Fair^^ew Park 67, 68 

Fahnley & McCrea Millinery Co ... 253 , 254 

Fall Creek 51 , 168 

Farmers' Trust Co 234, 241 

Federal Building and United States 

Court 43 

Federal Officers 50 

Fiduciary Institutions 213 

Fife, George W 162 

Finance, Department of 38 

Financial, Insurance and Commercial 

Institutions 213 

Fire Department, Beginning of 20 

Fire Department 38 

Fire Insurance Companies 213 

First Artillery Company 20 

First Baptist Church 76, 85 

First Birth 12 

First Capital 5 

First Church 16 

First County Election 14 

First Court-house and Jail 15 

First County Court Session 14 

First Factor>- 20 

First Female Academy 28 

First Fire Company 20 

First Free Schools 32 

First Gas Lighting 34 

First Historical Society 24 

First Internal Improvements 24 

First Mail Facilities 12 

First Marriage 12 

First Mayor 32 

First Militia 28 

First Newspaper 14 

First Organizations 20 

First Postmaster 12 

First Presbyterian Church 75, 81 

First PubUc Hall 34 

First Railroad 32 

First Railroad Depots, 1854 174 

First Roads Built 12 

First Sale of Lots 8 

First School 16 

First Settler 8 

First State-house 21 , 24 

First Steamboat 22 

First Street Improvements 32 

First Street Railway 34 

First Survey 8 

First Telegraph Line 34 

First Theatrical Performance 16 

First Wholesale House 34 

Fletcher Avenue 71 

Fletcher. H. H. & Co 188 

Fletcher National Bank 214, 215 

Fletcher's Sanatorium 93-97 

Flower Mission 84 

Fort Harrison 40 



Free Kindergarten and Domestic Train- 
ing SchooK 126 

Friendly Inn 86 

Garfield Park 64 

General Culture 101 

Germania Hall 245 

German Fire Insurance Co 245 

German Protestant Orphan Asylum. .87, 245 

German Telegraph 197 

Governor's Mansion 20, 22 

Grand Hotel 128, 129, 130 



Benji 



of 

Harrison. Gen. 

Harrison, Willi 

Health and Charities, Department of 
Hebrew Congregation. Indianapohs. . 

Heating and Lighting Plants 

Hendricks Monument 

Herron, John 10 

Hibben. Hollweg & Co 251 

Highland Square 

Hirschman, J. C. Co^ ^ 

Hogan's Transfe: 
Hollenbeck Press, The 

Hollweg & Reese 252 , 

Home Brewing Co 

Home for the Friendless 

Home Life Insurance Companies 

Home Stove Co : 

Home Magazine 

Horticultural Library 

Hospital for the Insane, Central Indi- 

Hospital, Protestant Deaconess 



"hS 



127 

.141, 144 



Independent Tumverein 

Indian Kilhng, Last 

Indiana Central University 122 , 124 

Indiana Club 148 

Indiana Dental College 114, 115 

Indiana Electrotj-pe Co 208 

Insane Hospital, Women's Building. 

Central Indiana 91 , 92 

Indiana Institute for the Blind 90, 92 

Indiana Institute for the Education of 

the Deaf and Dumb 91 

Indiana Law School 112, 113 

Indiana Veneer & Lumber Co 290, 291 

Indiana Miller's Mutual Fire Insurance 



Co. 



246 



Indiana National Bank 214, 216, 217 

Indiana National Life InsuranceCo. . . 244 
Indiana Soldiers' and Sailors' Monu- 
ment 53, 54, 55, 56, 57 

Indiana State Fair 151 

Indiana State Fire Insurance Co. . 241 , 246 

Indiana Trust Co 226, 228, 229, 230 

Indiana University School of Medi- 
cine 115, 116 

Indianapolis .\battoir Co 297 

Indianapolis at Present 35 

Indianapolis Bar Association Library, 108 



I 



Page 

■Indianapolis. Beginning of 3 

Indianapolis Benevolent Society 84 

Indianapolis, Bird's-eye View, 1854. ..7,9 
Indianapolis Book and Stationery 

Co 260, 261 

Indianapolis Brewing Co 290, 292, 29.3 

Indianapolis Business University. .120, 121 
Indianapolis Clearing-house Associa- 

213 



Indianapolis Electrotype Co 206, 207 

Indianapolis EngraWng and Electro- 
typing Co 206 , 207 

Indianapolis Fire Insurance Co ... 147 , 244 

Indianapolis Gas Co 168, 169, 170 

Indianapolis, Incorporation of 26 

Indianapolis Light and Heat Co. 

156, 157, 158 
Indianapolis Life Insurance Co. . .144, 243 

Indianapolis Maennerchor 139, 144 

Indianapolis Manufacturers' and Car- 
penters' Union 300 

Indianapolis, Naming of 8 

Indianapolis News 189 , 192 

Indianapolis Southern Railway 180 

Indianapolis Star 194, 195 

Indianapolis Street Railway Co. . . ■ ^^ . 183 
Indianapolis Sun . 



167 
Indianapolis Terminal and 

Station IS^ , 183 

Indianapolis Union Railway Co 178 

Indianapolis Water Co 171 , 174 

Indianola Place 68 

Insurance Companies 213 

Interstate Life Assurance Co. 238, 239, 240 
Interurban Railways 50 , 177 , 180 

Jail. County 42, 44 

Jewish Temple 83 

Journalism and Publishing 189 

Judiciary. The 36 

June's, Pop, Oyster Bay 134 

Ivindergartners' Normal Training 

Sc.iool ] 26 

jvipp Bros. Co 256 

Klee & Coleman 298 

Knight & Jillson Co 295, 296 



Langsenkamp, William 306 

Law Building 49 

Lawton Statue 62, 63 

Lemcke Building 47, 52 

Levey Bros. & Co 201 , 203 

Libraries 102, 106, 108, 111 

Life in the Hoosier Capital 127 

Lilly, EU & Co 298, 299 

Live Stock Journal, The Indianapolis. 196 
Lockerbie Street 72 

Mack, F. J. Co 294, 295 

Maennerchor. Indianapolis 139, 144 

Majestic Building 169 

Mansfield Engineering Co 162 

Manual Training High School 104 , 106 

Man'ufapturers, Notable 283 



Market House 41 

Marietta Glass and Refrigerator 

Co 300, 301 

Marion Club 148 

Marion County Court-house. . .39, 42, 153 

Marion County Jail 42 

Marion County. Organizing 14 

Marion Trust Co 234. 235, 241 

Marott, George J 276. 282 

Masonic Temple 51 . 151 

Mayer & Co., Charles 264, 265 

Mayer, George J 298 

Mayflower Congregational Church 79 

Mayor, The First 32 

Mayors of Indianapolis 36 

Merchants' Light and Heat Co 161 

Merchants' National Bank. .218, 219, 242 

Meridian Life and Trust Co 242 

Meridian Street 61 , 70, 71 

Meridian Street M. E. Church 79 

Methodist Hospital 91 

Mexico. War with 31 

Meier. Lewis & Co 301 , 302 

Military Establishment 38 

Military Park 33, 44 

Militia. First 28 

Missionary Training School 126 

"Monoi^ Route" 178 

Monuments 53 , 57 

Mooney-Mueller Drug Co 254 , 255 

Moore-Mansfield Construction Co 163 

Morton, Governor, Monument, Crown 

Hill 25 

Morton Hotel 136 

Morton, OUver P 53 , 60 , 62 , 68 

Morton Place 23 

Municipal Administration 35 

Municipal Engineering 197 

Mutual Service Association 142 

National Bridge, Old 23 

National Cemetery 25 

National Correspondence Schools. . 121 , 122 

Navigation, Early 19 

"Neuronhurst" 93, 94, 95. 96, 97 

New Long-Distance Telephone Co 167 

News. The Indianapolis 189 

Newspaper. First 14 

New York Store 266. 267 

Nordyke & Marmon Co 283, 286 

Normal College, N. A., Gymnastic 

Union 122, 124 

Normal School for Training Kinder- 

gartners 126 

"Norways" 98,102 

Notable Manufacturers 283 

Notable Retail Establishments 263 

Notable Wholesale Establishmenta . . . 249 

Odd Fellows' Hall 51 , 65' 

Old State-house. 1865 26 

Overhead and Underfoot 153 

Panic. 1837 27 

Parks. Department of 38 

Park System 64 

Parry Manufacturing Co 305, 306 

Pennsylvania Lines 180 

Pennsylvania Street. 1856 11 

Pioneer Brass Works 309 

Police and Fire Department. 36 



Population, Indiana Territory. 1! 

Population, Indiana, 1820 

Population, Indianapolis 

Postmaster, First 

Postoffice ^ 

Propylaeum 

Publications 

Public Library 

Public Safety Board 

Public Works. Department ot. . 
Pythian Building 

Quarantine Service 

Quick, F. E 

Quick Photo and Engraving Co. . 

Race Track 

Railroad, The First 

Railway Facilities 

Railways, Interurban 



Rescue Mission and Door of Hope , 
Reser\^e Loan Life Insurance Co. .2 

Retail Establishments 

Richcreek Bank «. 2 

Riverside Park 

Roberts' Park Church 

Rubber Stamps . 

Saks &: Co 

Sanatoriums .... 

Sanitac _.„ 

Scofield-Pierson Co . 

Schools and Colleges . . 

Schools, First Free . . . 

Scottish Rite Building. 

Seals 

Second Presbyterian Cb 

Security Trust Co 

Senate Avenue 

Sewers and Streets 

Shortridge High School 

Soldiers' Graves, Crown Hill 

Soldiers' and Sailors' Monument, Dedi- 
cation of 

South Side Turnverein 

Spades' Place 

Spencer House 

Star, Indianapolis 194, 

St. Clair Square 

Saints Peter and Paul Cathedral 80 , 

St. John's Academy 

St. John's Cathedral 8J , 1 

St. Paul's Protestant Episcopal Cathed- 
ral 

St. Vincent's Infirmary 87, 

Stafford Engraving Co 211, 

Standard Dry Kiln Co 306, 

Standard Metal Co 

Standard Paper Co 

State Bank of India 



:-house. Fii^t 

; Institutions, Building of. 

■ Law Library 

) Library. 



.37, 



Steffen, Andrew 

St«ncils 

Sterne's, Dr. Albert E., 

"Norways" 

Stevenson. W. E. & Co.. 

Streets and Sewei-s 

Street Improvement, Fir. 
Street Raihvav. First 
Street Railway Systf.n . 



Sun, The Indianapolis 192, 

Taggart Baking Co 218, 

Tanner & Co 

Telegraph Companies 

Telegraph Line, First 

Thornton-Levev Co 202 . 

Thoroughfares and Ador:iments. . . . 5 i . 

Todd, John M 

Todd, Newton 

Tomlinson Hall W. 

Track Elevation 

Trade Journal, The In. liaiiap ilis . 
Training School, 8ai;ili A. L):ivi>. 

Deterding Memorial 

Transportation and Transit 

Trust Companies 

Tunnel. Illinois Street 

Union Depot. Old. 1887 

Union National Bank 224, 

Union Railway Passenger Station 

Union Stock Yards 

Union Trust Co 230, 231 , 

United States Court-house 

University Club 

University Square 64 , 

Vandalia Line 

Viaduct, Virginia Avenue 

Virginia Avenue Viaduct 

"S'onnegut Hardw^are Co 

Washington Street 70 . 

Washington Street. 1854 15 . 

Washington Street. 1862 

Washington Street During Epizootic 

Epidemic, 1872 

Washington and Pennsylvania Streets, 



Wi 



H. P. Co. 



"Wildcat" M.iiiex . 

Wild. J. F. & Co 

Winona Agricultural at 

Institute 

Winona Lake Schools . . . 

Wood- Worker, The 

Work-hotise 

Wright, Governor's Mansi 
Wulschner-Stewart Music 



448 4 



'%l^?t'1 






m 



^ - 'A 



f.'W 

0'' 



iHt 



■• '.il,i"